Seattle - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Shrimp Scampi with Pasta

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I am a pasta fiend, and this is one of my go to pasta dishes that I have made several times now. Just made it last week when my boyfriend's brother and cousin came to visit for dinner and I heard nothing but praise and how 'fire' (that's good) it was. It is a light, fresh, satisfying dish, I follow it to the T only I add some fresh lemon zest to add to the crispness of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missvega88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I am a 'pasta-holic'. At least once a week I make some sort of pasta dish, it's an addiction. Yet I had never made a lasagna until I fell upon this recipe and omg, I am in love with lasagna like never before! I cut the recipe in half and it turned out amaaaazing! I also left out the fennel seeds (whatever that is lol) and forgot to add my fresh basil, but who cares? It was better than any frozen or restaurant portion. Sure it takes a minute but unless you have special company, you will have leftovers which are better the next day anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missvega88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Authentic Mexican Rice

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I have tried this recipe twice now for my boyfriend and I and it is delish! My mom who is Mexican would make this often when I was younger, only she would use fresh tomatoes and cook half an onion with the rice. Well, tomatoes are pretty expensive so I love how regular canned tomato sauce works just as well, saves you on time and money;). Besides cooking the onion in the rice, the only other changes I made was cutting way back on the oil and adding some salt and cumin...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missvega88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Real Mojito

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This sounds delicious and I think just like what I had at a Bunko party years ago. I look forward to trying it come summertime. Only one question, if someone could answer? What kind of Mint to use? I am a complete duntz when it comes to knowing things like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bomengl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Erin's Cheesy Broccoli Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Super delicious! I already had some broccoli and cauliflower on hand that I had roasted in the oven, so I did this a bit differently. First started with just a few tablespoons of butter which I melted. Then stirred in two tablespoons of flour and stirred for a few minutes. Then added the milk...stirred some more. Once milk was warm, stirred in cream cheese. When smooth, added the broccoli and cauliflower which I chopped up pretty fine using my food processor. Then added chicken broth. Skipped the cheddar cheese because I thought it was super deliciou without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Absolutely wonderful, my family now wants this once in awhile through out the year instead of just on Thanksgiving & Christmas. This was almost to good to be a side dish, it was like eating dessert. I stayed true to the original recipe but see where a person could add fun things & ingredients to ones personal liking ... thanks a must try dish for everyone ... Vinnie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vinjovee56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Sun City West, Arizona, USA
Photo by Seth Kolloen

Jalapeno Cucumber Lemonade

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Made this for a Christmas party in Hawaii, everyone loved it. Next time I'd have added a little more jalapeño.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth Kolloen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Very easy and yummy. I smashed my bananas instead if slicing and used organic unrefined coconut sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gluten-Free Double Chocolate Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Ok, these cookies are awesome, but this recipe makes it far too difficult Save yourself some trouble and follow these tips: 1) Use 1 cup Red Mill all-purpose g-free baking flour instead of the 4 other flours that are listed 2) Don't melt anything ahead of time. Just beat the butter, eggs and vanilla together and then add the dry ingredients 3) Xantham gum. What is that? Whatever it is, my cookies were not missing it 4) Bake according to instructions. Melt in your mouth delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaylin King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Dionna

Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
We baked it in the oven. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dionna
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This was fun to make and it took all day, which I love for my days off. The base flavor was outstanding but I did end up adding a lot of garlic powder, cayenne, white pepper, and onion powder to liven it up, not to mention some liberal dashes of tabasco, which I never use but HEY, its Cajun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey Sharkface Vazquez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Roasted Broccoli

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Love this recipe. I add garlic powder and I personally prefer my broccoli a little more done, so I typically roast it for closer to 30 minutes. It's also great with sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
These were really good. I added shredded mozzarella during the last 15 minutes. Served them with lemon basil carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Chef John's Spanish Garlic Soup (Sopa de Ajo)

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This has become a favorite in my house! This soup is so flavorful and satisfying. I eat this year round. I love it without the ham but my partner absolutely loves the ham dynamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey Sharkface Vazquez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ethiopian Cabbage Dish

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Four stars as is. Five stars with a) double the spices b) additional cabbage (I used 3/4 of a head) c) addition of garlic and ginger per another reviewer's suggestion. Enjoyable for any meal; want to add chickpeas or sausage and turn into a filling for breakfast burritos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Gaudette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olalla, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Chicken Tortilla Soup I - custom version

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This was my first attempt at making chicken tortilla soup and I chose this recipe after looking at several on the site, and was not disappointed. This is a great recipe! I followed it exactly with a few minor changes based on other reviews: I used 40 oz of chicken broth, substituted cumin for the oregano, added the juice from half of a lime, I shredded the chicken instead of cutting it into pieces, and I omitted the black beans as a personal preference. I let it simmer for about an hour as others had suggested and this seem to really set the flavors. I also made my own tortilla strips using corn tortillas cut into strips and baked in the oven until crispy. I used the toppings as called for in the recipe and it was just perfect. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kale Banana Smoothie

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This was 'fantastic'!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hawkbit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Italian Style Turkey Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Grain-Free Chicken Tenders

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
this is delicous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Kale Banana Smoothie

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
So good! I drink one of these at least twice a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Stitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States