Port Orchard - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Chicken Stew with Apple

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I'm a long-time chef, and when I read this recipe had my reservations due to the complexity and variety of the total ingredients. I should have listened to my gut. I made this dish for a special event with some friends, and it fell flatter than a pancake under a 20 ton weight. It was actually going along fairly well until I added the tablespoon of cider vingegar - which changed the entire flavor of the dish. And there was no real recovery after that because I didn't have time to mess with it. The texture was mushy and the flavor was uninspired. Some suggestions I would offer are these: Substitute Jerusalem artichokes for potatoes (much more expensive, I know, but better for diabetics) and add a handful of dried cranberries to sweeten it up. This recipe needs to focus on being on the sweeter side with the use of apples and apple cider, but like other reviewers have mentioned, it doesn't quite go there (but it should). This recipe sends mixed flavor messages in my view. You can pick this up just by reading the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Pork Chops

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
They were fantastic!!! Instructions were spot on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Between, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Great cookie! Not as moist as a regular chocolate chip cookie. It's like a peanut butter cookie combined with a chocolate chip cookie as far as texture and taste. (Go figure huh?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovegoodfood2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was so yummy! A nice spin on sloppy joes. The only thing I added was chili powder (saw in another recipe) for a little kick. Came out spicy, sweet, sour and a little barbequey too. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNZKITKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

Sophie's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I had a Zucchini Bread Bonanza in which I tested three recipes (almost verbatim... except with pecans instead of walnuts) against each other. The other recipes were from the Better Home and Garden cookbook and Mom's (from this site). After a lot of testing/tasting, people waffled between Sophie's and Mom's, ultimately deciding on Sophie's. It really was delicious and had a better balance of moisture and zucchini flavor. In the future, I will add a dash of nutmeg, and continue to use pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I personally thought that this recipe was delicious. I had a Zucchini Bread Bonanza in which I tested three recipes (almost verbatim... except with pecans instead of walnuts) against each other. The other recipes were from the Better Home and Garden cookbook and Sophie's (from this site). This was my favorite, however after a lot of testing/tasting, people waffled between Sophie's and Mom's, ultimately deciding on Sophie's. Mom's really was delicious, but in the future I will use Sophie's. It had a better balance of moisture with a good zucchini flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Basil Pesto

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is EXCELLENT!!! Stuck with the recipe as is and it turned out tremendous!! I love pesto, but this was great because adding the spinach made it a bit mellower. My wife and I are HUGE lemon fans (it's in my Alfredo sauce) and the lemon and zest are a perfect compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sven-golly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I don't like snickerdoodles honestly, but this recipe is very good, and fun to make. I would suggest less cinnamon for those of us who can't xontain so much spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyJeane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Olalla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I used sour cream since I didn't have yogurt and unsweetened applesauce instead of the oil. They came out amazing! I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovegoodfood2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blackberry Pie I

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This recipe is AMAZING!I followed exactly what the recipe said, and it turned out perfect, like a Marie Calander pie. I used egg wipe on the bottom (just wipe some whisked egg with a paper towel over the shell), and there was absolutely no soggy shells. This recipe is the most easy, yet versatile pie ever, very healthy, yet still sweet and tangy. This is perfect for our ripe and wild blackberries in our yard. Thanks- LucyJeane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyJeane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Olalla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
ehhhh..... i'll stick with regular lasagna. it was kinda bland-ish. good thought process but needed something. thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
very nice taste! the 'topping' is more cake like then the crumbly kind i'm used to... still delicious. after reading other reviews i decided to only bake mine for 23 minutes and it came out not so burnt looking. thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This is an okay banana bread, but I wouldn't make it again. The time, at 60 minutes, was too long, though I should have kept a closer eye on it ten minutes out. Really, though, it's the flavor. There's just not much there. It wasn't terribly banana-y, not very sweet, no spice... If, however, you are looking for a banana bread that won't upstage anything else, than this will probably work quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Good, but needed a bit more flavor. I added 3x chicken bouillon and some more garlic powder, ginger, and soy sauce at the end. I saw the comments about the brown sugar and will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Soy Pork Loin

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I read several reviews before I made the recipe and incorporated a few things: cooked in a roasting pan, as opposed to the baking bag; added extra onions; added orange zest; and tried to make a gravy/sauce from the drippings. I cooked the loin in the baking pan because I have had a lot of success with it in the past, and this was no exception. I definitely think that the orange flavor was prominent with the zest there and the onions were great. I did not like, however, the gravy. Just weird with the citrusy tones. I would make it again, but it wasn't anything too special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asparagus and Mushroom Frittata

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Delicious and SO easy! I love recipes that are easily adaptable and in this one you can add what you like and take out what you don't. I didn't change it much except to add red onions to the sauteed veggies. Came out wonderful and looked impressive serving it right out of the pan. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNZKITKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

Old Fashioned Onion Rings

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
These are awesome!!! A lot of work to make but really worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nummies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Soup II by Julie - Customized

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
We loved this soup! Had to sub a few things because I didn't have them. I plan on making this many times in my crock pot while at work. Thanks for a great springboard recipe, Julie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DECAFinNW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

Simple Hamburger Stroganoff

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I'm giving it 4 stars because I had to add some seasonings to make it better and after adding half of the sour cream, soup and cream cheese it looked just fine. Very good taste. I followed other suggestions and added salt, pepper and garlic to the beef. The kids loved it and so did my husband. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovegoodfood2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Yum! I used english cucumbers Android didn't peel them. It ended up a very pretty salad that is refreshing and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNZKITKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States