Seattle - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Meat Pie (Tourtiere)

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
My husband would give this 5 stars, I would give it about 4, so we will go with 4 haha. It was super easy to make, and I liked it, just not as much as he did.In fact, he liked it so much he ate 3 servings and ate the rest for lunch today, and he never ever eats leftovers. I did not add celery or carrots since I had neither, and I microwaved the potato for a couple of minutes so it wouldn't be undercooked when the pie came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulesUtah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Plain City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrancesC

Sicilian Easter Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I thought this was wonderful. It's very floral, which some family members found off-putting. If you're unsure about the orange blossom water, you might try reducing the amount by half; it's pretty powerful stuff. I might bump up the zest, too. Next time, I would blind-bake the crust and maybe omit the lattice crust—or bake the pie partway, until the surface firms up, and try to add the lattice mid-bake? When I set the dough strips on the filling, they started to sink down into it, and the filling's so wet, they didn't bake all the way through. The filling started browning before the crust was set, so I covered the top with foil for the last part of baking. Worth experimenting with this one, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancesC

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wild Mushroom Lasagna

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Did half size in my brown Dansk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIANKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Chef John's Baked Lemon Pepper Salmon

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
One of my favorite ways to fix salmon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Really good, really easy, really cheap. I made it exactly as written, and had a ton of leftovers I shared with coworkers the next day. The only thing I added was I had an avocado sitting around so I put half an avocado on top, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulesUtah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Plain City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
it taste good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARBVT.SM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
taste good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARBVT.SM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

K-Dub's Alfredo Ravioli Bake

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Simple, easy, not terrible. Not terribly innovative either. Needs vegetables (some color) also to improve the over nutrition. I used unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Watergate Salad from DOLE®

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
One of my top favorite "salads". I don't make it often anymore because I have NO willpower when it comes to this salad.......I will eat the whole bowl, a little at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Randy's Slow Cooker Ravioli Lasagna

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I used half ground beef/half ground sausage and a homemade marinara and I omitted the additional salt. I was able to put this together fairly quickly (and fairly cheaply as well because all of the ingredients were bought at Aldi!) at the start of my day and it was ready to go at dinnertime. I did take another reviewer's suggestion and add cheese in the layers as well as on top. I did sprinkle a good amount canned parmesan along with the shredded mozzerellla, too. The whole family enjoyed it, especially my two kids. We sopped up the additional sauce with white trash garlic bread (softened butter and lots of garlic powder, spread onto sandwich bread and thrown under the broiler). NO LEFTOVERS. Definitely a make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef and Noodle Bake

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This is both simple and satisfying. You can gussy it up any way you like, but as is its great for fussy eaters. Just DON'T use processed predigested artificial cheese-like substance, but real cheese. And DON'T bother to layer it, just mix it all up in the pan and pop it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCANDROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Eclair Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This doesn't taste like an eclair, but it is really good. Made with normal grahams, and made the chocolate topping but cooked until thicker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crunchy Berry Parfait

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Very good. Also works well with partially thawed frozen berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple-Stuffed Acorn Squash

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
No changes necessary!! I ate the whole thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Chef John's Corned Beef and Cabbage

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
If I am trying something for the first time that I have no idea how to cook, I always search for Chef Johns version first. I have always done my corned beef in the slow cooker and wanted to try it in my dutch oven, so I was excited to see Chef John had a version! This turned out perfect! My beef was about 4.2 lbs and I let it cook just as his instructions state for 4lbs and it turned out amazing! My family raved over how well everything cooked, and the flavor! The only thing I did differently was left the carrots out and cooked separately due to space in the pot initially- the potatoes and cabbage were so perfectly cooked and well infused with flavor! Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Yogurt Crunch Parfaits from DOLE®

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I scaled this back to one serving as my "treat" tonight after dinner. I used Walmart frozen pineapple, vanilla greek yogurt and "light" whipped topping. This was heaven. Absolute heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbeque Chicken Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
For me, this recipe was part of a "Pantry Challenge". I basically plugged a few ingredients in that I had on hand and this was one of the first recipes that popped up. I did scale this recipe back by half. I cannot find jicama anywhere in the area I live, so I just omitted it. I also did not add the jalapeno pepper because I was feeding two kids. To make this a little......cheaper, I did skip the step of cooking the chicken in the barbeque sauce only because I didn't want to overuse the little bit that I had in case I needed it for another recipe. I just cooked the chicken with some spices in my slow cooker for most of the day, cooled it and then pieced it out for the salad. Very interesting take on pasta salad, my two kids especially liked it. NO leftovers. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Dijon Balsamic Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
One of my favorite dressing recipes. I used the same ratio of oil to vinegar, but used 1/4 cup Balsamic, and completed the balance with red wine vinegar. Add just the right amounts of S&P to taste, and it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Braised Lamb Shanks

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rendobina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, Maine, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Vanessa Greaves

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
As soon as I saw fresh rhubarb in the market, I knew I had to get baking. These turned out just great! Full disclosure: I used butter instead of oil (don't judge me) and I didn't add walnuts. Also, it turned out that my rhubarb measured at 2 cups instead of 1.5, so I just threw the whole thing in there. It was still wonderful. I especially love how easy it was to make a streusel topping with melted butter. Thanks for sharing this terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Greaves

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States