Gig Harbor - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Irish Whiskey Flat Iron Steak

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Didn't have whiskey .. used a little red wine and it was fantastic.. Reduced and served excess marinade as a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dairy and Gluten-Free 'Buttermilk Pancakes'

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
These were light and fluffy.. I used coconut oil, Almond milk and added fresh blueberries.. They were perfect. Great basic recipe to make your own version of perfection. Also, I didn't have yoghurt, so used a little dairy free sour cream..it worked fine. I think this recipe can be adjusted to what you have on hand and still come out just fine. I gave 4 stars for flexibility...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentil Salad with a Persian Twist

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Excellent! I have to admit to a couple of changes due to dietary requirements. I did not use canned lentils..I cooked my own to the tenderness I prefer and I used scallions instead of red onions. This is a perfect summer salad..great for picnics and suitable for a vegan or gluten free diet..I will make this again and again.. maybe trying different salad dressings each time.. I'm a bit adventuresome..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maui Wowie Shrimp

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
after reading other reviews, I ended up over seasoning .. still excellent, but next time I won't be quite so heavy handed.. I added some Old Bay Seafood Seasoning and it definitely added flavor.. Served with Pineapple Fried Rice and there was nothing left.. The original recipe as written would be very good, but cooking for my family requires a little extra seasoning..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Shrimp Tacos

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I accidentally added a little cilantro by mistake..thought it was cumin..So,we had a cilantro/cumin seasoning. Not sure it made a difference, but these shrimp were excellent.. Sometimes mistakes turn out well….
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cedar Planked Salmon with Dill

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Followed the directions and it came out perfect.. Yes, I had extra sauce.. so served it on the side.. My guests put it on the grilled asparagus and I think possibly even the bread.. It was that good! Have made it twice so far and will make it again.. One of my favorites grilled salmon recipes.. We have salmon a lot here in the Pacific Northwest…. Just made it again and this time I was a little heavy handed on the dijon mustard..It was still very good, but the sauce can easily overwhelm the delicate flavor of the salmon.. Be careful..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tater Tot Casserole III

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
just made this, it's really good but I gave it 4 stars because of the things I changed. I left out all the butter, only had about 8oz of sour cream on hand and a cup of grated cheese. I was surprised that there was no actual meat in the recipe so I boiled 2 large chicken breasts and shredded them up to add with the tots. I also sauteed the onion and added cayenne instead of paprika since my husband likes things spicy. He loves it, and the spice is not too bad for me (I'm a wimp). I topped it off with more grated cheese that hubby brought home, threw it under the broiler, and huzzah! Totally making this again. It's really good, I like it with a bit of ketchup, and I would probably add some bacon and call it a breakfast casserole :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa Crepes

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I added strawberries and used coconut oil to grease the pan. They were delicious! ...And easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anny

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Cordon Bleu Sandwich

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
So, this is going to sound a little weird, but I just made this into a casserole. My kitchen is almost bare, but I had chicken breasts and my husband loves chicken cordon bleu, so I decided to try and cobble something together. Hubby gave it a "very good" so I thought I'd share! I followed the directions, for the most part, but I only had Buddig ham sandwich meat and some Irish cheddar or something (the wrapper is gone, so I'm not sure. It was just a very sharp cheese!). I doubled the recipe and used panko bread crumbs with the butter as a base in a 7x11 glass pan, chopped chicken next, and then my crazy ham & cheese mixture. As I said, I followed the directions, but didn't have Dijon so I mixed some yellow mustard with a bit of dry mustard. I poured/spooned the mix over the chicken and topped it off with another layer of panko, and in the oven it went! I like it fairly well myself, but I have a low spice tolerance so I'd probably do a little less mustard next time, and I admittedly went a little crazy with the panko XD but overall it's a success, more than just edible, and I definitely want to have it with french bread and "real" ham sometime!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Batter White Bread

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I was so glad to find this recipe, it is such a blessing! I have no mixer, no bread machine, and needed to work with very limited ingredients. This fit the bill perfectly. I followed the recipe, but I think I rushed it a bit and it could have risen a touch longer. As some other reviewers mentioned, my bread browned very quickly and I actually turned the oven off for the last ten minutes. I cut into a warm loaf and had a couple slices with butter and honey: awesome! I want to try using oil and less salt, as some reviews mentioned, and I might try wheat flour too. Overall I'm thinking this will replace store-bought bread for my family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Bake II

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This recipe, in it's self was fairly plain but good. To make it a heartier meal my family would enjoy, I added beans, onions, jalapenos, hot sauce, olives & rice. It was absolutely great with the additions but now where near the same recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Michelle's Marvelous Mini Meat Loaves

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Just made this! I made a few changes: I sauteed the onion, and and added some minced garlic too. I put a couple dashes of soy sauce and Worcestershire sauce, and put the loaves in a muffin tin :) I'm really, really happy with the results! The only problem I had was that I put a little too much of the sauce on top of the first tin load, so there wasn't enough for all of them. But they taste amaaaaaazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dublin Coddle

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I boil the meat (I use sausage and smoked pork chops) in cider first and then layer the meat, onion, thinly sliced carrots and thinly sliced potatoes in several layers. Then pour in the cider, cover and simmer for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baba Ghanoush

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Didn't love it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I have made a lot of cookies over the years. This is the best recipe even though it does not look very different at first. Our family did a blind taste test and this one won hands down. I will never go back. Here are a few pointers to keep them from spreading- more chips is not better- it thins the dough too much so the cookies spread as there is nothing to hold on to, round the dough in large balls and chill over night, then bake on chilled cookie sheets. Re-chill cookie sheets in between batches, place in middle rack, one pan at a time. Use sil pats. DO not OVERBAKE! Use a timer- chilled dough balls take about 11.5 minutes, pull when you think they need a few more seconds to get rid of the wet dough look in the center of the cookie- they will continue to cook, trust me. You want them to be pale as they will brown a bit while they cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Scones

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
My first try at making scones, and it went great! I used the beckygentile variation because I had chocolate chips, and more sour cream and sugar sounded good to me! I doubled the batch and just used a whole bag of regular chips instead of minis. I didn't need to flour the surface I put the dough on, and actually had a little pile of flour left over in the bowl, so I'll probably do scant cups next time. The texture was amazing with the extra sour cream and I can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsEngstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Beer Can Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I omitted the salt, used CABELA'S Open Season Roasted Garlic and Beer seasoning salt. Minced onion flakes because I didn't have onion powder...as with most everyone else, the timing was way off. I have been cooking long enough to know 'size of bird' 'type of oven' 'temp of chicken when inserted into oven' etc. all take part in the duration..I still believe the time is way off. I can't give you an exact science as to how far off, due to the fact that so many contributing factors go into this. I would highly recommend turning on the oven light and keeping an eye on her. I also separated the skin from the breast, poured beer down between breast and skin..also patted seasoning mix under skin, on the breast. This is fantastic. My husband is not one to give compliments unless he means it. This one went to work with him.:-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Spirit Lake, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Outback Onion Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I added chantrelle mushrooms & broccoli to the soup during the onion boiling stage. I added 3/4 cup of orozo and used a can of condenced milk instead of heavy cream. It was absolutely awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Glazed Meatloaf I

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This is really good with ground pork. Add a pkg. of Lipton onion soup mix and occasionally use Lime juice if I am out of Lemon. I add a few more slices of bread too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
This recipe was great! Rave reviews from the family. I used a pre-roasted Costco chicken and just added to the cooked onions before simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States