Seattle - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Healthier Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Perfect!! So moist and full of flavor! I did not have tomato sauce so just left it out, but otherwise followed the recipe. This was a huge hit in our house and I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Grilled Tarragon Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I used chicken tenders and marinated them over night. I used fresh tarragon and the chicken was very moist and full of flavor, however, I wasn't a big fan of the flavor. I did not enjoy mustard and tarragon together, even though I love both! My husband did love these, so I'm guessing it's more personal preference than flaw in the recipe. I don't think I would make them again, but I do think this recipe is worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Barbequed Cabbage

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I somehow managed to forget about the butter, but this still turned out amazing! I could see how the butter would add a little something extra, but the soy sauce added a delicious crisp to the grilled side of the cabbage. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Classic Old Fashioned

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Hi! Y'all made me thirsty! Used what I had on hand. Brandy, brown sugar, "Cherries in Brandy" bought at mall during Holidays {and some of the juice}, squeeze lime and lemon juices, Brandy, and ice. Nummy! Had another sip after sitting a bit, even tastier. I think the Bing cherries make this particular one, plus brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

Best Grilled Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
These were so moist and tastey! Thank you for a great recipe! I added a little less oil and water and I felt like it was plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Eggplant Tomato Bake

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
It was edible but very bland. Should have read the other reviews. Looks like a lot of people that rated it high were adding things to it. Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwistyMcSpliffit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sunshine Coast-Style Nanaimo Bars

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Sweet tooth? This will satisfy it! A co-worker made these and shared with us. Layers of rich creaminess. I like the nutty, chocolate base layer, and the blueberries provided a nice hint of fruit. This will get me through the afternoon. Lovely treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazuela
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Sunshine Coast-Style Nanaimo Bars

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Like all Nanaimo bars, this one is crazy sweet. But the bittery tang of the chocolate base helps, and the ganache on top helps too. Best bet is to cut each bar into 4 pieces! A little bite will satisfy where a big bar might be too much. Very delicious in small amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Lazygirl's Ground Turkey Stroganoff

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Husband approved. I sautéed onion and garlic in extra virgin olive oil in a separate skillet from the ground turkey then combined them. Used chicken broth instead of water. Added a little cayenne pepper, a couple tablespoons of non-fat plain greek yogurt, and about a 1/2 cup of frozen lima beans in the mixture. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Delicious! Modified: omit raisins, half sugar, add half head of broccoli, replaced white wine with apple cider vinegar, used mayo with olive oil (green bottle, not blue), and precooked bacon. Done in ten minutes. A great recipe to use when craving broccoli and salad in one. I did find that the original recipe doesn't make broccoli the main ingredient. In fact, it's battling with sunflower kernels. When I stirred the ingredients together with original measurements, it looked like more clumps of unnecessary sunflower kernels. Adding that extra half head of broccoli really made the difference. Didn't want to call it Sunflower Salad. That's just wrong. Amazing dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadBaker

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I used chuck steak. Agree it is too thin. We love the flavor and tenderness of the meat. Will make again using less liquid, add sweet potato (used no potato today) and will use spinach. Again, Loved the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA
Photo by Samantha A. Estremera

Bacon Quiche Tarts

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Based on the exact recipe, I give it a 4 star. The recipe works perfectly as is but is just lacking a little zing. After I made some adjustments for more flavoring, I give it 5 stars for sure! I added 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper, 1/4 tsp. black pepper, 1/4 tsp. salt, 1/8 tsp. sage along with the green onions (which I doubled) and 1 tbs. minced garlic because I put garlic in anything I possibly can. :-)Instead of adding bacon into the mix, I like to stuff a small piece of sausage in the middle after they come out of the oven. (see my picture) I also used crescent dough in place of biscuit dough, I found the big fluffy biscuit dough to be a little too doughy by the time the eggs were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha A. Estremera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
The sauce is interesting and good, although I feel it's lacking some flavor depth (says the girl who never really cooks -- take that with a grain of salt). The shrimp were simple and delicious -- they were gone within 5 minutes at a bbq filled with all kinds of beef, chicken, etc. grilled on the barbi. If you like shrimp, you'll love this. Eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kazoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Grilled Masala Chicken with Vegetables

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
The hubs & I enjoyed this recipe for the simplicity and flavors. Paired well with brown rice and green salad. Next time we're going to add some red bell peppers. Clean was a snap for me too, another bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Mozzarella-Stuffed Pesto Turkey Meatballs

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I made the recipe EXACTLY as stated above. The meatballs held together well, but I felt they were a bit bland. Great recipe otherwise! The second time I made them, I adjusted them slightly for stronger flavor. I add about 1 tbs. Italian seasoning and 1/2 tsp. salt. I also like to double the pesto and garlic cloves for a stronger flavor. I fry the meatballs until brown and crisp on all sides in a pan with the olive oil instead of baking them, I like a more browned exterior per my preference. I finish the meatballs off by simmering them in my home made tomato sauce for longer than 2 mins, I like simmering them for 30 mins - 1 hour, this helps them get tender and flavorful. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha A. Estremera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Salmon I

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Got near to completion of making this recipe and then came to the realization that we did not have cashews or any other nuts in the house, excepting a bag of salted, in-shell peanuts. My improv was to cut some going-stale pretzel sticks into small chunks and use them instead. Probably not as good, but definitely good enough. Wait, I also had no soy and used instead Worcestershire. Why that seemed immaterial, I know not, but it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Fast Salmon with a Ginger Glaze

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I happen to love ginger and was therefore incredibly pleased by just how bitey a bite the ginger in this delivered. Only sad thing was that the Copper River Salmon was so delicious off the grill, it was a shame to even put the sauce over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Slow Cooker Lemon Pepper Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Got 5 thumbs up and my hubby never says great dinner!! It made awesome gravy too after , I just added some flour and water to thicken. I had a 6lb chicken so doubled the recipe. Used a 1/2 lemon inside and squeezed the rest on top. It was sooo moist!! I cooked mine 6 hours on low. I also put carrots and onion underneath while it cooked and stuck it under the broiler to crunch it up a bit before serving.Thanks for sharing, I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindsey

Glazed Doughnut Strawberry Shortcake

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This is the best of both worlds! Easy, delicious, and an easy way to impress my friends. Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Mongolian Beef and Spring Onions

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Wonderful! Only one teeny weeny suggestion. Next time I make this I will cut down the soy sauce and add maybe a bit more water. Was delicious, but a little on the salty side. I added some red pepper flakes to heat it up a bit. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYKATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Malaga, Washington, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States