Spokane - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Great banana muffin recipe. They rose really well, were very moist, the topping was delicious, and they look nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieEater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Apple Squares

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
These are fantastic! Ooey, gooey, streusely goodness. The batter was very thick and I was worried it wasn't going to set up right, but it came out great! I did have to bake it for about 6 minutes longer than the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieEater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Apricot Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This soup is fantastic! It's a great soup for warm or cold weather. I added a pinch of sugar the second time I made it and it brought out the apricot flavor but it still I not too sweet. For me the compliment of the slightly sweet apricot with the heat of some added red pepper flakes made this soup perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
It is good but it's a bit boring. I think it would be good on top of brownie bites and not the Pirouette cookie sticks I served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brazilian Black Bean Stew

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I was so looking forward to this stew but in the end it is bland and surprisingly lacks flavor. Kick up the spices (garlic, cumin, chili powder, S/P) on this one and add a little acid such as a squeeze of lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Ultimate Margarita

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Very strong so I used half the tequila. Use good tequila because this is a fresh and simple ingredient top notch margarita. I boiled the lime peels in the simple syrup which gave even more lime flavor without the tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Really flavorful bruschetta. I made individual toasts for a picnic and used the suggestion to melt a blanket of fresh mozzarella cheese over the top that helped keep the fresh tomato mixtures in place. Don't use dried basil if you can find fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato Chips

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Takes much longer to cook but worth it. I used two large platters with parchment paper and rotated filling and cooking. Each platter took 9 minutes in the micro making sure the chips did not overlap. I used the mandolin to slice Yukon Gold potatoes thinly, quickly and easily, and sprinkled hot chips with a mixture of sea salt, onion powder and cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Salmon

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I used this recipe, but I did some changes, I did not have lemon on hand, so I use about 1 Oz lemon juice, slice onions a little Worcestershire sauce, homemade salsa over the top, bake at 325 oven for 45 minutes. Fish can bake at a lower temp, the fish cooks evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Great recipe! I use frozen shrimp from a bag and cook them in paprika, garlic salt and butter and then place them on top. Been making this one weekly since finding it, YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahocum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Perfect - Easy - Unbelievably delicious. Grilled on the Weber with Apple Wood smoke. Watch the time and temp. closlely - 12 minutes per side is too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana-Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I thought these were awesome the way I made them, here is what I did: most of the flour was whole wheat, cut the white sugar back to 1/2 cup BUT used Splenda baking blend and the brown sugar was also Splenda brown sugar for baking, I totally cut the oil out and used 1 cup of unsweetened applesauce. I doubled the nuts amount. I omitted the cranberries and added 1 cup of chocolate chips. It made 24 muffins. I made sure to use papers in the tins because they stuck really bad to the papers, my fault. I accomplished my mission, which was a breakfast muffin that was sorta diabetic friendly. I also doubled the zuuchini, too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docsfarm

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Milano

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This was a little rich for my taste. Be careful not to cook the sauce for too long, it reduces down rather quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieEater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Asian Orange Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Tried it. Didn't have enough time to refrigerate for 2 hours. Came out with a little to much vinegar taste, but it was good with rice. Might make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whoopie Pies

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
These were great! The only thing I could complain about, is that I don't really like chocolate cake, so I made strawberry AND chocolate whoopie pies! They were a hit with the neighbor's kids and mine, definitely will make these again! (-: :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Japanese Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
My husband liked these, but he likes this site's Grill Master wings way better. He thought the sauce was a tad too sweet to give it more stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by frankaff

Glazed Pumpkin Donuts

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I change the recipe around, make sugar free baked apple spice donuts. I sub pumpkin for unsweetened cup of apple sauce 1/4 cup brown sugar and a 1/4 cup of sweet & low and half the amount milk. ** when baking sugar free recipe you have to use small amount of sugar in recipes.** I used a donut cutter to shape my donuts. Baked for 20 minutes at a 325 oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

Fluffy Gluten Free Cornbread

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Amazing cornbread! As suggested I substituted 1 tsp Xanthum Gum and 2 tsp baking powder instead of 1 Tbls baking powder, and I used 2 cups of the Bob's RM GF all purpose flour and no millet flour. I also added 1/2 c applesauce. I baked it for 10 extra minutes. This was fluffier than regular cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Never Fail Applesauce Spice Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This cake did not rise much baked half the time I went by the instructions at 350 oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

Fresh Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Used less onion but otherwise made it just like it said. Was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States