Gig Harbor - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Frogmore Stew

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Can't go wrong with anything you do.. just don't overcook the shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

4 ingrd. Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
My kids ( and their friends ) LOVE these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Burton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Moussaka Cottage Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I changed the recipe bit due to Gluten and dairy allergies, but found it very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar Snap Peas

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Made this tonight and everyone agreed.. best snap peas ever.. I didn't have shallots, so used chopped sweet onion.. I also added a tiny bit of chopped roasted garlic. Put everything (except salt) in a ziplock bag.. shook it up to evenly season.. after spreading on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet, I added the salt and baked for 8min.. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetable Dill Dip

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I have a dairy allergy, so used non-dairy sour cream and also substituted OLD BAY (because it is made up of the basic spices in Beau Monde) everything else was as written.. Excellent Dip for fresh vegetables .. also pretty good on a baked potato ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Made this last night. I made 1 1/2 batches for my family of 6. Perfect amount! Really awesome flavor. I added just a dash of salt. Otherwise followed recipe exactly. It was PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage, Egg and Chile Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
My family had excellent things to say. I did increase the eggs to 6 total. Otherwise, followed recipe exactly as written using my regular white bread. Served with a green tomato salsa,sour cream and a side of country style hashbrowns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
absolutely wonderful! I used fresh squeezed lime juice, a bit more Himalayan salt, half the olive oil, and threw in a few cloves of fresh crushed garlic = spectacular! Super Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiersten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Gary's Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I didn't care for these. I thought they would be creamy and have a good crab flavor (I used real, canned crab). They weren't creamy and there were rather bland (couldn't even taste the crab), even with drizzled butter and parmesan baked on top. I won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiersten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Christmas Rolls

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
5 stars isn't enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Burton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
very yummy, I made a double batch and got 4 dozen muffins. only problem I had was running out of the streusel about halfway through, but that usually happens with me and streusel :) the only thing I changed was that I added some quick oats to the streusel (about 1/2 cup, more or less). this was an attempt to make it go further, but it also made a yummy little crunch! oh, and I added a few dashes of cinnamon into the batter, too :) om nom nom....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Flavored Liqueur

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Mushroom Spaghetti Squash

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Not having ever used spaghetti squash in a similar way, I gave this recipe a go. I ended up baking the squash whole after poking some holes in a 375 degree oven for about 80 mins. I had some time, and this way the hard outer layer softens and you don't have to fight with it =) (Also, reserve the seeds to toast later if you want!) My very picky husband who loathes squash gave this a solid 7.5 stars/10 possible. I also upped the spices a bit (more garlic and salt) and added some cooked chicken pieces. I will make this again! I did not have too much sauce at all, but my squash was on the larger side. I found that I needed to add a bit of water to thin the sauce just a tad because it was so thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I mistakenly made these pancakes rather than the "Fluffy Pancakes" that I made before and loved, but found them to be just as good for a simpler recipe! I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Pasta Salad I

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Turned out wonderful. Added another 1/4 cup aged balsalmic to go with the red vinegar. It just needed an extra kick. Added 1/2 tsp. of salt too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Becel® Holiday Butternut Squash with Apple and Cranberries

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Early fall puts us in the mood for winter squash and this recipe is very tasty! I found cubed butternut squash for an unbeatable price and needed a way to use it. I followed the recipe closely and it was excellent! I pureed the leftovers, added grilled chicken chunks, brown rice, and chicken stock and had a wonderful seasonal soup! I’ll keep this as a go to recipe for winter squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJBeachGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Ocean Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I omitted brown sugar because I was already using a hickory and brown sugar bbq sauce, and didn't want it too sweet. It was perfect that way! For dinner we put the chicken on Hawaiian sweet rolls with some heated up french fried onions. So good! Following day we used the leftovers to make bbq chicken salads for lunch, which was also good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Soy Lemon Chops

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Maybe I used the wrong type Pork Chops (didn't specify cut in recipe) but it came out dry and a little too salty. I used thinner cut.. Maybe if they had more fat on them it would have tasted better. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deirdrejayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Pumpkin Muffins with Streusel Topping

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I made these tonight so there would be a yummy breakfast waiting for the family first thing in the morning. They did not disappoint! I didn't see the need for applesauce too, so I just subbed 1/2 addtl pumpkin puree, used 2/3 cup organic extra virgin coconut oil instead of the veggie oil, and used 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour instead of 1/2 c. regular flour. I also used 2 extra large goose eggs instead (goose and duck eggs are amazingly superior in baked goods!). Finally, I added 1/4 c. shopped pecans and 1/4 c. pumpkin seeds (I just happened to have on hand) to the streusel. The recipe made 22 very full muffin cups and one batch of topping covered all of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bev's Chocolate Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I thought this was great, very simple and it turned out well for me. I'm not a huge fan of chocolate, but even with adding an extra tbsp of cocoa (after consulting with my 5y.o. niece) it wasn't too strong or too sweet. I didn't feel like making a pie crust so I used a simple shortbread crust and it complimented it nicely. Not having to roll out dough is always a plus :) Otherwise I followed the directions exactly, and the texture was awesome, very smooth and creamy, but not a pudding. Due to my own inexperience I had some problems with the meringue, but I've done my research and I know what I did wrong, and I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States