Vancouver - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Southern-Style Meat Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This is my go-to! Love it love it love it. Freezes well. Here's my tweaks: I used one pound of ground turkey and one pound of chicken breakfast sausage, also used only .5 tablespoon of chili pepper flakes and did not use salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrwag

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Heavenly Blueberry Smoothie

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Even my little girl who typically doesn't like smoothies loves this! So creamy, so tasty. I didn't have flax, so I added some slivered almonds, didn't have vanilla yogurt, so used plain yogurt and added 1 tsp. vanilla. I also added a pinch of nutmeg. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Refrigerator Pickles

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This one's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrDarin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boring, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Hummus III

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
We love this! I only drain 1/2 the water off the garbanzos, and only use about 1 Tbs. lemon juice. Wiz in my NutriBullet till smooth. Easy and perfect for our tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Strawberry Crepes

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I just made these for my husband today, it is his birthday, and we loved them! Not a single change and truly tasty. If you prepped the fruit and filling the night before (assuming the filling will hold up overnight) it would actually be a quick breakfast for any day. We will definitely be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcshoffman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken with Quinoa and Veggies

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Great recipe. My 2 year old ate everything on her plate and then asked for it the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelsmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthy Banana Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I made these for my husband to take to work with him for snacking. I am continually told that I need to make more! They are very easy to make and I love that the ingredients are so easy. The only bummer is that EVERY kid who has tried them are not fans! For kids, I recommend skipping the dates and splurging with some chocolate chip or chocolate drizzled on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelsmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Fluff Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
My daughter found this recipe for the surprise baby shower she threw me. I decided to make them as mini cupcakes and they turned out great!! I reduced the temp. to 8-10 minutes for 24 cupcakes. Yields about 48 mounded cupcakes. Top with cream cheese frosting and strawberry slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Idar-Oberstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

Grandma Sophie's Smashed Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This is a variation of one my mom has made since I was a kid. We use chopped gherkins and a splash or two of the pickle juice and a squirt of yellow mustard. The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by organizerkathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Karen's Fried Green Tomatoes

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I absolutely LOVED these. My first experience with fried green tomatoes. I did coat them in bread crumbs, deep fried them in oil, and sprinkled them with course salt after taking them from the fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Idar-Oberstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

Harp® and Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Changed the vegetable stock to chicken stock, used only one bottle of beer and made the difference with the stock, added carrot "matchsticks", it was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Blair

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuscan Bean, Chicken, and Italian Sausage Soup

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Loved this recipe... very tasty... easy to make... Scrumptious! Delicious! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICKI JO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Delicious! I had 40 shrimp and doubled the marinade. I let them marinate for about 5 minutes before putting them on wooden skewers ( that had been soaked in water to prep them for the grill).Grilled them for them 2-3 minutes as recommended and they were perfect. I served it with kale salad,sweet rice and a spicy mango coconut sauce which was a sweet heat to the kick of the shrimp. Definitely saving this recipe and definitely making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by organizerkathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Roasted Broccoli with Parmesan Cheese

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Super fast, easy to put together and very tasty. Any recipe that has the family coming back for seconds of their vegetables is a hit in my book. Shared with my parents and they loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by organizerkathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Potato Salad

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
With all the glowing reviews, I thought I would give this recipe a shot. I made it exactly as specified, and even with the pepperocini's and black olives this was bland and boring. I found myself apologizing to my guests. My potato salad is usually gone in a day. This one limped into a week before I finally tossed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by organizerkathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
My go to chocolate chip recipe..perfect balance between salt and sweet! I did have to bake them longer then 10 minutes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkburnette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I loved these! I was out of butter and looking for a good cookie recipe that I was planning to substitute shortening for and then I found this one that doesn't use butter anyway. I didn't have Mexican vanilla, so I had to use regular and I used a little less chocolate chips just because it's what I had left and I like a little less. I halved the recipe and baked them on parchment paper and they turned out lovely and delicious. I did have to bake them longer than suggested - about 13 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Monkey Bread I

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Awesome. Used cran-strawberries and toasted my walnuts first. Also added Hershey's chocolate syrup into the carmel mixture. Took half to work and it was gone in a few hours. It was really fun to put together. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrwag

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Aunt Connie's Coconut Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This cake was delicious! Not overly sweet and a wonderful coconut flavor throughout. The cake batter itself was addicting! It made a perfect Easter cake, which I brought to my family gathering and everyone loved it. I had to bake it about 20 minutes longer because the batter was still gooey inside after the 90 minutes. The only actual problem I had was that my cake stuck to the pan and so the outer crust didn't look very pretty when I got it out. I just completely covered it with frosting and no one new the difference, but I think the recipe needs to include flouring the bundt pan. I'm assuming that was my problem since I didn't do that. I'll keep this recipe for the future and I've already passed it onto my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Glazed Ham

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Great recipe, but I only use 1 cup of honey and it makes more than I use on an 8-10 lb ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States