Port Orchard - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Sheila

Cream Cheese Frosting II

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
This is a VERY runny product, it barely holds form. I don't recommend it at all for a frosting. It's more like an icing. Tried to use it on cupcakes and it was extremely disappointing. Basically was a cupcake decorating failure. And I followed the recipe exactly. No user error, I've worked in a kitchen for years. If you want to use it on cinnamon rolls or quick breads, that's fine. It's a terrible idea for cakes or cupcakes, or anything that needs the frosting to hold shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Microwave Peanut Brittle

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This was so easy and good that after I made one batch, I had to make another. The directions are perfect! I was worried it might stick to the pan so I might have over spayed the cookie sheet which made the brittle coated on the bottom side. I just took it out and laid it on paper towels to absorb it. I'll make this every year for Christmas and maybe other times for when we're in the mood. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNZKITKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

Habanero Hot Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Made this for my husband who appreciates hot peppers and sauces. This flavor didn't appeal to him. He loves cayenne peppers and the hotter the better. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

Italian Peas

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
These were ok. Made as directed but wasn't very thrilled with the flavor even though we love onions and garlic. Probably would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNZKITKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This is a great recipe. I have made it twice and it has been a hit. I like it best when the patties are thin and cooked until crisp.Other family members liked it better when thicker patties and not so crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Olive Pecan Spread

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Try this on fresh apple slices. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I do not see how this recipe could be improved on in any way. They are perfection! I used a hand mixer to do all the stirring. I used a little less cinnamon than it called for. The cookies turned out crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside! The entire batch was devoured. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy's Personal Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Olalla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Comforting Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Made this tonight, it was delicious! Since I had no fresh green peppers, I used a can of diced green chiles (we like it hot). And also had to use broccoli cheddar condensed soup instead of cream of mushroom. Thank you to previous reviewers; pre-cooked the (brown) rice and made sure to bake the dish at 350. Wonderful comfort food, thank you Edna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DECAFinNW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

Filipino Lumpia

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This recipe was ok. I worked with a Filipino lady that used to always make these and I loved them. I never thought about asking her how to make them until I moved 3000 miles away. There were a few things that I realized after making and eating these that I know I'll change in the future. The first being not to use soy sauce AND salt. To me, they were too salty. And after having them and comparing them to hers, Im pretty sure she didn't use soy sauce. Nor did another recipe that another Filipino friend of mine made. I don't recall tasting soy sauce in his either. I know there are many versions of lumpia and they are very easy to change. They weren't bad, I still enjoyed them. I inhaled 6 in no time with a vinegar garlic dipping sauce. I read through several recipes and noticed some require precooking the meat while others use a raw mixture. I think the next time I will try a raw mixture instead, as these just fell apart and crumbled while trying to eat them, even being rolled tight. Dipping was difficult without loosing my meat. All in all, this was a great starting point and looks like it contained most of the stuff I was used to in a lumpia. Also, mine made 21. I noticed after the first few I was over stuffing, so cut back. Then when I got to about 15, I cut back more. 1 1/2 Tbs. will probably yield 30. Now I know what my next attempt should be. Thanks for the great start! Revised: After sitting overnight, the flavors are more blended and mellowed. Tastes much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato Rolls

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
These rolls are amazing! Soft and fluffy. The perfect dinner roll. If they aren't fluffy, you have used too much flour. The dough should be a little sticky. I have found my new favorite roll recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovegoodfood2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This is the perfect strawberry spinach salad! I loved it and so did the other 20 people at the family gathering I was attending. I doubled the recipe and the bowl was licked clean. I had plenty of leftover dressing though, which is great because I want to make more salad, it was so good! I decided to add green onions to the salad and not put any in the dressing just because that's what I had. I also sprinkled on some feta cheese because I enjoy the salty cheese with the sweet dressing and berries. I like the idea of adding bacon next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy's Personal Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Olalla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate French Toast

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Yummy. After reading other reviews with complaints of the coco powder not mixing, I mixed my dry ingredients first then the milk and eggs, and slowly added the wet ingredients to the dry while whisking together and it turned out fine. Just did basic butter and syrup, but next time fruit will be added as other reviewers have suggested. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Chicken Breasts with Fresh Strawberry Salsa

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I've tried this recipe a few time and I keep twee king it . The original salsa is way to sweet for me and the chicken marinade is tame so I don't seed the Serrano chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeamGoat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

Spicy Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Best grilled cheese ever I spiced it up with Serrano chillied
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeamGoat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

Pesto Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeamGoat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

Bacon Wrapped Pesto Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Excellent party food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeamGoat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Awesome one of the best risottos I've had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeamGoat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

Creamy Chicken Risotto

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Not impressed at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeamGoat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

Blue Cheese Hot Wings!

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I made these for a dinner party and they were a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeamGoat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

Broccoli Risotto with Cream and Lemon

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Really tasty next time no pepper and I'm sure it will be amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeamGoat

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States