Bellingham - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Chicken Satay

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Made this for dinner today. Delish! I used light coconut milk, and upscaled the marinade quantities so that I'd use the whole can of coconut milk for this meal. I sautéed the chicken in the marinade. And served it 'rice bowl' style over a bed of spinach with some quinoa. The spinach wilts under the hot food. The flavor wasn't quite strong enough to compete with the spinach--maybe I'd use baby spinach next time. But I wouldn't down-star a recipe for changes I made that weren't positive. Maybe the flavor would be stronger if I'd used full-fat coconut milk. But the sauce is perfect for dipping--which is what it's written for. Oh yeah, I reduced the amount of stock I put in the sauce, since light coconut milk is thinner. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Macaroons

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
These make a great presentation. Very pretty. If you separate your eggs and cover with a paper towel a day or two before you make them, they turn out better. Mine did not stick to the parchment paper or the silicone mat, so I am not sure why others are having that problem. My daughter can't wait to have her Teaparty in Paris birthday party and serve these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Delish! I rounded the Cocoa up to 1/4 cup, it was just easier to measure. I also tossed in a handful of chocolate chips with the milk, so this was good and chocolate-y. Poured it into 4 dessert bowls, very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This recipe is going to my favorite dinners list. The sauce which I doubled was perfect for us. I also stir fried green and orange peppers, square onions, water chestnuts, fresh pineapple and baby bok choy. It seemed to me the pineapple really brought the veggies together. I also served Basmati steamed rice. The only thing I changed was I browned the chicken thighs first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Tastes like baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chase S.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Beef Pot Roast

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
It is Chef John, nothing more to say!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Fox

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Goodness this was DELICIOUS! Made it exactly the way its written and it came out perfect. The outides were crisp and the insides were soft. Will for sure be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestically Challenged

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Cream Pudding

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I used baking cocoa and oil to substitute for the unsweetened chocolate since I didn't have any. This was the most awesome homemade chocolate pudding I have ever had! Soooo smooth and creamy and good both hot and cold! I used whole milk with just a touch of cream for the milk. Also since I subbed in cocoa powder I mixed it together like this: mix sugar, cornstarch, salt and cocoa powder until combined. Add egg yolks and stir until mixed well. Add milk and oil and stir well. Heat on low, stirring constantly and bring to a boil. Boil two minutes, stirring constantly. Then added the butter and vanilla. Done! Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Delicious! My boyfriend even had seconds---he never has seconds! Made as-is (except I used a 14.5 oz can of enchilada sauce). I wouldn't change a thing. Even great as leftovers, but I'd add more enchilada sauce when reheating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bella's Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
FANTASTIC! I tend to follow the recipe exactly as written and each time it turns out delicious. I make this a lot and my husband loves it. I think it is best if you really cook the bacon all the way until it's almost crunchy. And you have to make sure to really reduce the vinegar down, which gives it a rich flavor. Overall - this is one of my favorite dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Chickpea Curry

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This is very FAST, easy meal to put together! The flavors were great and I adjusted a few things after reading other people's reviews. I fried the tofu in olive oil before hand and I added a can of diced tomatoes. I also added a little cayenne pepper since I bought mild curry paste and I thought it needed a little bit of spice. I think this would be delicious even without the tofu and I bet that cauliflower would be a great addition too. I'll definitely make this again! You can't go wrong with a healthy, easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Easy Apple Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I especially loved the idea of the egg wash & the oven at 425 for 15 minuets and 350 for the last. Beautiful!! I especially loved the idea of egg wash and the higher heat of 425 for 15 minuets and lower heat for 30ish minuets. Beautiful!!!! I am excieted to try chef Johns pecan pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lactation-Friendly Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
For a lactation cookie, this is about as good as it gets. It definitely increases milk supply, although that is mostly due to the brewers yeast for me. The brewers yeast does leave a little bit of a weird aftertaste in these cookies, which does get old after awhile but it is still more pleasant than gagging it down in some juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rocky Road Squares

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Great, easy and delicious recipe. Needs more marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Summer Kale Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I love this recipe! This salad is delicious and very healthy also. All the ingredients provide the perfect balance. I agree that the salad dressing is too sweet, so I typically use less sugar (about 1/2 cup) instead of the full amount. It is better if it can sit for a few hours to allow the flavors to meld, but if you don't have time, don't worry about it. It's good right away too! Even picky eaters will eat this and even people who don't like kale or are unsure of trying kale, this is a great recipe to start with. It's been easy to find all the ingredients in the supermarket, although in the end, this salad is an expensive salad to make due to all the ingredients. Even though, it's one of my family's favorites and we've made it multiple times already! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy White Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This is just wonderfully delicious!! I made it according to the recipe except that I used homemade chicken stock instead of the canned broth. I definitely will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margo Barron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Good base recipe easily adaptee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Delicata Squash with Lime Butter

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margo Barron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

Bacon Ranch Pea Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
okay--somewhat bland, ranch dressing doesn't seem to add anything--may as well just use mayonnaise and add garlic powder and some pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margo Barron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

Fantastic Grilled Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
First day of monsoon season, so it is finally cool enough to grill outside! Needed something to accompany our organic rib eye steaks, and the hubby wanted foil packet potatoes. I cubed the russets and used a green bell pepper, as that is our preference. Halved the onions, and sliced thickly. Used five organic white mushrooms (could use more). Half a teaspoon salt (not enough). Have never heard of vegetable flakes, so sprinkled with (spicy) Mrs. Dash, on the advice of other reviewers. Used 2 T unsalted butter, and 1 T olive oil (to prevent sticking in lieu of cooking spray). Forgot to poke holes and took 40 minutes in the top rack of our gas grill. Hubby was over the moon about these -- I will keep tweaking and report back...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States