Edmonds - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I followed the recipe as close as I could based on the ingredients I had on hand, which was pretty close, and this turned out great. The changes I made were that I used 1lb of mild italian sausage instead of ground beef, I added 1/2 cup of diced bell papper, I only had 24oz spagetti sauce, so I added 8oz tomato sauce, 1tsp Italian seasoning, 1/2 tsp oregano,1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp onion powderand 1 tsp corn starch (to thicken sauce). I will definitely make this again. Thanks for a tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Venice, California, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Individual Beef Wellingtons

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Fantastic! Easy and such a beautiful presentation. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaDolceVita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Very tasty as is, but If you have the time and a smoker this can be amazing! First, salt with kosher salt and refrigerate for 24 hours. Next, coat meat with olive oil and rub with dry ingredients, minus black pepper. Also, I like chipotle way better than cayenne. Wrap tightly with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight (yes, that makes two days). Preheat smoker to 165-180 degrees and place cold meat straight from the fridge over active smoke (for this I like roughly 50% oak, 40% cherry and 10% mesquite). Smoke until internal temp reaches 100-105 degrees, then place the meat on the grill over a bed of hot coals. Baste with vinegar sauce. Sear but try not to burn the meat too much. Grill to 130 degrees internal then remove from the grill and hit all sides with a little freshly ground black pepper, tent with foil and let stand for about 5 minutes or so. Slice 1/4 inch thick cross grain. Magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Venice, California, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Frijoles de Olla

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I was going to put up my Hillbilly Pinto recipe until I saw this one. The only difference between this recipe and the one my family has used in the hills of Kentucky for well over a century is that we add a chopped onion in the beginning. If you don't have access to good lard, you can use uncured bacon or fatback and that's tasty too. What I like better about this recipe than most is that they don't soak the beans and throw out the water that contains all of that delicious bean flavor. By the way, if you are going to add anything with salt at the beginning of cooking, you have to soak the beans for at least 8 hours or you will never get them tender. Or... you can follow this recipe and skip the soaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Venice, California, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brussels Sprouts in a Sherry Bacon Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
What a fabulous dish! I cut off some of the fat prior to frying the bacon. I used what was left in which to cook the rest. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaDolceVita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Just made this and can't wait to have it with Thanksgiving dinner! I did cut back the sugar to about 3/4 cup, and I added a cinnamon stick and one vanilla bean, as well. Wow, this will be phenomenal over ice cream at a later date, too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeatleMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caesar Salad Supreme

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Delicious! Will keep this and make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaDolceVita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katiekay79

Pizza Pinwheels

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
My kids (2 & 3) loved these. They were very quick and easy to make. Both kiddos were able to help sprinkle on the cheese and roll 'em up. I did not use pepperoni because they don't like pepperoni. Otherwise, I followed the directions. I will be making these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiekay79
Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Totaly Smert

Apple Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Great recipe. I used granny smith apples and added a couple of tablespoons of cinnamon sugar to the apples before I dumped them in. I also sprinkled some cinnamon sugar on the top before baking. I used room temperature butter instead of melted, and they turned out great. Not beautiful by any means, but sooooo yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Totaly Smert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
We love this sauce! The red pepper makes it spicy enough for flavor, but it's not hot enough to leave your mouth on fire. The honey and other spices combine to give it a nice, full flavor. It's so good, you even don't need toppings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Ricks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This is a good place to start. I had to add more seasoning, the recipe amounts make it bland. I season to taste so I don't have amounts. I added more Cajun seasoning, cayenne pepper, salt and black pepper. I also cooked the seasoning and herbs with the veggies before adding them to the beans. I had an Italian herb and cheese sausage on hand, so I used that. It was good, but does not compare to the classic andouille sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Shields Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Feels light and yet filling. The red pepper flakes really add the flavor. I had some crimini mushrooms around so I sautéed them in butter and tossed them in at the last minute. My husband loved it too. I will be making this easy dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa
Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rum and Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
It's all a matter of preference of course…..but if you like sweet sweet potatoes, most likely you will enjoy this dish. I like this dish a lot but my husband felt it was way too sweet. He felt like he was eating dessert. I used original spiced rum instead of dark rum. I also used 1/2 cup sugar instead of a full cup. Still it was very sweet. When I make it next time, I will try using dark rum and cutting down the sugar to a few tablespoons in the sweet potatoes, since there is so much sugar in the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa
Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
These were soooooooo yummy. I didn't have tomato soup or chili, so I just used enchilada sauce. This was so quick and easy. Will be making this on a regular basis from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Brotherton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Soup with Potatoes and Cream

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I used fresh cilantro to garnish instead of parsley because it's what I had on hand. Tasted wonderful, especially with a good hearty bread for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa
Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Vegetarian Minestrone

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Everyone loved this soup. I couldn't fit the last step into the crockpot, so I switched to a bigger pot on the stove for the final step. Served with a rustic, hearty bread, it is perfect for winter weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa
Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Veggie Lasagna Florentine

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
My family loved this recipe. No changes made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa
Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Layered Chicken and Black Bean Enchilada Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
GREAT recipe! I make this at least once or twice a month. I dice up my chicken, sauté it with some cumin and mix it with the sour cream. After many a dinner with this meal, I've found that brushing the tortillas (corn) and baking them in the oven directly on the racks until brown and crispy provides the best results... not soggy tortillas like I experienced the first time making it. I layer as directed with those few changes and it's amazing. My family loves it. It also freezes well... wrap in plastic wrap and foil and when you're ready to reheat, unwrap, pop in an oiled pyrex pan, cover with foil and bake at 375 for about 45 minutes! Thanks for a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeatleMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I'm used to candied yams during the holidays... you know the ones I'm talking about.. canned yams and marshmallows. It's always been one of my favorite holiday dishes, but this year, I decided to make something a little different for our "Friendsgiving." Wow. This dish was amazing!! I used white sweet potatoes and baked them according to other reviews. I used three large potatoes. I also double the topping and added cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice to it. Again, wow. This was raved about, even the kids loved it! I had more than one person claim me as their new best friend, so I'd say this was a definite winner! Will be making it again for my family Thanksgiving! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeatleMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Perfection,thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Kuhre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States