Gig Harbor - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Maybe I should review this in the morning...B-) Amazing! I just told hubby "This is pretty good isn't it?" with a twinkle in his eyes as he looked into his mug, he smiled and simply stated, "I wasn't going to say anything. Didn't want this one to go to your head." That's his way of saying "well done." :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Spirit Lake, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Good recipe! I prefer to tenderize meat a little more. Hubby gave it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This is almost exactly the same recipe given to me by by German mother in law years ago.. Only difference is instead of butter, she cuts small pieces of bacon and the bacon fat is the oli.. I made this recipe, but can't get away from the bacon.. This is one of my favorite side dishes and is often requested by many of my friends..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Squasage (Sausage-stuffed Squash)

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
.. I made this dairy free, using lactose free cheese and sour cream.. It came out wonderful. I baked the squash one day, refrigerated overnight and cooked the filling the next morning..following the directions from that point.. The filling in the center of each half of the squash was not fully cooked..the egg mixture was still liquid.. Maybe it was the fact that the squash was cold when it went into the oven.. I ended up microwaving the halves until the centers were fully cooked.. I would suggest maybe bringing the squash back to room temperature before filling and baking..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Tomato Tortellini

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I tried upgrading it with chicken, pepper flakes, sauteed onions...nothing really revived this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Basil Shrimp

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I followed the recipe, cutting the amount of mustard down as suggested by another review.. Grilled both large sea scallops and giant prawns.. They were equally amazing and it would be hard to say which was best.. For someone not familiar with grilling scallops…they can be a bit tricky and it is easy to overcook..They cook faster than prawns, so remove when they are a bit undercooked..they will continue to cook on their own while the prawns finish..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Grilled Potatoes

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I sliced my potatoes I about 1 inch rounds.. Microwaved per recipe.. Marinated in a oil, salt pepper, paprika, onion salt..and an additional spice that compliment that nights meal... (I use this recipe often) I grill on med high heat, turning often until I have golden brown grill marks and a somewhat crispy skin. Serve immediately with main course.. These can be warmed in the oven next day.. Microwave will not crisp them, if that is your goal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Whiskey Flat Iron Steak

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Didn't have whiskey .. used a little red wine and it was fantastic.. Reduced and served excess marinade as a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dairy and Gluten-Free 'Buttermilk Pancakes'

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
These were light and fluffy.. I used coconut oil, Almond milk and added fresh blueberries.. They were perfect. Great basic recipe to make your own version of perfection. Also, I didn't have yoghurt, so used a little dairy free sour cream..it worked fine. I think this recipe can be adjusted to what you have on hand and still come out just fine. I gave 4 stars for flexibility...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentil Salad with a Persian Twist

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Excellent! I have to admit to a couple of changes due to dietary requirements. I did not use canned lentils..I cooked my own to the tenderness I prefer and I used scallions instead of red onions. This is a perfect summer salad..great for picnics and suitable for a vegan or gluten free diet..I will make this again and again.. maybe trying different salad dressings each time.. I'm a bit adventuresome..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maui Wowie Shrimp

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
after reading other reviews, I ended up over seasoning .. still excellent, but next time I won't be quite so heavy handed.. I added some Old Bay Seafood Seasoning and it definitely added flavor.. Served with Pineapple Fried Rice and there was nothing left.. The original recipe as written would be very good, but cooking for my family requires a little extra seasoning..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Shrimp Tacos

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I accidentally added a little cilantro by mistake..thought it was cumin..So,we had a cilantro/cumin seasoning. Not sure it made a difference, but these shrimp were excellent.. Sometimes mistakes turn out well….
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cedar Planked Salmon with Dill

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Followed the directions and it came out perfect.. Yes, I had extra sauce.. so served it on the side.. My guests put it on the grilled asparagus and I think possibly even the bread.. It was that good! Have made it twice so far and will make it again.. One of my favorites grilled salmon recipes.. We have salmon a lot here in the Pacific Northwest…. Just made it again and this time I was a little heavy handed on the dijon mustard..It was still very good, but the sauce can easily overwhelm the delicate flavor of the salmon.. Be careful..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa Crepes

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I added strawberries and used coconut oil to grease the pan. They were delicious! ...And easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anny

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Bake II

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This recipe, in it's self was fairly plain but good. To make it a heartier meal my family would enjoy, I added beans, onions, jalapenos, hot sauce, olives & rice. It was absolutely great with the additions but now where near the same recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Dublin Coddle

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I boil the meat (I use sausage and smoked pork chops) in cider first and then layer the meat, onion, thinly sliced carrots and thinly sliced potatoes in several layers. Then pour in the cider, cover and simmer for about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baba Ghanoush

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Didn't love it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I have made a lot of cookies over the years. This is the best recipe even though it does not look very different at first. Our family did a blind taste test and this one won hands down. I will never go back. Here are a few pointers to keep them from spreading- more chips is not better- it thins the dough too much so the cookies spread as there is nothing to hold on to, round the dough in large balls and chill over night, then bake on chilled cookie sheets. Re-chill cookie sheets in between batches, place in middle rack, one pan at a time. Use sil pats. DO not OVERBAKE! Use a timer- chilled dough balls take about 11.5 minutes, pull when you think they need a few more seconds to get rid of the wet dough look in the center of the cookie- they will continue to cook, trust me. You want them to be pale as they will brown a bit while they cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie Bateman Carlson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Plum Chipotle Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This is amazing! We have a plum tree and this made a fabulous treat. We served it spooned over pork chops. My stepson is in culinary school and shared a jar of it with his instructor, who raved about our efforts! Truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sspersonalstyist

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoquiam, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Beer Can Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I omitted the salt, used CABELA'S Open Season Roasted Garlic and Beer seasoning salt. Minced onion flakes because I didn't have onion powder...as with most everyone else, the timing was way off. I have been cooking long enough to know 'size of bird' 'type of oven' 'temp of chicken when inserted into oven' etc. all take part in the duration..I still believe the time is way off. I can't give you an exact science as to how far off, due to the fact that so many contributing factors go into this. I would highly recommend turning on the oven light and keeping an eye on her. I also separated the skin from the breast, poured beer down between breast and skin..also patted seasoning mix under skin, on the breast. This is fantastic. My husband is not one to give compliments unless he means it. This one went to work with him.:-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Spirit Lake, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States