Milwaukie - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Salmon with Tomatoes

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
A surprisingly delightful dish. Quick; easy to change up to your own tastes. I added diced onion and a bed of sautéed spinach on top of the rice before adding the salmon. It added just the right veggie to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhona Meyer Stultz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pendleton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Cream

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I added zest of 1 med-large lemon. I also reduced the sugar to 1C & reduced the butter to 1/4C, just because I didn't see the need for all of that extra saturated fat & sugar. Came out tasting like the lemon curd from a meringue pie (only better, imo) Yummy, yum, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto-Chicken Club Wrap

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Definitely a must make! Great for leftover chicken. I added sautéed onion, celery, and some fresh spinach (minus the lettuce). I added sliced cucumber with the tomato. My husband thought the pesto was a bit much and I will probably go with the italian Philadelphia Cooking Creme next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhona Meyer Stultz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pendleton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Rice Raisin Pudding

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
As written, I would give this a 2 (reduce the sugar & it might get bumped up). It is EXTREMELY sweet, TOO sweet. Coming from me (who has a candy stash @ ALL times), this says alot! I love sweet stuff, cake, cookies, chocolate, Airheads, you name it. I love the stuff, but this is comparable to swallowing a spoonful of sugar :P It got the extra star from the vanilla & brown rice together, otherwise I would've given it a 1. I was really craving rice pudding, but this did NOT do it for me. :\
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I made this with all natural pb (Adams), and it came out out just fine. Not really sure why some others using the natural style might have had problems?? I made a 1/2 batch to frost an 11"x13" cake-like blondie recipe and was very enthusiastically gobbled up & enjoyed by everyone. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Candied Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
These are awesome. I have a friend who is a chef and said these were the best sweet potatoes she has ever had. 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blonde Brownies

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
These are great! In regards to some of the bad reviews ( being either too dense or too dry), remember when you are wanting to achieve a lighter texture in a baked item then always: 1) mix in flour until just combined (DO NOT over-mix!) 2) measure flour either by weight or by spooning into a measuring cup- too much flour= dry & over-mixing= more density (hard). Hope this helps :) Ours were very YUMMY. I lightly frosted them with the "Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting", which I halved and was plenty for this recipe. The boy's loved em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Tasty and easy recipe to pull together. No changes necessary -- loved it right down to the very last bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrey Meyer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Hearty Beef Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This is a very easy to pull together slow-cooker recipe, and the finished chili is tasty, hearty as its name implies, and a hit with my husband. I used a combination of chili beans and black beans which came out so delicious. Also a dollop of sour cream on top with the cheese added a creamy delightfulness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrey Meyer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Moist, delicious and absolutely the BEST cake I have ever made! I made it for Valentine's Day this year and felt the love come back to me in abundance for this one! lol. Piped the edges with the Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting (also from this site). Spectacular! Yes, it is NOT health food, but c'mon, it's also NOT everyday food. ;) Thank You Jenny! :) Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Pie Bars

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I have made Lemon bars many times before, and this recipe is my favorite. I followed the recipe exactly, and I thought they were perfect. I liked that they cut very neatly and the powdered sugar on top didn't soak in. Received many compliments on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Star Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Not good. Dense, and flavorless....I even made a small amount of icing hoping that would help...to say the least they were a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Often I tweak recipes for my families taste, but I just left this as it was (except that I don't use seasoning salt ever so I used poultry seasoning, garlic powder, pepper and salt in its place)...this was awesome and so easy! The turkey was moist and flavorful and I didn't have to run back and forth basting...love that! I also love that the drippings weren't so over powering and salty and made a nice gravy (brined a bird and had horridly salty drippings...a lot more trouble than it was worth too!). This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Chilaquiles

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
it was super easy and very tastey my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by #1 mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Pancake Syrup

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I did not like this. I couldn't taste the coconut one bit, even the flaked coconut. Maybe it needs some coconut extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TICKLEGRASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

Country Cinnamon Swirl Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Made this last night, follwed the recipie but added some vanilla and a very small amount of orange extract. Best bread I've made yet, my kids love it, and I'm gonna bake another one right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan the Man

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tacos in Pasta Shells

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Meh... Even after adding cumin, onion, garlic, 1 chipotle (in adobo sauce), it was still lacking something (flavor, perhaps?). Seriously overated:|
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham and Cheese Bowties

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I gave this four stars for the main fact that I didn't follow the recipe exactly. We are not big colby or mustard fans so those items were left out and we used cheddar instead of colby, but this dish really was amazing! I have it on the menu to make again in the next two weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TICKLEGRASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

Maple Salmon

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
We are from the Pacific NW, so I have prepared salmon many different ways. As a matter of fact, I only use the standard lemon & dill, if I am going to be using it as an ingredient in a dish. That being said, this recipe gets 5 stars WAY up! :) I also followed the advice of another review that did not pour out the marinade, but instead added about a T (or so) of cornstarch, to create a very yummy sauce, while the fish was cooking in the oven. YUM & YUM, again!! :) Oh, and I did add approx 1 T brown sugar, but it would have still been 5 even without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Mint Milkshake

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
We felt it turned out to be a waste of perfectly good ice cream. We were anticipating something closer to an Andes mint type flavor, and ended up getting just a super chocolatey rich drink. Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States