Port Orchard - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Blackberry Pie I

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This recipe is AMAZING!I followed exactly what the recipe said, and it turned out perfect, like a Marie Calander pie. I used egg wipe on the bottom (just wipe some whisked egg with a paper towel over the shell), and there was absolutely no soggy shells. This recipe is the most easy, yet versatile pie ever, very healthy, yet still sweet and tangy. This is perfect for our ripe and wild blackberries in our yard. Thanks- LucyJeane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyJeane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Olalla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
ehhhh..... i'll stick with regular lasagna. it was kinda bland-ish. good thought process but needed something. thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
very nice taste! the 'topping' is more cake like then the crumbly kind i'm used to... still delicious. after reading other reviews i decided to only bake mine for 23 minutes and it came out not so burnt looking. thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This is an okay banana bread, but I wouldn't make it again. The time, at 60 minutes, was too long, though I should have kept a closer eye on it ten minutes out. Really, though, it's the flavor. There's just not much there. It wasn't terribly banana-y, not very sweet, no spice... If, however, you are looking for a banana bread that won't upstage anything else, than this will probably work quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Good, but needed a bit more flavor. I added 3x chicken bouillon and some more garlic powder, ginger, and soy sauce at the end. I saw the comments about the brown sugar and will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Soy Pork Loin

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I read several reviews before I made the recipe and incorporated a few things: cooked in a roasting pan, as opposed to the baking bag; added extra onions; added orange zest; and tried to make a gravy/sauce from the drippings. I cooked the loin in the baking pan because I have had a lot of success with it in the past, and this was no exception. I definitely think that the orange flavor was prominent with the zest there and the onions were great. I did not like, however, the gravy. Just weird with the citrusy tones. I would make it again, but it wasn't anything too special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asparagus and Mushroom Frittata

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Delicious and SO easy! I love recipes that are easily adaptable and in this one you can add what you like and take out what you don't. I didn't change it much except to add red onions to the sauteed veggies. Came out wonderful and looked impressive serving it right out of the pan. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNZKITKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

Old Fashioned Onion Rings

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
These are awesome!!! A lot of work to make but really worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nummies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brandon Granado

Banana Oatmeal Cookies I

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I used coconut oil in place of margarine and put walnuts instead of chocolate chips. These came out great. Think I'll try craisins next time. Very easy recipe and yummy cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Granado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken I

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Chicken was dry and kind of tart. I mixed in some brown rice, quinoa and butter and it improved significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Granado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Soup II by Julie - Customized

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
We loved this soup! Had to sub a few things because I didn't have them. I plan on making this many times in my crock pot while at work. Thanks for a great springboard recipe, Julie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DECAFinNW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

Simple Hamburger Stroganoff

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I'm giving it 4 stars because I had to add some seasonings to make it better and after adding half of the sour cream, soup and cream cheese it looked just fine. Very good taste. I followed other suggestions and added salt, pepper and garlic to the beef. The kids loved it and so did my husband. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovegoodfood2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Yum! I used english cucumbers Android didn't peel them. It ended up a very pretty salad that is refreshing and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNZKITKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

Rhinelander Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was good but I added more lentils making it a bit thicker. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNZKITKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

Louisiana Shrimp Creole II

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This is a classic recipe, but I agree with other reviewers that it needs a bit more herbal seasoning. I added some oregano, thyme, and rosemary, along with a bit of Old Bay and smoked paprika. And the suggestion to make a stock of the shrimp shells really boosted the shrimp flavor. I used flour instead of cornstarch and petite diced tomatoes w/some tomato paste. I haven't yet been able to duplicate my mother's, but this is the closest I've come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sven-golly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Oh my goodness! This dish was amazing! My kids devoured it as well as my husband and myself and our neighbor. It is our new favorite dish. The flavor is excellent. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovegoodfood2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rainbow Clown Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Such a fun idea! I made this recipe into cupcakes for my daughter's preschool for St. Patty's Day. All the kids loved the colors and it worked out great since they were talking about rainbows that day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovegoodfood2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Five stars with these changes: I used Costco brand chicken breasts--straight from the freezer, with 3/4 bottle wing sauce and package ranch. Cooked 7 hours on low--shredded chicken and returned to the crock for another hour. So juicy and tender--no butter required. Served on Kaiser rolls with colby jack cheese and a dollop of bleu cheese dressing--a must. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Pancakes II

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Fabulous! I made the recipe exactly as it's written and the result was perfect. The flavor of the oats is delicious and I love the texture they give to the pancakes! The batter is thick and creamy and the pancakes are fluffy. (Note: another reviewer commented that the baking soda wasn't needed but she used milk instead of buttermilk. It's only when buttermilk is used in a recipe that baking soda is needed.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy's Personal Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Olalla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Weeknight Lasagne Toss

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I'll make it again but with changes--the dressing is not necessary and actually makes the dish greasy. It is obviously a Kraft sponsored recipe, so they try to get as many of their products as possible in the recipe. A teaspoon of Italian Seasoning adds the necessary flavor without the oil. I didn't have oven ready noodles, used the regular ole lasagna noodles and they were fine. I used shredded mozzerella on top which was yummy! I also used a can of Hunt's Spaghetti sauce and it was fine. I think with adjustments it can be a 5 star. The dressing just doesn't cut it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States