Gig Harbor - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Scalloped Potatoes and Onions

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I cut the recipe to only 2 servings for my husband and I and it still came out great! I have been looking for a good scallop potato recipe..most of the ones I have made from scratch come out with little flavor or too watery..something about the mayonnaise gives it that great flavor and consistency! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deirdrejayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This was just okay..sort of too salty sweet and I agree with some of the other readers, didn't really caramelize. I don't like wings..not enough meat so I used chicken thighs. Don't know if that made a difference..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deirdrejayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Caesar Salad Supreme, Kiesa's Version

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
WONDERFUL! Tweaking included twice the fresh lemon juice and changing the 3/4 c mayo to a halfed homemade mayo and nonfat greek yogurt, thereby cutting more fat calories. We added a little more anchovie paste too. WONDERFUL and fresh. Oh, and I made my croutons by toasting some sourdough bread with a light brushing of butter and fresh garlic instead of doing the croutons they way they were described in the recipe. Sooooo much better than store-bought Caesar dressing (and much healthier!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiersten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Caesar Salad Supreme

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
WONDERFUL! Tweaking included twice the fresh lemon juice and changing the 3/4 c mayo to a halfed homemade mayo and nonfat greek yogurt, thereby cutting more fat calories. We added a little more anchovie paste too. WONDERFUL and fresh. Oh, and I made my croutons by toasting some sourdough bread with a light brushing of butter and fresh garlic instead of doing the croutons they way they were described in the recipe. Sooooo much better than store-bought Caesar dressing (and much healthier!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiersten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Italian Peas

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
4 1/2! Very good! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slammin' Salmon

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I choose this recipe for a last minute party at my house. I was nervous because I had never cooked salmon before and I didn't have time to marinate. I made the marinade, replacing sesame & peanut oil with olive oil. I poured it over the salmon fillets in a tinfoil pouch and placed it on the grill. I did not turn the fillets during cooking. It was the best salmon I had ever had. My guests raved, comparing it to an orchestra of flavors. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Photo by katiecanbake

Chilaquiles II

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
After having a Mexican student make this for the class, I had to find out how to make it. This recipe was closest to how she said her mom made it. It was good, but I even cut down on the tortillas to 10, and it was too many. I used El Pato for the sauce because the student said that was what her mom uses. I also think next time I might try tortilla chips instead of the regular tortillas because I want more crunch. Still tasty, and helps me to try to replicate the yummy food my student brought in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA

Easy French Dip Sandwiches

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Tasty sandwiches, like what I had growing up. Definitely a favorite in my household now! We used swiss cheese since that's what my fiancee prefers but still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA
Photo by katiecanbake

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Was pretty easy to make, but lacked flavor. There is no spice to it! My normal recipe uses cinnamon and nutmeg to make it tastier, and I think that this one is lacking that. I was disappointed and will be going back to my original pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA

Crispy Turnip 'Fries'

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Delicious while they are hot, but not so good when they cool off. I'd also suggest trying chili powder instead of the paprika. My entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Burton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Pumpkin Cookies III

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
We loved these! I did however, use 1/2 cup of butter and 1/2 cup apple sauce as others suggested to cut down on the fat and they were excellent! Thank you for recipe and thanks to those who made the suggestion of lower fat. You would not have known the difference! (They didn't need to be frosted either!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Raspberry Oatmeal Cookie Bars

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Wow! This is replacing my former Raspberry Bar recipe that was very similar, but didn't have the right quantities. Mine turned out golden and perfect! I added the 1 tea. cinnamon that others had suggested and I'm glad. Next time I will try adding a bit of lemon zest to the jam, and using whole wheat pastry flour sub for 1/2 the flour. Minor changes to play around with it. This recipe is really excellent and made as-is is a solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Chimichangas with Green Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Made exactly as directed. These were Awesome and, strange as this may sound, even better eaten cold for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Pork Scaloppini with Mustard Creme

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Modified this recipe after reading comments. Doubled the sauce recipe, adding twice the lime juice and leaving out the allspice. I added other seasoning I like instead. I used a red wine instead of Vermouth because that's what I had. I also added Panko to my flour. Served over noodles. IT WAS AWESOME! I will be coming back to this recipe many more times! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Chicken and Apple Curry

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I love this recipe and so easy! I decreased the amount of chicken to only 4 pieces, used boneless skinless thighs CUT UP instead of breasts (they are cheaper), doubled the amount of curry and served over steamed jasmine rice..yummy. By decreasing the amount of chicken it made it more saucy, which tasted great and soaked up the rice. This tasted like a recipe from a Thai or Indian restaurant! Great! You could also provide a little color by adding some chopped green onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deirdrejayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Sugar Coated Pecans

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Amazing! I went with the following review suggestions: 2 egg whites, instead of 1 Tbs. Water, use 2 tea. water + 1 tea. vanilla, 1 tea. cinnamon. Also, I loved using one bowl for everything and just adding the sugar in three or four parts and mixing in. These are PERFECT as stated above. Next time I am going to try parchment paper (my pan was a hard coated mess after) and also maybe adding a little more aromatic spices like 1/4 tea. cloves and 1/4 tea. allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I cooked Salmon and Ribs for a party last night.. had 12 filets and none were left.. I can't tell you what they tasted like, I didn't get any... based on that, I'm giving 4 stars.. I used olive oil rather than butter.. Made 6 racks of Ribs too and any leftovers were taken by my guests.. Either, everyone was really hungry, or I'm a heck of a good cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Taste was good, but recipe didn't mention draining off juices.. sauce was diluted to broth.. too bad it would have been better a little thicker, and I didn't have time to put it in a pan and reduce it to a thicker consistency. Also, cooking time is a little off.. I cooked for 30 min, then added remainder of sauce and cooked for only 15 more minutes. My husband liked them, but I found the pork chops to be too dry.. Next time I will only cook for 30 minutes..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Potato Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I know y'all don't like it when people modify the recipe a ton and rate it, but we really enjoyed this with the changes we made. I halved the basil and added 1/4 tsp thyme as others suggested. I doubled all the veggies and added celery. Because of that increase, I upped the liquid to 1.5 times what it calls for... so 4.5 cups broth and 1.5 cups half and half. I used 6 pieces of bacon and added it, plus 1 cup of cheddar cheese, when I put in the cream (instead of having it as a garish). After all the cheese was melted, I pureed about 2 cups of the soup to thicken it up a little, then I let it all cook together on low for about an hour before eating. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Lobster Tails

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Came out perfect.. I basted with olive oil due to dairy allergy.. added just a touch of garlic salt rather than regular salt..sprinkled a little smokey paprika.. Wonderful! I needed about 12 minutes due to the size and also I had the oven rack down two from the element.. that way the lobster cooked evenly and did not brown too much on top. The lobster meat was pulled from the shell (still partially attached) sitting on top of the shell to cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States