Yakima - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Thanksgiving Meatloaf

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I love this recipe - total comfort food. I used a mix of herb breadcrumbs and Italian breadcrumbs, I also used parmesan cheese instead and cooked it for 5 minutes longer...absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I made this twice this week for 2 different Christmas parties -- the only thing I did different was put 1 cup of shredded sharp cheese on top - other wise I made recipe as directed -- like it says its an "awesome tasting recipe" and my dish was empty at end of the potluck with people asking for recipe- It will become a favorite and its so easy to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Followed the advice of Naples34102 and used 1.75c of flour, 1 tsp of baking soda, 1 tsp of baking powder and an add of lemon juice. Only thing different I did was omit the nuts due to an allergen in the house. Tastes delish with a morning cup of Joe. Thank you Janet for the share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pecan Pie Bars I

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I wasn't crazy about how the crust turned out, but the filling was great. Being a "butter tart" aficionado, I used brown sugar for the filling instead of white. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nanaimo Bars III

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Tastes just like the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Um. MORE PLEASE! Holy smokes this was easy and delicious and my family loved it! We ended up using pears because that's what we had in the fridge and using 12 cups of super ripe pears and just overflowed all the ingredients measurements. It was OUTSTANDING! Will be making this quite a bit through the fall with multiple types of fruits. Yay! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwestern-Flavored Ground Beef or Turkey for Tacos & Salad

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
My family enjoyed this recipe - it's a good base with lots to play with. We added half a potato and used mexican seasoned tomatoes and it was good, quick and easy without all the salt = WIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Szechwan Shrimp

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I did not like this dish -- but Husband did, so I gave it 3 stars. I made it, because of all the 5 star ratings?? I agree with some, who said there is too much ketchup flavor - maybe 1 T would be enough and more honey. I made double sauce like evreyone was saying, but it was too much! I wanted my shrimp to have more glazed appearance like the restaurants serve. I would do single sauce next time less ketchup more sweetner....if I make again! and it did not meet 5 stars in my opinion -disapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Meatloaf

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I did this same recipe in a crock pot and loved it. It cooked perfectly. Between 4 adults there was no leftovers. The one thing I added was I took tortilla chips and ground them up and used them like bread crumbs. Then we used the meat for taco salads. Also a 16 oz jar of salsa is not enough for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Nunn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Carterville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Had better (much better) but I've also had worse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Simple and delicious! Used it for brownie sundaes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Karjalan Pies

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Delicious. My husband liked them but wished they were softer. I liked the crispy texture of the outside part. I used Spelt instead of Rye because that was what I had on hand, and also only Spelt to mix in instead of regular wheat flour. I would love to make these again. Although they could possibly be described as bland, I loved the taste, because of the contrasting textures and slight saltiness (as opposed to something sweet.) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonny Buckley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA

Washington Apple Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
i have made this same cake recipe for over 20 yrs - found the recipe in our local newpaper. It never fails...I'm making it for bunko this. wed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Salmon With Orange Glaze

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
delicous--I used apricot pineapple jam that I had made last summer with some orange marmelade to make 1/2 cup with other ingred -I simmered until thick- glazed the salmon. It was very good and will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
These are the best cookies!I used oj in place of water. I baked about 10 min and let rest 2 min., then I removed to cooling rack. I made an icing of confectionary sugar with OJ and drizzle tops- they were eaten quickly...I did not have to chill-they easily rolled into balls and then the sugar to bake on pan. Its a easy recipe and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Wedding Soup I

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
this is delicous! I made today,because its a rainy day here. I have to say this>>it is the same recipe that is made by Jo marie in " Love letters" by Debbie Macomber ---I went to her web site and found the recipe. It has less pasta & I'm glad I use less -- 1/2 cup is enough. I used a mixture of greens,celery & fresh onion -browned my meatballs, then put in broth with all the other veg.I precooked the pasta in broth and added last and added 1 can of beef broth after reading all the reviews-- a new favorite to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Braised Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
it was not a favorite of ours- I will not make again--it tasted just okay! flavor was sort of wierd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegan Banana Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
great eggless recipe where the milk can be subbed as well. I love the cinnamon and nutmeg. Only thing we do differently is add dark chocolate chips :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Ziti III

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
So awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Hadsel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This was really good and really simple to make. My pickiest eater even loved it! I did sub the steak sauce for soy sauce otherwise made it per instructed. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States