Edmonds - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This is a good place to start. I had to add more seasoning, the recipe amounts make it bland. I season to taste so I don't have amounts. I added more Cajun seasoning, cayenne pepper, salt and black pepper. I also cooked the seasoning and herbs with the veggies before adding them to the beans. I had an Italian herb and cheese sausage on hand, so I used that. It was good, but does not compare to the classic andouille sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Martini

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Great recipe, with the nice balance of gin and vermouth. After all, a dry martini refers to dry vermouth, not the lack of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonjagroset

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Feels light and yet filling. The red pepper flakes really add the flavor. I had some crimini mushrooms around so I sautéed them in butter and tossed them in at the last minute. My husband loved it too. I will be making this easy dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa
Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rum and Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
It's all a matter of preference of course…..but if you like sweet sweet potatoes, most likely you will enjoy this dish. I like this dish a lot but my husband felt it was way too sweet. He felt like he was eating dessert. I used original spiced rum instead of dark rum. I also used 1/2 cup sugar instead of a full cup. Still it was very sweet. When I make it next time, I will try using dark rum and cutting down the sugar to a few tablespoons in the sweet potatoes, since there is so much sugar in the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa
Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fabulous Wet Burritos

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
These were soooooooo yummy. I didn't have tomato soup or chili, so I just used enchilada sauce. This was so quick and easy. Will be making this on a regular basis from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Brotherton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Soup with Potatoes and Cream

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I used fresh cilantro to garnish instead of parsley because it's what I had on hand. Tasted wonderful, especially with a good hearty bread for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa
Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Vegetarian Minestrone

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Everyone loved this soup. I couldn't fit the last step into the crockpot, so I switched to a bigger pot on the stove for the final step. Served with a rustic, hearty bread, it is perfect for winter weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa
Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Veggie Lasagna Florentine

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
My family loved this recipe. No changes made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa
Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Layered Chicken and Black Bean Enchilada Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
GREAT recipe! I make this at least once or twice a month. I dice up my chicken, sauté it with some cumin and mix it with the sour cream. After many a dinner with this meal, I've found that brushing the tortillas (corn) and baking them in the oven directly on the racks until brown and crispy provides the best results... not soggy tortillas like I experienced the first time making it. I layer as directed with those few changes and it's amazing. My family loves it. It also freezes well... wrap in plastic wrap and foil and when you're ready to reheat, unwrap, pop in an oiled pyrex pan, cover with foil and bake at 375 for about 45 minutes! Thanks for a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeatleMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I'm used to candied yams during the holidays... you know the ones I'm talking about.. canned yams and marshmallows. It's always been one of my favorite holiday dishes, but this year, I decided to make something a little different for our "Friendsgiving." Wow. This dish was amazing!! I used white sweet potatoes and baked them according to other reviews. I used three large potatoes. I also double the topping and added cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice to it. Again, wow. This was raved about, even the kids loved it! I had more than one person claim me as their new best friend, so I'd say this was a definite winner! Will be making it again for my family Thanksgiving! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeatleMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggnog Quick Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I wanted to love this, but it turn out as good as I'd hoped. I had to bake it for 1hr and 15 min. It was really hard/crunchy on the outside and hard to cut through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Brotherton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Dumplings III

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
LOVE this recipe! We also make it with leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Brotherton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Joseph's Best Easy Bacon Recipe

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This recipe is great. Mine took a little longer to cook, but was perfectly crisp and evenly cooked. When I need to cook a lot of bacon - this is the only way I will make it from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonjagroset

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I have been making this spinach dip for years...except we use the Knorr Vegetable Soup mix, not Leek soup mix. Make sure you use Best Foods' mayo, and chop your water chestnuts up (drained of course) and let it sit for a couple hours!!! It has to have time for the dry mix to rehydrate & flavors to meld. It is always a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
First biscuits I've ever made and they turned out PERFECT! I took the advice of others and used butter instead of shortening, and only added probably 3/4 cup of milk. I didn't change anything else. Instead of "kneading," I "folded" my dough a few times and patted it down. Wasn't ready to bake right away, so I put it in the fridge for about an hour or two . Rolled it out, cut them out, put them on a cookie sheet that I lightly oiled with EVOO, brushed with melted butter and baked at 425 for 13 minutes and they are amazing. I think they taste great (and I'm a bread/biscuit snob!!) Thanks for a fabulous recipe... I will be using it over and over again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeatleMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Tuna Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
this recipe was a hit with my 2 and 1 year old. The hubby liked it too. I add a small amount of bread crumbs and sprinkled cheese on top at the last minute. just enough time to melt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiekay79
Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ramen Burger

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
We loved these ramen burgers! We included one of the seasoning packets in with the noodles and they had TONS of flavor. We also mixed the chopped green onions into patty. So delicious - and not really a burger as much as a mix of all those incredible Japanese flavors: soy, sesame, onion, and noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonjagroset

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

French Lentil Salad with Goat Cheese

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I love this recipe, it was wonderful. I followed the recipes but, I did omitted the grape tomatoes. My husband, who is 100% meat and potatoes kinda guy, he said I understand why you like it. That pretty much means he wont eat it but it wasn't horrible. This is recipe is one you can make and keep in the fridge. It stores well so you can have a yummy pre-made side dish for the next few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiekay79
Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne, Peppers, and Chicken-Apple Sausage Saute

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This dish is great for a simple weeknight meal. I only ended up using 1 16-ounce box of pasta and it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonjagroset

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I've made this bread many times and it turns out phenomenal every time! I take the advice and only make two loaves instead of three and I knead it by hand because my KA mixer is one of the smaller models and doesn't handle all the dough very well. Thanks for a winning recipe! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeatleMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States