Gig Harbor - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Alex Chandler

The Perfect Basic Burger

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Just made this for dinner, I made a whole pound thinking I could eat a half pound burger, but now I have to GLADLY save the other half for tomorrow! I also made another one for my friend who eats a bit more than me, and he gobbled down his burger! Tip! When making this stir in the bread crumbs last, I made the mistake of mixing them in prior to mixing the meat, and it was too thick (but I also live in a dry climate, so if that happens to you, add a little water after mixing in the meat, like a teaspoon, and that should fix everything)! Great recipe! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex Chandler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Vegan Pancakes

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
SO good! Added mashed banana, cinnamon, some homemade vanilla. I used raw sugar as some others did. Also substituted almond milk for the water. These are wonderful. These will be our pancakes from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiersten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Chili Rellenos Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
MAJOR MODIFICATION BUT EXCELLENT!!! I blanched 3 poblano peppers for 3 minutes, cut into strips and used instead of canned chili peppers. I added an entire can of Evaporated milk (12oz instead of 5oz). Used 4 tablespoon flour and 4 eggs. Mixed enchilada sauce dry mix with a 24oz can of tomato sauce and added jalapenos & cheese on top, as suggested by others. This was really good with the modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Frogmore Stew

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Can't go wrong with anything you do.. just don't overcook the shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

4 ingrd. Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
My kids ( and their friends ) LOVE these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Burton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Moussaka Cottage Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I changed the recipe bit due to Gluten and dairy allergies, but found it very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar Snap Peas

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Made this tonight and everyone agreed.. best snap peas ever.. I didn't have shallots, so used chopped sweet onion.. I also added a tiny bit of chopped roasted garlic. Put everything (except salt) in a ziplock bag.. shook it up to evenly season.. after spreading on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet, I added the salt and baked for 8min.. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetable Dill Dip

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I have a dairy allergy, so used non-dairy sour cream and also substituted OLD BAY (because it is made up of the basic spices in Beau Monde) everything else was as written.. Excellent Dip for fresh vegetables .. also pretty good on a baked potato ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Made this last night. I made 1 1/2 batches for my family of 6. Perfect amount! Really awesome flavor. I added just a dash of salt. Otherwise followed recipe exactly. It was PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage, Egg and Chile Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
My family had excellent things to say. I did increase the eggs to 6 total. Otherwise, followed recipe exactly as written using my regular white bread. Served with a green tomato salsa,sour cream and a side of country style hashbrowns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I am still going to give this bread a 5 star rating even though it wasn't my favorite. My husband loved it. It is moist and good. Doesn't have the strong banana flavor I like and I like it bit spicy. So I think I could spice it up a bit. Otherwise it was a good banana bread for sure! (I made it exactly as the recipe said but may spices next time!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
absolutely wonderful! I used fresh squeezed lime juice, a bit more Himalayan salt, half the olive oil, and threw in a few cloves of fresh crushed garlic = spectacular! Super Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiersten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Gary's Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I didn't care for these. I thought they would be creamy and have a good crab flavor (I used real, canned crab). They weren't creamy and there were rather bland (couldn't even taste the crab), even with drizzled butter and parmesan baked on top. I won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiersten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Special Banana Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I really made a lot of banana bread with this recipe and I didn't change a thing! It was moist yet dense and that is what I love about it! It has a lot of bananas in it and the spices make it really delish!! I tried another one on here that used sour cream and it was moist and good, although my family still liked it, it was not as much banana or spicy flavor nor the denseness to it. I prefer this one best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Christmas Rolls

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
5 stars isn't enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Burton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
very yummy, I made a double batch and got 4 dozen muffins. only problem I had was running out of the streusel about halfway through, but that usually happens with me and streusel :) the only thing I changed was that I added some quick oats to the streusel (about 1/2 cup, more or less). this was an attempt to make it go further, but it also made a yummy little crunch! oh, and I added a few dashes of cinnamon into the batter, too :) om nom nom....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Flavored Liqueur

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Mushroom Spaghetti Squash

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Not having ever used spaghetti squash in a similar way, I gave this recipe a go. I ended up baking the squash whole after poking some holes in a 375 degree oven for about 80 mins. I had some time, and this way the hard outer layer softens and you don't have to fight with it =) (Also, reserve the seeds to toast later if you want!) My very picky husband who loathes squash gave this a solid 7.5 stars/10 possible. I also upped the spices a bit (more garlic and salt) and added some cooked chicken pieces. I will make this again! I did not have too much sauce at all, but my squash was on the larger side. I found that I needed to add a bit of water to thin the sauce just a tad because it was so thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I mistakenly made these pancakes rather than the "Fluffy Pancakes" that I made before and loved, but found them to be just as good for a simpler recipe! I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Pasta Salad I

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Turned out wonderful. Added another 1/4 cup aged balsalmic to go with the red vinegar. It just needed an extra kick. Added 1/2 tsp. of salt too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States