Issaquah - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Paella

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Amazing. Followed one reviewer's advice and used chicken thighs instead of breasts to pump up the savor/flavor. We had this for breakfast, lunch and dinner the day after and it was completely gone. New family favorite, added to the staple rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnneHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This was really good! We had left overs and it was even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Walnut Cheese Wrapped in Bacon

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Not that flavorful. Followed the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnneHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chipotle Dry Rub

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Made this for dinner tonight and used it on a flank steak. 2 tbsp of rub was the perfect amount for 1.5 lb meat. It had enough heat to be interesting and flavorful, but not so much as to overpower the kids. We'll be using this rub a lot around here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIOCHANLEAT82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Photo by AnneHJ

The Most Delicious Green Beans

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Loved these green beans and I'll definitely make them again. I took the recommendation of a few other reviewers and halved the sugar, and I subbed in Stevia instead of regular sugar. I also didn't have almonds so I subbed walnuts. Tasted great. I let the mixture chill in the fridge for about 6 hours (instead of just 1 or overnight) and was happy with the flavor. The only drawback is the chilling time - this dish definitely isn't a last-minute quick dinner fix. I really liked it though and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnneHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AnneHJ

Bacon Wrapped Mushroom Meatloaf

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Great meatloaf - I think the thyme and sage gave it a somewhat unique flavor that pumped up the volume a bit and really made this meatloaf stand out against more traditional varieties. I did sub the bread crumbs out for almond flour to make it GF and I didn't experience any issues. I know the OP emphasizes that this is not a low fat dish -- which is fine with me of course (I made it and enjoyed it!) -- but the meatloaf is absolutely swimming in oil/fat when it's pulled out of the oven so just be prepared for that. I baked mine in glass loaf pans and the oil/grease/whatever was completely submerging the full lower half of the meatloaves. When they were cooked, I removed the loaves from the pans and placed them on a cooling rack to drain off as much of the oil as possible. There is definitely no risk that you'll have a dry meatloaf with this recipe. This dish is very savory and very moist and my husband about died he loved it so much, just be prepared for the oil/grease when you remove them from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnneHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Some of the less-positive reviews noted that the meal lacked flavor; I found it depended on the bite. If you had a bite with bacon, it tasted great and the different textures worked well. But if you had a bite without bacon, and just the chicken/cheese/spinach mixture, it was definitely bland. I subbed sour cream for cream cheese in hopes it would hold up better during cooking and it did, but otherwise the dish was hit and miss depending on your bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnneHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Rabe with Roasted Peppers

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I subbed EVOO for Kerrygold grass-fed butter; tasted great. Easy, hassle-free side. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnneHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Tikka Masala

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
TOO MUCH SALT The other flavors and seasonings were on point, which is too bad because this recipe was close to fantastic otherwise (and to be fair I made it again later with NO salt and the other seasonings were completely sufficient - this recipe doesn't need ANY salt). I have no clue why 7 tsp. of salt are listed; is it a typo? Anyway it was inedible for us as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnneHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I'm shocked that this recipe has so many positive reviews; it's close to flavorless. I followed the recipe to a T and the end result is a lump of beef wrapped in wet limp cabbage with a hint of processed tomato. Really disappointed because the ROI was just not there for what ended up being a bit of a process to get the meat mixture wrapped and secured in the cabbage leaves. 2 stars instead of just 1 because it didn't taste bad, it just didn't taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnneHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Cooked this last night for my son who loves Indian food and he approved…we will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Jordan Riedinger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galena, Kansas, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Portuguese Kale Soup

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Authentic or not, this ended up being a very tasty dinner with a nice crusty loaf of bread. Ended up using pinto beans instead of kidney because that's what I had on hand, but it still came out great. I'd probably add another can of broth next time just to thin it out a bit as it was more stew-like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIOCHANLEAT82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

Very Chocolate Ice Cream

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
My son who only care for vanilla, is in love with this chocolate ice cream. Asked me how many more tubs we have ! In heaven. Thank you for the recipe. I no longer need to buy any more chocolate ice cream from the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA

Avocado Quick Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
What a surprise! It is very good. I used just over a cup of avocado since that was all I had and I added just a small amount of sour cream to make up for it and no nuts. Baked in a Bundt pan for just under an hour and it came out great. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Waikiki Cornbread

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
These are so fun and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pepperoni Pizza Bake

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Super easy and really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Merritt's Butternut Squash Gratin

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I tried this recipe at a potluck with my fellow employees and fell in love with it! I decided to share it with my family over Christmas and they did too! My husband is not a big fan of Gruyere so I used Asiago, Jack and Sharp Cheddar and still topped it with Parmesan. I will make this again without a doubt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Egg Noodles

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I'm brand new to making noodles so I tried this today using the exact ingredients and then using my Kitchen Aid hook to kneed it. I did small batches to roll out, and the pizza cutter to make "noodles". Pretty flour-y and kinda rubbery - I may try it again as I learn this process, but all in all? Not worth the time to me - I'll just go to the store instead ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Hollandaise Sauce in the Microwave

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This is a great recipe which is very good the way they suggest you use it. This time however, I added a tablespoon of mayo before melting the butter and whisked it together before the heating step. It added some great creaminess that was lacking from the initial version and held it together more when spooning it over my eggs. WIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States