Portland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cajun Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
this was really good! Whole family loved it! Like usual I cut the cayenne down (Heat pansy here) and it actually turned out not spicy enough. It was still really good! Just with the flavor of the spice blend I used you expect a little more heat. and it wouldn't go amiss. Thank you for sharing this one! It will become a regular at our house too, along with some of the other reviewers claims.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semigourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

Slippery Shrimp

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
This is really good. Not something I will make a lot. (personal reasons) but it is a great tasting shrimp dish! And Love the name! Thank you for sharing your recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semigourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

Slammin' Salmon

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
This is FANTASTIC!! Truly loved it the whole family did! I am usually a purest about salmon. but this is really really good! I marinated the only 3 fillets I had for 7 hours in my vacuum marinator. (spelling) I will be making this again and again. Thank you Atom for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semigourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Green Onion Gravy

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
This has really nice taste, and has great instruction on how to make a pan gravy. I grew up with homemade pan gravies. and make my own. but followed the instructions here to see how it would go. turned out great with nice flavor. Thank you Chef John for helping the Gravy challenged to make a nice pan gravy. I will make this again, the chipotle gives the gravy a nice heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semigourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

The Easiest Way To Cook Bacon

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Funny - this is how I learned to make bacon 35 years ago at the restaurant in which I worked...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

chx soup

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Yes, I have tried the recipe and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Joe's General Tso's Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This is REAL good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cherry Bomb Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I was looking for a recipe that would use up my leftover habaneros. I'm so glad I found this one; it was excellent! We didn't notice much spice in the chicken, surprisingly, but it was very good anyway. I used bone-in chicken thighs and cooked it on a cookie rack over a cookie sheet at 450 in the oven. I forgot to use the sweet chili sauce at first and found the chicken doesn't need it, but when I dipped my next bite into the sauce, that raised it to the next level of delicious. The sauce compliments it perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Tilapia

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
First of all -- Don't discard the mainade! Pour it in pan, boil it and reduce it slighly for a few minutes before adding a pinch of cornstarch to thicken it up to a glaze. I drizzled this over my end product and voila! Amazing. And it adds the mildest flavor or orange. I'm not sure you'd taste any orange otherwise and I marinated it over night. (Would I even bother wth that step next time? Hmmmm...) The grocery store did not have tilapia at the tme, so I picked up a pound of filet of sole. Worked great. Sole is super thin, so I broiled it start to finish for about 5 minutes. Toasts the crust up nicely as well. If you're a garlic lover -- triple it. If you're a salt person, this will need a sprinkling of that as well at the end. A really wonderful and light fish dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roxie's Bran Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Delicious. Easy. Low Cal. Nutrient Rich. Did I say delicious? These are all of my favorite things. Made the muffins exactly as written. Will be keeping this recipe for sure. Fill muffin cups all the way to the top. They don't rise more than 1/2". Mine were done in about 17 minutes. Definitely don't want to over cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Layered Bean Dip

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I really loved this recipe! I did follow some of the suggestions in the reviews. I drained the salsa and the jalapenos, and I also added half a package of taco seasoning to the sour cream. The only other changes I made (personal preference, and I had the ingredients on hand) were I added lime juice and chopped fresh cilantro to the bean layer, and chopped green onions to the sour cream layer. I don't know that those changes were necessary, or that they improved the flavor of the dip. I just thought I would try it. I think the dip would be wonderful as is. However, as one of the reviewers said, the dip is a great base for experimenting as well. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timsands10

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laurel, Montana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Chocolate Dessert

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This exquisite recipe cannot possibly be any easier to make than it is. I was thoroughly impressed with the end result. No need to modify in any way to achieve perfection. Would not hesitate to serve to guests over for dinner. Be sure to use a nice sharp knife when chopping your chocolate into chards or you'll end up with a very fatigued hand. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This is simply the most delicious low-calorie comfort food around. I make it with ground chicken instead of ground beef to save on fat and calories even more and it's AMAZING! The rich beef gravy is excellent over mashed potatoes on the side. Don't change a thing! The recipe is excellent as it stands. Whether or not to saute the onions and mushrooms before the "simmer in broth" step is just personal preference. Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
These were great! I made them for biscuits and gravy and they are everything you want in that dish! I made as directed but scaled them up to 9 biscuits. If I were making them to eat without gravy I might use butter instead of shortening or half butter/half shortening, but the flavor was fine for biscuits and gravy since the gravy is the star of that dish. My oven tends to burn biscuits before they're done in the center and the tops never brown, so I flip them over half way through cooking and solve both problems. I did need the full 15 minutes since these are pretty thick if rolled out as the directions call for (which makes for the awesome high biscuit!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAREMARE312

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wedding Gift Spaghetti Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I can't believe it took me this long to try this, this is GREAT sauce! I made this yesterday. everyone says it makes a lot. it takes a big pot to make it in that's for sure. I made a few changes: used 1 can (29oz.) crushed tomatoes, and 1 can (29oz.) tomato puree, filled 1 can with the water called for. used extra garlic (family preference), added fresh rosemary, fresh oregano, and just a touch of Savory. along with all the other spices it called for. (my mistake) was using Chicken Sweet Italian sausages I had on hand. Not realizing that they were fully cooked, and had sun dried tomatoes in them. That being so, the sauce still came out great! The 3 of us ate large portions and still had 3 16 oz. containers to put into the freezer for later. So next time I will use a mild Italian sausage, and ground beef. also will use extra garlic still. and as many fresh herbs as I can. but will cut back the butter just a bit. (personal thing) Thank you Dog Fish Head for sharing such a wonderful recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semigourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

Traeger Roast Beef

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Easy and very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Garlic Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Very Simple, very tasty! has a very Dinner at grandmas taste. Only change I made was to use Chicken thighs In place of the chicken breasts, because that is what I had on hand. It was simply wonderful! will be using this again. Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semigourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

Marinated Flank Steak

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This has really good flavor! marinated for 2 days as was suggested by other reviewers. also added cumin, and oregano. Grilled to perfect medium rare. (no, no pictures, Sorry) I will definitely make this again! Thank you for sharing this recipe with us out here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semigourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

Armenian Lentils

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I am of Armenian descent, and this is very close to my family's recipe. However, the cooking time for the onions is not correct. The onions need to be caramelized! They need to cook until they are brown, at least 30 minutes. Five to seven minutes is not enough. If they are not caramelized, the dish loses its main flavor and will be bland. Also, I recommend caramelizing the onions in a large pot, and then adding the lentils and other ingredients to that pot, not adding the onions to the lentils' pot. That way you don't lose the juices and sugars from the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTRmenian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Carne Asada Tacos or Al Pastor Tacos

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
This was yum. Cut Carne Asada into small chunks before marinating for 2 hrs. Omitted soy sauce, thyme and cloves. Added a dash of nutmeg and a 1/2 tsp chili pepper. Used juice of a lemon instead of the vinegar and used a tsp powdered onion and garlic. Stirred it up in bowl and tossed the chunks through. Sautéed on the stove adding a little water for sauce. Perfection on flour tortillas with cilantro, grated cabbage with a squeeze of lime and fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States