Milwaukie - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Really yummy and made just as the recipe called for. I did make a minor change to the topping. I like oats in my toppings so I added about a handful of rolled oats and used brown sugar in place of the white. I also made it as a coffee cake since I couldn't find my muffin tin liners. It took forever to but was totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot and Tangy Broccoli Beef

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly. It wasn't as spicy as I had hoped or expected, but since that is something that is in my control, and the overall meal was delicious, it still gets 4 stars!. Thanks Kikkoman!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TICKLEGRASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

Best Beef Dip Ever

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
A bit too salty, but other than that delicious. I will definitely make in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Oat Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I made this into mini muffins for portion control. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Beef and Black Bean Tamale Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Great recipe! I don't care for green onions but I did chop up about 1/2 cup of white onion and 1 clove of garlic and cooked it with the meat while browning. I also used 1 can of diced tomatoes, drained but saved 3/4 cup of the liquid. I used the tomato liquid instead of water. I didn't have any canned corn so I used 3/4 - 1 cup frozen corn. I didn't thaw it just tossed it in. Otherwise with my little corrections for personal taste....This was a fabulous dish. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
You really must use good quality BBQ sauce!! I also threw in some bell peppers that were julienne style. Great recipe! THANK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
SO GOOD! I followed the recipe exactly and added a few garlic cloves & a splash of hot sauce. The main photo inspired me to do a kind of Cuban themed meal, so I served the chicken over coconut basmati rice (replace some of the H20 with a small jar of coconut milk & add a bit of salt/creole seasoning) with black beans and avocado on the side. DELICIOUS. I will be making this repeatedly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nowal M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Leyley's Spicy Chicken Adobo Wings

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
The chicken was very dry and I even doubled the liquid so it would cover most of the chicken in the pot. I gave it 2 stars due to the fact that it did smell very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waynesville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I have not had these in years and a few weeks ago my daughter had chosen Ireland for international day! I didn't want to bring traditional food my grandmother made, so I was reminded of these cookies that my great grandmother made. I came across this recipe which is similar....actually better....then the old family recipe! Since I live in the middle of no mans land, I can't get currants. So I used dried cranberries like someone else mentioned! I also just made them drop cookies instead of rolling them out, as I never seen them done that way. Normally these cookies you would drop a spoonful then use a spoon to make a dimple then add a fruit preserve.....which I always hated! So that makes this recipe awesome and simple! I recommend this to anyone....even if they don't know or like caraway seeds....it adds to the cookie and you won't even know they are there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waynesville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This recipe was so good and so easy. It's very easy to double, too. Thanks, Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Love this! Tried with the exact recipe and it was great, but for my personal tastes I also added about 1/2 tsp garlic and onion power and also crumbled French's onions to the topping. I would still give it 5 stars without any changes though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Bowtie Pasta with Asiago Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I personally would give it 3 stars, but the kids loved this dish (rare occasion) so I give it four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TICKLEGRASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

Brown Family's Favorite Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I am not a huge fan of pumpkin pie so when given other options I take those. I didn't even get a chance to taste this since everyone else loved it. I used the basic flaky crust recipe from this site, which is now my only crust recipe I use. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hawaiian Ham Skillet

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Nobody in our house really like this recipe. Maybe if we substituted the mustard with soy sauce, but I don't know if I could get anyone to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TICKLEGRASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

Homemade Flour Tortillas

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I want to give it 5 stars for taste, but only 3 for the amount it made. The recipe states that it makes 24 tortillas. Those were some pretty small tortillas. I only made 12 tortillas with the dough, which ended up being about the right size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TICKLEGRASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

Cabbage and Smoked Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this for my Christmas Eve dinner, and my dad LOVED it. The carrots took longer to cook than the recipe says, but that could just be my cooking technique (I'm just getting into regular cooking). This becomes very thick, so I did add some beef broth to it when I heated it up the next day. Also, it says one head of cabbage...they should say one medium head because it's a lot of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made this for my Christmas Eve dinner as an alternative for the kids to a different soup. Everyone loved it so much, I had very little left. It could easily be made into a clam chowder...so says my dad, who gave it thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This recipe was so easy and delicious. My husband, my niece and my dad all gave it thumbs up. I added chopped celery, and it seems that it could be a very easy dish to add veggies to in order to get those servings in. Definitely a good cold day dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Waffles

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Light and fluffy and whole grain...love 'em. I did add a Tbs of vital wheat gluten to make sure they didn't get too heavy, as per another reviewers suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbecued Beef

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Excellent! I added BBQ sauce since I didn't have any liquid smoke. I used white wine vinegar instead of red wine for the same reason. I used steaks that I needed to get out of the freezer. Probably due to the cut of meat, I had very little fat in the sauce. This was very good and went especially well with the creamy coleslaw I found on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shmona

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pendleton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States