Seattle - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Marinade for Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
I like vinegar, nothing wrong w/ the multiple benefits of acetic acid. That said...I don't recommend extra. Since I don't always measure, hard to say. Next time I'll reduce it a little maybe...or at least measure eh?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Hands down, the best coleslaw I've ever had. I reduce the sugar by half, but otherwise I make exactly as written. I get compliments every time I bring this to a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marli Larimer
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Key Lime Pie VII

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Easy, easy, easy... I am not very good (okay... I stink) at making pies (too runny, not runny enough...pie crust disasters). This recipe my friends is heaven sent. Easy to make, fool proof, not to expensive, you can make a few in a moment's time to feed a big crowd, and it tastes great. I strongly recommend if you are looking for a fool proof dessert to share at a gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Cobb Salad by Avocados From Mexico

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
I am always looking for interesting salads that are substantial enough to be a meal for my family. I buy that 7 pack of romaine lettuce at Costco or Cash and Carry...so making it through that much lettuce in a week's period is a challenge. I really liked the addition of corn (I used fresh corn). I also threw in some black beans to boost the nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Chicken BLT by Avocados From Mexico

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
This is in my opinion the perfect blend of flavors...although admittedly, what dish isn't better when you add avocado? I make this same sandwich often without the grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Dark 'n' Stormy Cocktail

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
If you play around with different rums, preferably dark or spiced, there's a special taste that develops between the ginger beer and the nice(r) rums (try Zaya or Old Monk, my favorites!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WrestlingWithSubtitles

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Tasty Tuna Burgers

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Good flavor and I don't mind somewhat mushy Tuna burgers. I added garlic and diced roasted Poblano peppers to go w/ 'chili sauce' and Tabasco and black pepper. Also added some diced fresh Rosemary leaves with the dried Dill Weed. Perfect aftertaste...not so hot to make you wish you hadn't and yet spicy enough to be glad you did. I used Wild Planet canned Albacore...good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

USA TODAY: Latest World and US News - USATODAY.com

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Great stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Bracco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Sharon ssf

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
I only had one 10oz bag of spinach and cut the recipe in half...so technically I needed another half bag. Maybe a little too saucy because of that but it sure tasted good. Stayed with the recipe except for not having any provolone in the house and used mozzarella instead.. I know, but it was what I had! Was generous with the garlic and the fresh ground pepper and it had an awesome flavor. Will confess my husband likes the green canned parmesan stuff.. you know what I'm talking about and he used some after dishing up his plate.He was in heaven. We had it with ribs and my own take on quinoa patties. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No-Cook Overnight Oatmeal

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Wow, this was good. And so easy. And so customizable. I used my homemade almond milk instead of regular milk, and added fresh fruit the next morning plus a splash more almond milk to loosen up the texture just a bit. In my next jar, I added a tablespoon of unsweetened shredded coconut plus blueberries. In the jar after that, I added a few chopped nuts and fresh peach. There's really no end to what you can do with this excellent base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Green Pea Pesto

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
I thought it was OK...never met a pesto I didn't like. I find it more unique to use spinach in lieu of basil (unless I'm making traditional pesto). I like more Parmesan and need some toasted almonds (or pine nuts, though again, they go in regular basil pesto) that have been blended, mixing them in w/ half or more of the peas, reserving some intact ones for texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Garlic Shrimp

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Wonderful, I prefer lime juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Lesh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Braised Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
So quick and easy and always impresses my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli Shircliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by cheesemite

Greek Lemon Chicken and Potato Bake

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Fragrant, flavorful, delicious, and easy. Leftovers are great on top of a Greek salad. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Tartar Sauce I

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Simple ingredients, basic recipe, but OH SO GOOD! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

Ranch Dressing II

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
This is GOOD! I've tried a couple of recipes for ranch dressing that weren't a hit, but this one is "just right!" It's also easy to make in a smaller quantity for us empty nesters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
I guess even one tablespoon sugar was a bit much for us. Next time maybe just a pinch. But I liked the technique (making sure the pasta was completely drained and sticky to the touch before dressing), so will play around with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazuela

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Chicken Puffs

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaDolceVita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramels

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I don't make a lot of candies and this was my first caramel since I was a little kid. I couldn't get the temp of the liquid to over 240 F. I turned up the heat on my stove top to 7 (out of 10) hoping that would move the heat along. It stayed there for about 20 minutes while I constantly stirred. No luck. I finally got burned by the splatters enough that I called it a day. My caramels are too soft and have a grittiness to them. Any advice on how to manage the heat? Should I try a larger pot (used a med pot per in the directions)? It cooking and stirring for about 40 min not enough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar Cookie Drops

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
This was easy to make and produces a very acceptable cookie! I did add about a 1/4 tsp. of salt, per other reviewer's suggestions. I will certainly make these again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States