Bellevue - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
WOW! They were amazing! Decadent! It was like mac and cheese, but with potatoes instead of noodles :) My tweaks were: 1) I used mini yukon golds, left the skin on, used a mandolin to slice evenly. 2) doubled the sauce like other reviewers mentioned. I like it saucy. 3) I added some parmesan, maybe a half cup in addition to the cheddar. 4) cooked covered for an hour, and then removed the foil and it got golden brown the last 30-45 mins. YUMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonbeam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This doesn't taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
love love love love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Tenderloin Slow Cooker Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momma_Jones

Simple BBQ Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I'm not Mamma Jones, but Papa Jones. I will be using this simple recipe for rib night from now on. I was down to two tablespoons of bottled BBQ Sauce, when I went searching for a fridge and cupboard recipe. I found this and it did the trick. Easy to make and tasty too. Try it by the book, or modify to taste, it's good. Maybe a little Tabasco next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma_Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Black Magic Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this cake for new year 2014 and everyone loved it! The cake came out beautifully! I didn't have buttermilk on hand so I used 1 tbsp lemon juice and rest milk (total 1 cup). Soft and moist, everyone said. This is one recipe I am going to keep and pass on kids some day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
So simple & easy! I seasoned to usual taste without measuring out ingredients. I used minced garlic & fresh grated parmesan & romano cheese blend & the lemon added a nice touch. I will be making this again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Wendalyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buffalo Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I used lowfat Greek yogurt instead of the sour cream & nonfat cream cheese as that's what I had available. I used Louisiana Hot Sauce but found that I still added some after cooking because it was more creamy than hot. I also added green beans & onions instead of onion powder. The rice on top was not cooking so I poured the remaining chicken broth (32 oz) in after it'd cooked for an hour. I let it cook for another 30 minutes & topped at last 5 minutes with a bit of cheddar & garlic pepper fried onions. Very filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Wendalyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lime Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasta e Olio

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I believe this is one of the family staples in Italy when we visited. It's so lovely! Another variation is to replace the parsley with fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rita's Spinach Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I made this recipe. I and my husband both liked it. But I didn't like the colour after adding the sour cream. Will try without it once again. Great way to sneak in spinach though ;). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I made these cookies twice till now. first time with white sugar only, and they turned out to be awesome. But, do they spread or what. I used a tablespoon measure to put the cookies and they turned out to be 5 inches (diameter) discs. Well, mouth-watering discs. Next time, I substituted sugar with sugar-free (sweet n low) and also added raisins on my husband's request. They also turned out to be very tasty. They always taste better the next day onwards and stay fresh for days. This one, I am keeping and not looking anywhere. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Mexican Rice II

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
easy and simple! kids love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harperhabitat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I tried this recipe. omitted the flour as suggested by other user. also didnt use bain marie. I also halved the recipe since i was making for just the two of us. The cake was cooked thoroughly but was very very dense. The cake had initially sunk in the middle, but upon remaining in the oven for 4 hours it had settled nicely. The cake had browned a lot on the outside to my liking. My hubby loves cheesecake, he didnt even comment on it. :'( I served with the raspberry puree as suggested by someone. the ONLY highlight of the preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Photo by newcook

Crustless Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I made this recipe using fresh spinach. My ingredients: 1 pound fresh spinach. washed and chopped. 5 cloves of garlic, minced. 7 scallions, chopped. 1/2 inch ginger, grated. 3 full cups of grated cheddar cheese. 5 large eggs, beaten. 1/4 cup milk. 3/4 tsp salt. 1 tsp cumin seeds. 1 tsp pepper. 1/2 tsp italian seasoning. Pinch of onion salt, garlic salt, nutmeg, cheese jalapeno popcorn flavor. ( basically anything you feel will go well with spinach) 1 tbsp oil. In a pan, heat the oil and add cumin seeds. when they crackle, add garlic and ginger. Once the raw smell of garlic goes away, add scallions. Saute for a minute and then add spinach. Cook till spinach is tender but not completely cooked. (At this point, there will be water in the pan from spinach. I took it off the flame and used a slotted spoon to pick the spinach. You may try cooking till the water evaporates, I was afraid of overcooking so I avoided.) Now as directed by the original recipe, mixed the ingredients and poured in a 9.5 inch pie pan.(I know, 9.5 inch?? anchor hocking set) Cook for 35 mins, but let it remain in the oven for another half hour before you serve. I garnished it will tomato slices and olives as an afterthought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Easy Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I didn't have sour cream or cream of chicken soup so I used nonfat cottage cheese & 98% fat free cream of mushroom soup. I had 6 breasts left so I used them all in recipe. I used 3 cans of soup, 1 can of water, 1 1/4 c cottage cheese with a dash of Sriracha. I also liberally used cayenne pepper, seasoned pepper, salt & paprika. I sautéed 1 large onion, 2 red peppers & mushrooms. To add a bit of heat, I also added a diced jalapeño. I sprayed the cracker topping with I Can't Believe It's Not Butter spray & in the last 5 minutes I added some shredded cheddar cheese & uncovered. Next time, I will mix the cheese into the casserole though because it created a shell-type layer on top. I served it over brown rice which was very filling. Surprisingly, my picky teenager enjoyed it as much as I did. Absolutely a great base as others have said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Wendalyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tofu Lasagna

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I had bought tofu and was wondering what to make with it. I came across this wonderful recipe and decided to give it a try. I also had a few vegetables left like 1 carrot, 1 capsicum, a couple of other peppers and half a broccoli. I heated olive oil in a pan, added 5 cloves of garlic. Added the veggies. Sauteed it till broccoli was cooked. I followed the rest of recipe but forgot the milk. Added basil, Italian seasoning salt, oregano, garlic salt, onion salt and red chilli flakes. The lasagna held itself well. It tasted good, but some of the larger broccoli pieces tasted bitter. I would probably avoid broccoli next time and remember milk. Although i didnt miss it, i would like to see the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

German Apple Cake I

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This cake turned out amazing! As suggested by other users, I reduced the oil to half a cup. I used half cup white sugar and half cup brown sugar and granny smith apples. I used 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I baked it in a 9.5 inch pie pan. The cake was a little too sweet. Maybe will reduce the sugar even more. Otherwise, the cake was really moist and apple-y. Husband said it was as good as bakery bought. And i trust his cake judgement. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

Another Carbonara

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The World's Greatest Crab Recipe

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Just made this recipe on snow crab and king crab and it was the best crab I've ever had!! As a Northwest resident I would have loved to have tried it on fresh Dungeness but alas we were unable to go crabbing this season. I cooked it about four minutes on each side and it was flavorful, tender and perfectly cooked! I loved it. Next time, I'm going to try in in the oven as the BBQ does tend to flame up a lot and the pieces I loved best were the ones that didn't get "flame" broiled. Regardless, I will definitely cook my crab this way most every time (still will enjoy fresh steamed crab as frequently as possible)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States