Auburn - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Lemon Cupcake with Blackberry Buttercream

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I made the cake portion of this cake exactly as instructed and it was moist and delicious. I did not have jam to make the frosting, but used 3 Tb of lemon juice and lemon zest in place of the jam and omitted the vanilla and it was super tasty and complimented the cake very well. I made a cake instead of cupcakes because I didn't have cupcake liners. It fit nicely in my smaller 9x5 pan. I will be making this again really soon as it was gone in one night. On a side note...I used a large lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Donut Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
These are Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly (using margarine and I'd like to add that so far, I have Not found a "light" version that works good for baking. I used regular "Gold'n Soft Margarine" (can we mention product names?) and these turned out Sooo Yummy! I made them yesterday afternoon? Gone today and I'm now right back here reading the recipe to make another batch this morning ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Spencer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA
Photo by AgnusDei

Grandma's Sour Cream Pound Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Very moist and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AgnusDei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I'm tending to really agree, Ohh how yummy! These really Are the best choco chip cookies I've tried thus far. I followed the recipe exactly (I get annoyed when people give reviews on recipe's that they've revamped, that just makes no sense) I have to admit tho that I did cut back on the sugar just a little bit is all, everything else remained the same. I'm kinda glad I "scanted" the sugar, otherwise I think they would have been just a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Spencer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

Hot Pepper Jelly

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This is ridiculous... Why did so many people give this good reviews? I made two batches and followed the directions to a T. I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montesano, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AgnusDei

Amish White Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AgnusDei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

Joey's Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
The dough was amazing, I think I could've got a couple more cookies if I didn't eat the dough. End result was even better. I followed the recipe exactly and used natural peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gingerbread III

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I really liked this recipe the ratios worked perfectly and the texture and flavor are great. I did make it once using oil instead of vegetable shortening once only because I was being lazy and measuring out vegie oil was easier :-) and it still turned out fine. Slight difference in texture but still good and cake like. Not too sweet so you can certainly add a sweet frosting or glaze to this if you wish but a good not too sweet snack cake for the kids too. It also double well the ratios make it really easily done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is good and basic and turns out well. Made as is and didn't drain the zucchini yes you do need the moisture from it otherwise it will be too dry. I was a bit worried at first when mixing it up because the batter was so think I thought it needed some sour cream or milk or even water but as long as you keep from draining the zucchini it will be fine. Do make sure to bake at 325 not 350 since it needs the lower temperature to bake correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Ok,I usually do not drink wine at 11 am, but I was the daughter-in-law who kind of got stuck with making dinner and dessert for my father-in-law's 75th birthday this weekend. I got brownie points from the in-laws because chips and dip was brought by the others. Ca-ching!! I'll get to the frosting review in a sec. Made 40 marinade teriyaki chicken legs, Fried Rice Restaurant style, and a devil's food chocolate cake with the Creamy Chocolate Frosting. Chicken legs were looking great in the oven, thank God! I have a way of making a HUGE mess in the kitchen when I'm hurried and making food for a big crowd. Did I mention that only half the people showed? Fried Rice managed to get done. Ok, after spilled rice, scrambled eggs, peas & carrots on floor, I ended up with a gallon of it. I did mention that half the relatives were a no show? The wine? Husband started to pour a glass. I eyed the clock and said it was still morning. He said that somewhere in the world it was already afternoon. No argument there! Ok, the frosting. Four month old hand mixer died. Five sips of wine. Mixer in garbage can. Transfer ingredients to Kitchen-Aid. Accidentally caught sweater sleeve on speed lever. Ever see powdered sugar and cocoa fly at the speed of a Maserati? Reminded myself that it was Sunday and decided not to cuss out-loud. I think. FYI: God's name was not involved. A few more sips of wine. Half-half cream & some butter shortening was used. Everyone lived--including me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ISITPAJAMATIME

