Port Orchard - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Baked Tilapia in Garlic and Olive Oil

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
kind of bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Granado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter and Banana French Toast

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This recipe is so quick and easy and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Granado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Green Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Kind of bland, added red pepper flakes for some flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Granado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Poulet aigu de Tarragon

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Took a while to make but was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Granado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Great taste! I added a splash of vice vinegar and a dash of cumin - fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Cocoa No-Bake Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Lovely!!!! I was afraid they wouldn't turn out wrong 'cause i used hot cocoa instant mix and old fashioned oats. They turned out just fine! next time I'll slightly boil the oats so they aren't so hard. thanks for the recipe!!!!YUMMMMMM......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyJeane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Olalla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This crisp recipe is SO good! I forgot the tablespoons of flour that go on the apples. It turned out just fine. Not runny at all. I added nutmeg because I like the taste. :-) I used fresh rolled oats. I doubled the topping because I love it so much! After it was done baking the topping had a very light crispiness to it that was probably a result of the baking powder and soda. VERY pleasing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy's Personal Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Olalla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is a great recipe. My slight modifications were as follows: 1) added 1 more Tbs of chopped garlice since I LOVE garlic 2) used the juice of one lime, since I had no lemons 3) added 1 tsp of capers for a little tartness 4) added one red thai pepper (seeded and chopped) for a slight kick 5) added 1/4 cup white zinfandel 6) poured the baked results into a plate filled with freshly boiled wide-ribbon lemon-pepper pasta (from Trader Joes - it's called PAPPARDELLE PASTA - SOOO good!) 7) sprinkled the plated result with freshly grated parmesan (to taste) Then I poured myself a small glass of chilled white zin to wash it all down with - this combination of tastes was DELISH! Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soft Christmas Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
this recipe is really good tasting, it's just that I used butter instead of margarine and baked them for 3-4 minutes extra and they turned SUPER HARD! I have to make a new batch today because of that...well, anyway, deffenetly cook 5-6 minutes and no extra if you want them soft. and DON'T roll thinner than 1/4 inch!!!!!too crunchy!!!!!! Merry Christmas, Little Emmanuel is here!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyJeane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Olalla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Who knew making B&B pickles could be this easy?! I had 2 large cucumbers left over from this past summer's crop sitting in the fridge - I made cucumber salad, gaspacho soup and many other wonderful recipes from this site, but frankly, was all 'cuked out until I saw this recipe. Wow, so easy to make (19 minutes) and the taste/texture (nice and crunchy) is good. I used a whole white onion, will probably use less onion next time, and I'll make it a sweet one instead. The onion and two pickles filled a large mason jar PERFECTLY, and produced enough "juice" to cover it all. Will definitely be using this recipe for next year's harvest. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Cookies I

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Good cookie but butterscotch overpowers the pumpkin, going to try golden raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Granado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Cheesecake Bars

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Not real sweet but could maybe use more pumpkin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Granado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken Stew with Apple

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I'm a long-time chef, and when I read this recipe had my reservations due to the complexity and variety of the total ingredients. I should have listened to my gut. I made this dish for a special event with some friends, and it fell flatter than a pancake under a 20 ton weight. It was actually going along fairly well until I added the tablespoon of cider vingegar - which changed the entire flavor of the dish. And there was no real recovery after that because I didn't have time to mess with it. The texture was mushy and the flavor was uninspired. Some suggestions I would offer are these: Substitute Jerusalem artichokes for potatoes (much more expensive, I know, but better for diabetics) and add a handful of dried cranberries to sweeten it up. This recipe needs to focus on being on the sweeter side with the use of apples and apple cider, but like other reviewers have mentioned, it doesn't quite go there (but it should). This recipe sends mixed flavor messages in my view. You can pick this up just by reading the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Pork Chops

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
They were fantastic!!! Instructions were spot on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Between, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Great cookie! Not as moist as a regular chocolate chip cookie. It's like a peanut butter cookie combined with a chocolate chip cookie as far as texture and taste. (Go figure huh?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovegoodfood2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was so yummy! A nice spin on sloppy joes. The only thing I added was chili powder (saw in another recipe) for a little kick. Came out spicy, sweet, sour and a little barbequey too. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNZKITKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

Sophie's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I had a Zucchini Bread Bonanza in which I tested three recipes (almost verbatim... except with pecans instead of walnuts) against each other. The other recipes were from the Better Home and Garden cookbook and Mom's (from this site). After a lot of testing/tasting, people waffled between Sophie's and Mom's, ultimately deciding on Sophie's. It really was delicious and had a better balance of moisture and zucchini flavor. In the future, I will add a dash of nutmeg, and continue to use pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I personally thought that this recipe was delicious. I had a Zucchini Bread Bonanza in which I tested three recipes (almost verbatim... except with pecans instead of walnuts) against each other. The other recipes were from the Better Home and Garden cookbook and Sophie's (from this site). This was my favorite, however after a lot of testing/tasting, people waffled between Sophie's and Mom's, ultimately deciding on Sophie's. Mom's really was delicious, but in the future I will use Sophie's. It had a better balance of moisture with a good zucchini flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Basil Pesto

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is EXCELLENT!!! Stuck with the recipe as is and it turned out tremendous!! I love pesto, but this was great because adding the spinach made it a bit mellower. My wife and I are HUGE lemon fans (it's in my Alfredo sauce) and the lemon and zest are a perfect compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sven-golly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I don't like snickerdoodles honestly, but this recipe is very good, and fun to make. I would suggest less cinnamon for those of us who can't xontain so much spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyJeane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Olalla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States