Auburn - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Marni Nelson

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
These were really tasty. I went a little too heavy on the cheese. What I really liked was the sour cream/cream of chicken/chili powder sauce mixed in with the chicken and then also put in the base of the pan. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marni Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Modenese Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This was wonderful! I did make some changes. I didn't have any wine so used 3/4 cup chicken broth and 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar. Used 3 cloves garlic, 1/2 onion and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jesslynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Valley, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Chicken Chardon

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
DELICIOUS! The whole family loved it. Five stars. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HPYCMPR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Delicious! Now, 5C is a lot of sugar, so start tasting after 3C. For our family, 4C was just right. Many guests commented on the cake frosting. Thank you for this recipe! Note if you want to use an 8-oz block of cream cheese, add 2T of butter and the proportions will remain the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HPYCMPR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laydeekadybug

Italian Buttercream

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Straight forward....I LOVE this idea...It is PERFECT for piping! But before you actually use this recipe,There are a LOT of tweaks that you might want to consider: (1) This frosting has NO taste (besides a strong aftertaste of butter); I recommend using both Almond AND vanilla extract. (2) 2 2/3 Cup of shortening was waaaay too much in the original recipe (I could tell just by looking at the darn thing), so I cut it down to 1/3 cup and it worked great. (3) Do NOT substitute margarine for butter. TIPS: (1)If you can, use a stand mixer with a whisk attachment. I started off with a hand mixer, but ended up switching to my stand mixer to get the final fluffy finish. (2) Put frosting in a piping bag FIRST, then place in the fridge to cool. It started to separate when it got too warm from holding it (like all frostings do).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laydeekadybug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Machine Calzone

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
We just made this tonight! Huge success. Ive never made bread before, even in a bread machine so I was nervous! It was wonderful and the whole family got in on making the calzones. We did change the insides to our own personal pizza tastes but oh man were they good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Chiffon Pudding

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
SHUT THE FRONT DOOR!! This is amazing. I baked in 5 individual custard cups sprayed with Pam. Sprinkled with course sugar. I then placed the filled cups in a water bath & baked for 28 or 30 minutes. Used Way more lemon than the recipe called for & also added some lemon zest. It is hard to belived that something that only took 10 minutes to get ready to go into the oven could be so awesome. It is like eating lemon pie. I will make this again & again. Am going to try with limes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
What a great way to use up left over ham! I pretty much followed the recipe exactly... only change is I added a bit more ham then what it called for. Not sure what I would do to make it 5 stars for me, but as is it was pretty good. My husband especially liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Yam Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I am actually in the process of cooking it right now, but should have read reviews first. The potatoes are taking way long to cook. Instead of raisins also, I used dried cranberries. I tasted it after the 40min and besides the potatoes still being crunchy it tastes awesome. Next time though I will be cooking the potatoes a little before hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. daNarf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham and Potatoes Au Gratin

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
YUMMY. Thank you for sharing this recipe. Agreed that parcooking the potatoes helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HPYCMPR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Butter Bars

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
these look like the best cookies ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea earl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thanksgiving Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Not my favorite a bit too sweet for me so if you make maybe consider cutting back on the sugar esp. if you use canned sweet potatoes it calls for - also the topping makes this seem much more like a dessert, kind of more like a crumble, which isn't necessarily bad but not quite my thing for a side dish. I'd rather go with the sweet potato casserole II recipe on this site but that is personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Cheesecake in a Gingersnap Crust

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I just love this cheesecake. Surprsingly easy to put together. Used the cheesecake tips found on this site. Really does make a difference to have ingredients at room temperature, use a water bath, and don't overbeat. Just delish! Make sure your spices are fresh and buy high quality ingredients. They don't cost that much more and makes a real difference in the finished product. Don't even think about using imitation vanilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Yogurt Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
These cookies came out perfect....this will be my new recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AgnusDei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

Steak Tips with Mushroom Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I LOVED this recipe! I grilled a rib eye to rare and then cut it in to bitesize pieces and just warmed it in the finished sauce. I used 1.5 cups of chianti and a can and a half of beef stock. I also replaced the portabellos with presliced crimini mushrooms and served it all over egg noodles. I also added three cloves of garlic. I thought it was so yummy and easy. It is a little salty but I like that so if you are sensitive to salt, I'd do the low sodium beef broth. I also reserved a little stock to whisk the flour in before adding it to the reduction to avoid lumps. Worked great! I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marni Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Potato Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I know y'all don't like it when people modify the recipe a ton and rate it, but we really enjoyed this with the changes we made. I halved the basil and added 1/4 tsp thyme as others suggested. I doubled all the veggies and added celery. Because of that increase, I upped the liquid to 1.5 times what it calls for... so 4.5 cups broth and 1.5 cups half and half. I used 6 pieces of bacon and added it, plus 1 cup of cheddar cheese, when I put in the cream (instead of having it as a garish). After all the cheese was melted, I pureed about 2 cups of the soup to thicken it up a little, then I let it all cook together on low for about an hour before eating. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Biscuit Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Oh my gosh!!!! Not exactly a chicken pot pie and not exactly chicken and dumplings. Better than both!! I used what was left of a roast chicken from Costco that we'd had the nite before. Followed the recipe to a "T" except used frozen instead of canned peas and added some zucchini that I had in the fridge. My daughter and I both loved this!! What I especially love was achieving the creamy texture w/out the benefit of "cream of" anything soups. The biscuit/dumpling creation was a bit messy but I recruited my 13yo daughter for most of that part and they turned out great!! Yes it was a bit labor intensive, but the results were well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: University City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This is my go to Spanish Rice recipe! I always add a little more onions then the recipe calls for, just because we like onions in my house. Also, I don't cook the onion first.... I throw them in at the same time I'm browning the rice. The first few times I made this recipe I did it with cooking the onions first, but by the time the rice was done browning the onions would be burnt. Otherwise the recipe is perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Meatballs

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Thank you, Geanine, for a terrific recipe. For cost effectiveness and fat control, I used half hot Italian sausage and half ground turkey. And a handful of crumbled bacon. Cut the water, use 1/4 C milk to soften the crumbs. Bake instead of fry, or for soft meatballs, plop into the sauce to cook. either way YUM. Thank you for this new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HPYCMPR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Fantastic!!!! No need to alter receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AgnusDei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States