One Week – Six Dinners – Just $100 Menu Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I am a full-time university student with a part-time job. I work many jobs every summer in order to finance my way through the year. Needless to say, I am extremely budget-conscious and I was so excited by reading the title in my email: "Money-Saving Menus: Eat for a week—for less! Six budget-friendly meals you can take to the bank." I cannot even express my disappointment. I understand that perhaps $100 is cheap for a family of four (instead of my household of two), but I still think $100 could cover an entire week's food (breakfast, lunch and dinner) for a family. To put it in perspective, I spend less than $100 on groceries for the entire month and manage to have nutritious and delicious breakfast, lunch, and dinner every day at this price. Allrecipes staff and members, I love your recipes, and I love your community. I love everything about you except for this delusion that $100 is cheap for a week's worth of dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jekkalou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Just like Rotisserie - Crunchy outside and juicy and tender inside. Used cornish hens (which my family did not perfer) Will use Chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momward

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hueytown, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Thank you VERY much for adding this to the site!! On behalf of those of us who are organizationally challenged, I very much appreciate the time and effort that went into this tool. I too have teenage boys (2) who eat enough for 6 more people, so this will be very convenient for planning. . .increase the serving sizes! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Very moist and tender. Smelled wonderful while baking. Next time will leave out the thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I love the idea of this, but the price is more than what I am looking for. If you check out E-Mealz at http://e-mealz.com they have many different meal plans and even based on some popular grocery shopping stores so they update them weekly based on those store's ads. Not trying to put all recipes out of business on this, but maybe they will eventually be able to do the same. E-Mealz has 26 different menus based on 2 people to 4-6 people, as well as weight watchers, low fat, low carb, gluten free, etc.. May want to check that out. Also, for the grocery store specific ones, it lists avg price of groceries, which is usually $75-$85 for 7 meals. Just wanted to let you know of another option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I just started doing weekly meal planning myself about 4 weeks ago. Just writing out an organized plan of 'what's for dinner' 6 nights of the week has elimated the daunting question every evening. It also keeps me from buying a bunch of misc food items each week at the grocery store. Huge weight off my shoulders!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I love allrecipes. Have used it for over 10 years. I love the idea of the menu planner, but even though I'm not very organized when it comes to meal planning I'm able to make dinner for $10 or less for a family of five (no teenage boys yet). I usually plan around what meat is on sale for the week. I'll give this a try and see if I can keep to my $10 or less rule. Thank you for the planner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESSELMJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
What a great idea! Although there are some menu items that wouldn't work for me, the concept is brilliant and simple substitutions make this a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
May I make a request? I think this is a FANTASTIC idea and I will definitely utilize it. But could you design a variation plan for different types of families? Like maybe different proportions based on family size? That way mom's with teenage boys will still have enough food for the week and couples without children won't have a lot of left-overs? Thank you for all you do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPotatoHead

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This is fantastic, thank you for this. Well I just have to chime in and Newlywedws is way out of line, I agree with FebruaryRN, my husband use to be in the Air Force and when he got out I was in sticker shock at the grocery story, it just bowled me over. I also could do a $100 with of grocery for half the price and then some. Now that I'm in the real world with what you have to pay for things, $100 a week for a family is not bad at all and very reasonable. Delicious menus that Allrecipes picked this week. Good job!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States