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

Teriyaki Marinade and Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Since I found this recipe my two boys (19 & 21) hug me so much that I can't finish my dinner. I suppose that is not a bad thing. When I come home with a big pack of chicken legs, the family knows what's coming. I marinate for at least 24 hours, turning once, and then bake uncovered in a 350 oven for 2 hours or more. Note: I make a double batch so the legs are just about covered. A few nights ago hubby was really late coming home from work and the legs were happily cooking for two and a half hours. Oh, my...! My oldest son couldn't stop saying, "Mom, look, the meat is just falling off the bones!" Followed by yumm, yummm, yum noises. Ok, Broomcladdad, that to me is a great compliment. The last batch I made I tweeked your recipe and added maybe a 1/4 cup more soy sauce and a smidge more brown sugar. I love sesame seeds but have to leave them out. Hubby and I have bridges, and I'm not talking about those in Madison County either. Next month, March 2014 my father-in-law is turning 75. Guess what my mother-in-law wants me to make for the main course for his birthday dinner? Job well done!! Margie Bayer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ISITPAJAMATIME

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

Cranberry Squares

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I found this recipe a month ago, and it instantly has become a family favorite, not to mention an instant sensation when I bring it to gatherings. Do yourself a big favor and put some printed copies in your purse! I have to laugh at myself because although I bake using whole wheat flour most of the time...you know...trying to keep the family healthy, I use butter instead of margarine for the squares, and let me tell you, my two son's coming running to the kitchen when they smell the butter! However, I did use 1 cup white flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour and it turns out great. I love this recipe because our family does not have a "sweet tooth" and it is just right. Ok, maybe it's the gardener in me, but I'm used to getting my fingers into the earth, and I found right off the bat that to make crumbs for this recipe, I was just going to dive in and work the butter and the dry ingredients with all ten fingers. Tada!! Also, a little hint to make the cranberry sauce spreadable. While still in the can, take a fork and squish it, scooping the softened sauce on the crust. When I'm grocery shopping now, I make it a point to stop by the canned cranberries to see if they are on sale! I'm sure this recipe will be a favorite for a long time. Thanks! Margie Bayer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ISITPAJAMATIME

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I have a 1980's cookie book with almost the identical amounts. I say "almost identical amounts" because my original recipe does not make enough cookies for my needs, so I always double the recipe. The above recipe is almost my doubled recipe. The only difference is that my cook book has 1/2 cup more flour and 1 tsp more salt. It is the only sugar cookie recipe I use. No frosting--only sprinkles. I have learned over the years, when baking sugar cookies, to take them out of the oven a minute or two before they look done. Cookies turn out good. Actually, a batch is chilling overnight in the fridge right now for Valentines Day. P.S. Ok, done making the cookies. After umpteen years of baking, a little light bulb went off today. I was trying to get round sprinkles to stay on the darn hearts after I had them in shapes. Ugh! Aha! What if I were to sprinkle the rolled out dough and gently press the little round suckers to the dough? Bingo! Now that I think about it, I'm pretty sure my husband bought the round sprinkles and not me. Heaven forbid!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ISITPAJAMATIME

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AgnusDei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Thumbprints

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I thought these were OK. My husband and son each took just one bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Thumbprints

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I made a trial batch using other reviewers comments. Added 1/2 cup flour and put them in the freezer for a few hours before baking (with the raspberry jam in them). They turned out amazing! My husband would not stop eating them, I had to make two more batches. Took them to Christmas Eve and had multiple requests for the recipe. Sitting on a table full of other desserts, they were gone in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Warm Crab Parmesan Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
My Family LOVED this... My next door neighbor gave us a whole bunch of Dungeness crab on Dec 23, We ate about 3 of them right then. What to do with the rest?? found the recipe and cracked the rest of the crab. I ended up with a 10 inch pie pan heaped with crab. I followed the recipe but not to a tee because I had a lot of crab. It was awesome. Highly recommended! I think fresh crab is the key, though. I am going to make a Razor clam recipe out of this next. Thanks Noelle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SALMONSNAGGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Ham with Sweet Gravy

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This gravy was a huge hit tonight at my house. It was so simple and so delicious. It was smokey, with a hint of sweet from the brown sugar glaze the was on the ham. This will definitely be a new tradition in our home every Christmas. Baked brown sugar ham with ham gravy! I wish I could give it 6 stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munchkins2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Photo by Brandy A

Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Awesome. I used jimmy dean sausage instead of turkey sausage and left out the liver. I also used chicken stock because i didn't have turkey stock. I used dried herbs and it came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Made as is no substitutions and turns out perfectly. No need to mess with it and nice it uses one whole can of pumpkin so I don't have to figure out what to do with a partially used can of pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States