Milwaukie - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Grandma's Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Great! Used for company chili cookoff and was the only vegetarian chili there! I added about a teaspoon of chopped fresh jalepeno pepper and some tomato paste. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hummus III

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Yummy...I like where this recipe starts but found I needed to adjust the seasonings for my taste...more lemon and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Triple Berry Crisp

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Left off the 5th star since I haven't actually made this with the 3 different berries...we have access to tons of wild blackberries and really enjoy picking them for this dessert. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Polish Sausage Kraut Skillet

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
A good one skillet meal when you need a quick and hardy dish. I did overlook the addition of carrots, but I don't think they were missed...this even passed the preschooler test (she loves sausage!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Fudge Buttercream Frosting

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I generally could do without frosting, but this was good enough to put the left overs on graham crackers! :) I used it with a white cake and raspberry filling...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I would give these 5 stars but I made a few changes (I am sure they would have been fine without the changes though). I had to use vanilla yogurt since I ran out of plain so I reduced the sugar by 1/2 and then my husband was looking over my shoulder while I looked for recipes and I was torn over this one and a banana muffin with a crumb topping and no chocolate. He asked for banana chocolate chip with a crumb topping so I used this one and added the topping (1/3 c. flour, 1/2 c. brown sugar, 4 Tbs softened butter, 1 tsp. cinnamon). YUMMY! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Don't waste your time making this as a single batch…these don't last long and then everyone will whine that they didn't get one. Amazingly yummy but then with that much butter they have to be…why I only make 'em during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Original Irish Cream

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Easy, yummy, great gift...I am not giving the full 5 stars simply because I did change it a little. I reduced the whiskey for my taste and used half and half, which I also increased in the end as well. Over all a great starting point that you can very easily tweak to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sour Cream Apple Pie Deluxe

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I doubled the recipe to fill a deep dish pan and this pie was terrific. I was a little disappointed that it sank a bit after cooling but I think that I can increase the apples by a few cups next time and still have an amazing pie with the same yummy results. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Garlic Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This is AMAZING!!! I didn't have sour cream on hand so I used plain yogurt. It turned out so yummy and can only imagine how much better it would be with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TICKLEGRASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

Nutmeg Refrigerator Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I think that these were not really my families taste more than anything, but we found the texture to be too chewy (not really crisp and not really soft). I liked the taste of the nutmeg and thought they complemented a cup of coffee nicely, the rest of the family didn't think they had enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cowboy Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Best recipe! Made for my company potluck and was a huge hit! I also put cream cheese in them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Red Beans and Rice

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I like this recipe and have made it several times. Instead of kielbasa I use smoked sausage and brown the sausage along with the onion, peppers, and garlic. I also use Penzey's Spices Cajun Seasoning to give it additional heat and a stronger flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TICKLEGRASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

Lobster Mornay Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I was the only one our 6 who ate this and I only ate it because I made it. The sauce was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TICKLEGRASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Not a meatball left after making a double batch for a family get together...enough said? :) Would have given a 5 star rating but I did change it very slightly to match my ingredients on hand: made the meatballs with 1/2 beef and 1/2 pork added some italian seasoning to the sauce for personal taste. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato Salmon Patties

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I will certainly make this again...even the picky 3 year old ate it. :) Topped it with a mayo/horseradish/dill/lemon sauce...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Yummy and forgiving...you can really play around with your "toppings" to fit your families tastes and what you have on hand. Everyone, including my picky preschooler enjoyed it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttermilk Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this after a last minute menu change for Thanksgiving since I had an extra pie crust and everything on hand. I would have given it all 5 stars except that I did make some very slight changes: I followed the recommendation to start the filling in the microwave as I was worried about getting the crust/top too dark (photo honestly didn't build confidence either). I basically warmed the filling with one minute increments, whisking before adding time since I didn't want to scramble the eggs. Once is was fairly hot I poured it into the shell and followed the baking instructions. I also switched out the nutmeg for cinnamon for personal preference and after tasting it we all agreed that that was the right choice...very little was and my left and my mother-in-law enjoyed having a pie her mom use to make. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
My family absolutely loved this chicken. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Six Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I used leftover cooked chicken, a box of chicken stock, and I didn't drain my tomatoes. This was a big hit with my husband, who immediately asked me to make it again soon. Also, I am on Weight Watchers, and this recipe is VERY point friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States