Milwaukie - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chocolate Cookie Buttercream Frosting

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Perfect as is. I used this on a cake I made for Easter, it was the "dirt" & I tinted some coconut green for the "grass". Best chocolate frosting ever! For people that said it wasn't chocolatey enough, mine was very yummy. Try using Ghirardelli cocoa powder. It is hands down, better than any of the others out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Molasses Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I give these 5 stars with butter since I don't use shortening. Third year in a row making as Christmas cookies and they are for sure a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw II

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Everybody raved about this coleslaw at the luncheon I took it to. It my not taste (nor should it need to) like KFC but it is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhona Meyer Stultz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pendleton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brown Sugar Brownies

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Mine came out perfectly, absolutely delicious! Ovens vary & I only had to bake for 20 minutes. Followed recipe exactly, with the exception of adding extra vanilla (but that is just a personal preference). Yes the batter was thick, but as long as the end result is good I don't see why that would matter? If you find it difficult to spread in the pan, simply spray 1 hand with cooking spray, rub hands together, then press evenly into pan- ez pz! Just like the recipe- so easy & so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Everyone said this was a keeper and had no other opinions...that means a lot!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple-Brined Pork Loin

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Pork came out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhona Meyer Stultz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pendleton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Asian Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Only 3 stars if eaten on the day prepared, but 4 & 1/2 if left to refrigerate overnight first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I like the flavors and textures of this meal. It is very easy to follow for beginners like me. I would recommend this for others to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heart10461
Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MJKORSNESS

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Very good recipe. My family thought I had bought them at a bakery! Used frozen berries and it worked fine. Also made a batch without berries because my son doesn't like them, and they were good too. I think you can make this to your taste. I used vanilla and cinnamon in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Delicious and oh-so tender when it is done. I cooked mine in a crockpot. As other people suggested I added some of my own seasoning. In addition to the included seasoning packet: I added mustard seed, garlic, and bay leaves. I used a can of beer and then added water to cover. I cooked it on high until it was (basically) simmering and then turned the crockpot to low. I added the potatoes, some turnips, and carrots and hour before I wanted to eat. At this time I also added my onions because I wanted to add the flavor; I wasn't worried about eating soggy onions. With only 20 minutes left I took out the corned beef to rest and added the quartered cabbage. In the end I either needed to cut my veggies smaller or give more time for cooking. My husband and I felt the vegetables were a bit undercooked. So either add time for bigger chunks or dice the veggies for the smaller time. I cooked it on low for 6 hours, on high for 1 hour. It was super flavorful and so good. We used a horseradish sauce found on here for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhona Meyer Stultz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pendleton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Super easy, family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Delicious! I took some other suggestions and covered some of mine in melted chocolate and turned them into a sandwich with the peanut butter creme. I bag of dark chocolate chips and some crisco in a double boiler. So yummy. The dough did not make very much but I believe that is because there will be 2 cookies to every sandwich, they don't have to be giant. I was able to make 2 dozen cookies (1 dozen sandwiches) using small (1 in) disher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhona Meyer Stultz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pendleton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
As another review suggested I sautéed the chicken to brown it and baked at 350 for 20 minutes. I made the sauce in the same pan while the chicken was baking. I substituted olive oil for butter to cut down on the fat. My husband is watching his calorie intake and at chicken without the sauce and found it was delicious. The sauce is just a caloric overkill; a very delicious overkill. Very easy and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhona Meyer Stultz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pendleton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by robin

Homemade Flour Tortillas

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
my husband said these were the best homemade tortillas he has had they stay soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA
Photo by robin

Albondigas (Meatballs) en Chipotle

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I made this tonight. made a couple of changes added more garlic, salt to taste. was very good served it with homemade flour tortillas from this site. The kids and husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA

Baked Spaghetti I

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I have made this recipe for years. It is my go to recipe for potlucks, or to take to a family that needs a meal. I know the cream of mushroom soup sounds strange, but you don't really taste it, it just makes the casserole creamy. I always add some fresh garlic and use sharp cheddar for more flavor. I always get people asking me for this recipe after tasting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dutch Apple Pie with Oatmeal Streusel

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Very easy, very yummy! Gone at our house in 1 day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Chocolate chip cookies- nothing but ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Applesauce Cake I

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Definitely a keeper...we all really enjoyed it. I did opt to leave the nuts out since my husband wouldn't have liked them and I put craisins in place of raisins since I don't like raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Muffins II

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
We really enjoyed these and have made them a few times now. I would add a strusel topping with oats next time, but this is more for my husbands taste and request. I do add vanilla (I almost always add vanilla to sweet baked goods) and use 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar. I have also made these with my own baked pumpkin (which was frozen from the previous year) and with canned...both are good. I would not change out the oil for applesauce...really rubbery and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States