Seattle - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by vburrito

Low Carb Zucchini Pasta

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
It was really fun to spiralize the zucchini (my son helped with that!) but I thought the zucchini ended up a little bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vburrito

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Alli Shircliff

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
I made this for dessert for my boyfriend and his parents. It was a huge success! Made good leftovers for breakfast the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli Shircliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
Good recipe. Just keep in mind that Famous Daves, Jack Daniels and most all the grocery store BBQ sauces are sweetened w/ HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP. So far I've found TJ's BBQ sauce to be a good sauce w/o the HFCS...it's sweetened w/ sugar. I'm still looking for other NON HFCS BBQ sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamed Cabbage

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
This really is a five star concoction! I had 1/2 of a sweet onion that I needed to use so I did add an ingredient but I don't think it changed the overall recipe that much... I was a little skeptical about the sour cream but, WOW! that really added to the overall taste and made it extra special.. Thanks Jessica for a great way to fix cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Claremont Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
This was pretty good but a little too sweet for me. Next time I'll use 1/4 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by cheesemite

Scrumptious Steak Sammy

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
No better word than scrumptious for this sammy! I could not resist adding onion, but it was not at all necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by vburrito

Pesto Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
I toasted the walnuts first. So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vburrito

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by chrisader

Guacamole

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Fantastic and easy recipe. Made it 30 minutes before a team event and everyone loved it. Probably could have let the flavors meld a little longer before serving, but it was a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrisader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Red Hot Liqueur

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Great idea! Makes for great gifts, too! Where can I get those labels and neat bottles??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIMASU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

Strawberry-Rhubarb Galette

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Simple recipe that does the job - great feedback from tasters. One thing I would encourage is doubling the amount of fruit to 4 cups for the filling. Since I had two pie crusts, I doubled it but the filling was *still* only enough for one galette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
I made this for a family dinner. I don't know what I did wrong, but my pork would not shred. At all. We ended up having sliced pork sandwiches instead of pulled pork. The flavor was ok, but honestly after all that effort, I could have thrown a bucket of Lloyd's bbq in front of them and they would have never known.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulesUtah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Plain City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
I make these every time I need brownies, and have made them at high altitude, sea level, you name it. They are delicious every time, perfect gooey brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Elizabeth

Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
I accidentally used mustard POWDER and had to double the recipe to make up for my mistake - but still delicious! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Chef John's Italian Meatballs

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Great. I don't eat beef...so I made Torkballs. Turkey and Pork. 99% lean Turkey from TJ's and 72% lean ground Pork from xyz grocery store. They have an average of about 14% fat and taste great together. Sure, I used whatever combo of Ritz crackers and breadcrumbs I wanted as well as limiting salt and adding Cayenne Pepper which seems to be a smoother heat than adding extra RP flakes (which I added as per the recipe)...doesn't matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman

Balsamic Roasted Fennel and Acorn Squash Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Delicious! This recipe has inspired me to use acorn squash in other recipes! I didn't know how much our family loved acorn squash until this recipe! The flavors here were great. We picked up the fennel from our neighbors farm, so it was super fresh and it pared perfectly with the fennel. To me this seems like an unlikely combination, but it worked! Thank you for a great recipe and thank you Uncle Ben's for making a great rice blend. I can't say enough about the flavor combination here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman

Buffalo or Barbeque Chicken and Rice Wraps

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
These were amazing! My husband and I raved about them! They were EVEN better the next day! We've already made these twice more this month! A quick and easy lunch! Perfect wraps and super simple with the use of Uncle Ben's Ready Rice! We used lettuce from our garden instead of shredded. I also julienne cut the carrots and added them into the wraps. It was a perfect addition. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman

Easy One-Pan Taco Skillet

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
This was a super easy recipe, in fact, my husband took this one over and did an excellent job! This is a great base for nachos and would be perfect served with refried beans and guacamole. This would also be excellent filling for tacos: fresh or fried. The Uncle Ben's Ready Rice made this a very quick, fool-proof meal. Great for a busy week day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman

Cheesy Rice Stuffed Jalapeno Poppers

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
I made these exactly as written. I think we would have liked them more if there was more cream cheese and a LITTLE bit less rice. I think next time I would do 8oz cream cheese and half the breading. Otherwise, great twist on stuffed peppers! The filling was easy to use and rice was simple to make with Uncle Ben's ready rice! I love these pouches! Thank you for the recipe! Our family loves stuffed peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA

Lamb and Rice Stuffed Grape Leaves

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
I usually have dolmas with just rice, and they are pretty okay. But with lamb? Unbelieveable. So delicious, can't wait for someone to make them for me again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seth Kolloen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
I am Italian and actually love ricotta cheese, but my family does not. So I was pretty excited to find a baked ziti recipe with an alternative to the ricotta component. I pretty much followed the recipe exactly, except for the fact that I made a vegetarian version, subbing some zucchini and mushrooms for the meat. And I did follow the advice of others about putting the sauce layer on top of the penne before the cheeses. The outcome? Well, I liked it, and thought it was a nice change from traditional baked ziti. It was very tasty and light. I don't think it is better than the old stand-by, but still very good. My teenage daughter loved it, and ate 3 helpings. My son wouldn't touch it, but he doesn't like tomato sauce, and my spouse thought the sour cream gave it a strange taste. So there you have it. It's a mixed review, but largely positive, and I'm glad I tried it! Looking forward to the leftovers for lunch tomorrow...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States