Gig Harbor - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Chimichangas with Green Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Made exactly as directed. These were Awesome and, strange as this may sound, even better eaten cold for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Pork Scaloppini with Mustard Creme

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Modified this recipe after reading comments. Doubled the sauce recipe, adding twice the lime juice and leaving out the allspice. I added other seasoning I like instead. I used a red wine instead of Vermouth because that's what I had. I also added Panko to my flour. Served over noodles. IT WAS AWESOME! I will be coming back to this recipe many more times! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Chicken and Apple Curry

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I love this recipe and so easy! I decreased the amount of chicken to only 4 pieces, used boneless skinless thighs CUT UP instead of breasts (they are cheaper), doubled the amount of curry and served over steamed jasmine rice..yummy. By decreasing the amount of chicken it made it more saucy, which tasted great and soaked up the rice. This tasted like a recipe from a Thai or Indian restaurant! Great! You could also provide a little color by adding some chopped green onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deirdrejayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Sugar Coated Pecans

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Amazing! I went with the following review suggestions: 2 egg whites, instead of 1 Tbs. Water, use 2 tea. water + 1 tea. vanilla, 1 tea. cinnamon. Also, I loved using one bowl for everything and just adding the sugar in three or four parts and mixing in. These are PERFECT as stated above. Next time I am going to try parchment paper (my pan was a hard coated mess after) and also maybe adding a little more aromatic spices like 1/4 tea. cloves and 1/4 tea. allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I cooked Salmon and Ribs for a party last night.. had 12 filets and none were left.. I can't tell you what they tasted like, I didn't get any... based on that, I'm giving 4 stars.. I used olive oil rather than butter.. Made 6 racks of Ribs too and any leftovers were taken by my guests.. Either, everyone was really hungry, or I'm a heck of a good cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Taste was good, but recipe didn't mention draining off juices.. sauce was diluted to broth.. too bad it would have been better a little thicker, and I didn't have time to put it in a pan and reduce it to a thicker consistency. Also, cooking time is a little off.. I cooked for 30 min, then added remainder of sauce and cooked for only 15 more minutes. My husband liked them, but I found the pork chops to be too dry.. Next time I will only cook for 30 minutes..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Potato Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I know y'all don't like it when people modify the recipe a ton and rate it, but we really enjoyed this with the changes we made. I halved the basil and added 1/4 tsp thyme as others suggested. I doubled all the veggies and added celery. Because of that increase, I upped the liquid to 1.5 times what it calls for... so 4.5 cups broth and 1.5 cups half and half. I used 6 pieces of bacon and added it, plus 1 cup of cheddar cheese, when I put in the cream (instead of having it as a garish). After all the cheese was melted, I pureed about 2 cups of the soup to thicken it up a little, then I let it all cook together on low for about an hour before eating. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Lobster Tails

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Came out perfect.. I basted with olive oil due to dairy allergy.. added just a touch of garlic salt rather than regular salt..sprinkled a little smokey paprika.. Wonderful! I needed about 12 minutes due to the size and also I had the oven rack down two from the element.. that way the lobster cooked evenly and did not brown too much on top. The lobster meat was pulled from the shell (still partially attached) sitting on top of the shell to cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Low Carb Flavored Meringue Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I just made these, with a couple of small changes; I didn't have sugar free gelatin mix, so one batch I used instant decafe coffee, then made a second batch - divided in half...one half I added fresh grated tangelo (like an orange) rhind, then the second half of the batch, I used poppy seeds and pure almond extract to replace the gelatin flavoring. The batters were delish, still waiting on them coming out of the oven, I can hardly wait to try them cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Burton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This is my go to Spanish Rice recipe! I always add a little more onions then the recipe calls for, just because we like onions in my house. Also, I don't cook the onion first.... I throw them in at the same time I'm browning the rice. The first few times I made this recipe I did it with cooking the onions first, but by the time the rice was done browning the onions would be burnt. Otherwise the recipe is perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sauce Rosee

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This is a great recipe! I added beef bacon pieces and smoked salmon. I had to substitute in sour cream for the heavy cream because I was out. Then, I poured it over a 7 cheese tortellini. It was a HUGE HIT!! Served with a fresh salad for a quick & easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

French Toast Bake

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
GLUTEN FREE DAIRY FREE OPTION ...Excellent. used gluten free cinnamon bagels, dairy free butter and Almond milk. I didn't have time to leave it overnight, but it was wonderful baked the same morning. I actually cooked the blueberries in it for the full time accidentally and they came out plump and delicious. I've made this twice now with requests for more..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Salmon II

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Yes! This is really fabulous. My family's new favorite salmon recipe. We have a bunch of fresh caught humpy salmon. I just cut the whole (gutted of course) fish into large pieces and put in ziploc bag with marinade for about 4 hours and then baked. Wonderful flavor, but not too overpowering. I want to taste the salmon too! Next time I'll likely try to marinade 6 or 8 hours and see what the difference is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Wave Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Really flavorful and soft! I added about 1/4- 1/3 cup extra zucchini. Also, I didn't have mini chocolate chips so I processed normal sized ones in my food processor. Worked out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish White Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Delicious! Made the dough in the bread maker, then put it into 2 bread pans, let rise again for a hour, then cooked in the oven. Very light, fluffy, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA

Zucchini Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I made this yesterday exactly as printed- but added 1/2 chopped walnuts (which is rare for me not to tweak it as printed typically!). It was amazing. I agree that it is 4 star without the frosting, and 5 star with. The frosting came out amazing too! Even my picky husband and children were in love. This is my new favorite brownie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Zucchini Bake

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Cut recipe in half and used a 9x13 glass dish. For the onion we mixed green, red and yellow onions equaling ½ an onion. The Chicken breast was sauté with the onion mixture, 6 ounces of Canadian bacon finely minced and ¼ TSP of fresh garlic. Zucchini was then added along with 12 oz condensed cream of mushroom soup. Cooked the ingredients together for 5 minutes. Reduced the amount of Mozzarella sprinkled on top to 6 oz. Put in the refrigerator over night for dinner the following day. A bit disappointed inside was good but very runny. If I make it again I will reduce the amount of zucchini in half and use a 1/4 the amount of mushroom base. This would be a good recipe for a chicken pot pie type application with the refrigerated crescent roll dough on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smoked Oyster Spread

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Yumm.. Made this for a quick lunch. Added a little mayo as suggested by another review. Also added a chopped scallion and used Tamari soy sauce rather than worchester (because of allergy) I also found that using my small food processor made this a snap to make and the texture was just perfect for my purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbequed Ribs

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Made these tonight and they were great. I did one thing a little differently.. put the rub on the ribs before baking.. wrapped in foil and baked at 300 for 2 hours.. then opened the foil and after straining off some of the fat, basted with sauce, turned up the heat to 350 for about 12-15 minutes. I was a bit rushed for time or I would have grilled them.. They came out moist, fall off the bone, cut with a fork tender. The flavor was to die for.. Got home at 3:30pm.. Had an amazing meal on the table before 6:00pm... Didn't know a man and a teenager could eat a whole rack that large, along with salad, beans and rolls... Where do they put it???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mimi's Smoked Salmon Chowder

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Just finished making a batch with some smoked salmon that a friend's husband caught and that I was lucky to receive. This is a flavorful chowder that's hearty enough for a rainy Seattle day. I did add three bacon strips chopped up very small, in with the butter and olive oil and the other ingredients at the beginning and it really gave a little more boost to the already flavorful broth. Very easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3KIDS4SAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States