Gig Harbor - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Greek Pasta Salad I

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Turned out wonderful. Added another 1/4 cup aged balsalmic to go with the red vinegar. It just needed an extra kick. Added 1/2 tsp. of salt too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Becel® Holiday Butternut Squash with Apple and Cranberries

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Early fall puts us in the mood for winter squash and this recipe is very tasty! I found cubed butternut squash for an unbeatable price and needed a way to use it. I followed the recipe closely and it was excellent! I pureed the leftovers, added grilled chicken chunks, brown rice, and chicken stock and had a wonderful seasonal soup! I’ll keep this as a go to recipe for winter squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJBeachGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Ocean Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I omitted brown sugar because I was already using a hickory and brown sugar bbq sauce, and didn't want it too sweet. It was perfect that way! For dinner we put the chicken on Hawaiian sweet rolls with some heated up french fried onions. So good! Following day we used the leftovers to make bbq chicken salads for lunch, which was also good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Soy Lemon Chops

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Maybe I used the wrong type Pork Chops (didn't specify cut in recipe) but it came out dry and a little too salty. I used thinner cut.. Maybe if they had more fat on them it would have tasted better. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deirdrejayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Pumpkin Muffins with Streusel Topping

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I made these tonight so there would be a yummy breakfast waiting for the family first thing in the morning. They did not disappoint! I didn't see the need for applesauce too, so I just subbed 1/2 addtl pumpkin puree, used 2/3 cup organic extra virgin coconut oil instead of the veggie oil, and used 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour instead of 1/2 c. regular flour. I also used 2 extra large goose eggs instead (goose and duck eggs are amazingly superior in baked goods!). Finally, I added 1/4 c. shopped pecans and 1/4 c. pumpkin seeds (I just happened to have on hand) to the streusel. The recipe made 22 very full muffin cups and one batch of topping covered all of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pat's Mushroom Saute

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I found the exact same recipe at blogchef.net.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albion, New York, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by coldbluegrace

Lavender Ice Cream

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I followed this recipes directions exactly using our farm fresh raw goats milk in place of both the milk and heavy cream called for in it. I used our duck egg yolks and used the full amount of sugar. This ice cream was absolutely wonderful! It was refreshing. My kids felt it tasted a lot like fruit loops of all things. They loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Boston Baked Beans

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Not huge baked bean fans in our family so I thought I'd try a scratch recipe....I hit the right one FOR SURE!! I rarely use canned beans for anything because they are so easy(yet time consuming) to prepare and they haven't been stored for months in TIN... SOOO I made the recipe EXACTLY as written except I did not have Navy beans(I used pintos) or Worcestershire so I used A1 instead, and I forgot to save the bean cooking liquid( I used a small amount of water) THESE turned out AMAZING!! I do like the sauce thick so I removed the lid and baked the last 45 min or so, they came out not mushy nicely thickened and DELICIOUS!! I will NEVER buy canned BBQ beans EVER!! Take the time to cook an absolutely amazing recipe for your friends and family this summer, their smiles and the empty pot at the end will warm your heart !!! I would rate this 10 stars if possible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carridawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Burrito Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Sounds good but leave the rice out of it, use more beans or soy crumbles instead and use corn tortillas instead of flour.-if you must use rice use something other than white rice. Thanks for an other wise healthier mexican favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deirdrejayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
These are WONDERFUL cookies!!! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Burton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Easy Pizza Sauce III

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Loved it! Made the additions of the top rated review person and it's perfect! Oh, and I had enough to cover 2 large and 2 mediumish Boboli crusts- enough leftover to cover probably 2 more large ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
So delicious! We made this for Christmas morning, my family was asking for it again for Easter (although they'd love it for just about any weekend brunch!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Burton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Salsa Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Had the grandkids(4) over for dinner.. from 4yr to 14yr.. They didn't think the dish looked good, but said they'd try it.. After a small taste, all asked for seconds, some wanted thirds.. They all decided they wanted to take the recipe home to "mom".. Cooked 6 thighs.. none left.. served with tortillas, black beans, corn and rice... All Gone! I'll keep this recipe for future use.. BTW... I didn't get any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kielbasa with Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This recipe is good. I did add a jar of marinara, a small can of tomato paste, pepper flakes and served with fresh garlic bread. My husband couldn't stop raving about this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Spiral Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This salad is a good base to explorer all kinds of vegetable mixes. I doubled the dressing recipe to get a good coverage for the whole box of noodles I prepared. I added diced peppers, diakon root, olives, shredded carrots and some dubliner cheese. It was great! Suggest you make 12 hours ahead to let flavors mingle...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Baked Three Cheese Eggplant

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I am in love with this recipe! I did add a spicy fresh chorizo sausage to the spinach mix. I also substituted diced can tomato with green chilies for the fresh tomatoes (be sure to drain). I didn't have ricotta cheese so I just added pepper jack as the third cheese. This recipe ROCKED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Chicken Pho Recipe

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Great basic recipe and very easy.. I needed to change it a bit to make it work for my diet.. used vegtable stock instead of chicken stock.. used halved large prawns instead of cooked chicken... added just a bit of fresh ginger and topped with fresh cilantro when serving.. To keep the recipe Gluten Free, I used the noodles I had on hand, which were sweet potato noodles from Korea.. Rice noodles would have worked nicely if I'd had some.. I will make this again and again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

BLT Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Amazing Dip.. by using non-dairy sour cream, I was able to make this for my Lactose Intolerant friends.. I added chopped scallions, salt and pepper and substituted well drained roi-tel for the tomato to add a little spice...then just before serving folded in the crisp bacon pieces .. As I mentioned earlier... Amazing Dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bullajabbar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Robbi's M&M Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
These are SO tasty! I have made them a couple of times for students who have done things they need to and they enjoy them as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States