Medford, Oregon - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I don't make frosting, it always tastes nasty and chemically on detour bought cakes so I thought I didn't like it. Surprise!! This is actually good and easy! Thanks! My banana cake thanks you. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Herb Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
SMOKE!! Tons of smoke filled our house. January (winter) here in Montana and had to open all of the windows to air-out the house. Smoke detectors were going off. Little fires would actually flare inside the oven as the butter would spatter against the heating elements. Ridiculous! Finished product was bland and disappointing. I ended up cubing the finished product and searing it in a pan just to make it palatable. Not what I was hoping to serve my wife with our home-made four-cheese ravioli. Reading other reviews that were favorable to the recipe you'll find that most so drastically altered this recipe that it's surprising they still consider it the same recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Travis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JLLEBOW

Peach and Cranberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
OK so I followed the directions as best I could, I didn't have everything on hand. I used wheat floor for white. I didn't have applesauce so I used 1c. vegetable shortening. I know I know less healthy but it was that or nothing so.. I also used canned peaches and dried craisins being as it's winter and good luck finding those fresh! It was a little dry probably because of the wheat flour. It looked like bread dough instead of muffin batter so I added the juice from the peaches in 1/4c increments until it was better. Filled silicone cups 3/4 full. Baked at 375* for 35 min (again probably because it was denser with wheat flour) and voila! These were very pretty, moist, delicious family treats! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hungarian Mushroom Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This is an incredible recipe. I took previous advice and cut the parsley back to 1/8 cup and it was perfect; additionally I added 5 slices of cooked, chopped bacon and 1/2 tsp of red chili flakes. I cooked up the soup and treated it more like a curry by putting it over white rice & a piece of tilapia pan fried in oil, more onion, parsley, garlic & lemon. It was fantastic & my fish-disliking husband loved it too! I attribute that to the wonderful soup base. Fantastic soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Ed's Cajun Shrimp Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This is a GREAT & EASY recipe that you can whip up in 30 minutes for a quick, delicious lunch! I have a recipe for seafood Cajun Jambalaya that my family has been making for years...it takes about 1.5 hrs to make from roux to finish. This is an awesome alternative! The flavors could use a little more development since it's not a roux base so if I make it again, I'll add some finely chopped andouille sausage to give it a much needed smoky punch. I have given it 5 STARS because it's SO EASY TO MAKE and turns out wonderfully just as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bratwurst Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This one's made it to my permanent cookbook. I cooked it just as the recipe calls for and it turned out wonderfully! This makes a TON of soup - like 10-15 servings. You may want to cut it back if you aren't interested in freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pecan Cranberry Butter Tarts

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Turns out great! But instead of using brandy i boiled the cranberries in fresh squeezed orange juice to make a more concentrated cranberry flavor and still add the half of orange juice to the mix. It was amazing defiantly using at my retreat center for the women to enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CANDEEKISSEZ

Chili Relleno Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
My husband and I really enjoy this recipe. I omit the enchilada sauce; but once it's done, I pour a little green taco sauce over mine. I chop up olives and green onions and put a layer of that over the cheese. I always make more than this recipe does so I make a bigger batch of the milk/egg/flour mixture. I put all my layers down before putting it into the oven, so it winds up being: chili's, cheese, mixture of olives and green onions, chili's, cheese, mixture of olives and green onions, then the milk/flour/eggs mixture. I set the timer for 40 minutes and then once the timer goes off, I check for doneness and cook longer if needed (since I make a larger batch.) Someday I may try adding roasted, red bell peppers to the olive, green onion mixture. I like to serve this with Refried Beans. Ole'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDEEKISSEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rusty Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Love this recipe! So easy and it's delicious without the hours of marinating. I'll toss this into my chicken and let it sit for 30 minutes then throw it on the BBQ, comes out great every time! A highly forgiving recipe that's great on all types of chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange and Fennel Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Thank you so much! My husband and I both gobbled this up. I sprinkled some pepitos on top for extra crunch. Next time I will make this with an arugula salad blend and add more Kalamata olives. This is a gorgeous blend of sweet, sour, and salty flavors and crunchy and soft textures. So fun to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Idena Suzanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange and Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Whoah, Nellie, this soup was much better than I expected! I used coconut oil, since I had the Costco vat of it, instead of butter. I then used a large sweet onion and I skipped the celery, because I am a kitchen mucker who just peruses my current food supply and takes off on a nightly dinner adventure, and I am sans celery. I didn't puree the soup. I prefer the bit of chunkiness of carrots and onion bits, and it was soft, tasty, and pure comfort. It didn't even need salt to be perfectly delicious. Thank you for my new lentil recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Idena Suzanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Yummy biscuits, and we paired them with a cheddar bacon gravy. DE-LISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BegYourPardun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: White City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Time Kentucky Bacon Milk Gravy for Biscuits

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Awesome gravy! We added a bit of shredded cheddar to it for a little twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BegYourPardun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: White City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I have made these cookies several times and my whole family loves them! But, the past two times I've made them, the cookies are coming out flat and chewy instead of the regular size (as pictured) and soft!! What is going on??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I used this as a base but didn't have all on hand which is why the four stars. So added pears, sunflower seeds, poppy seeds, lemon juice, celery, raisins, turmeric, and mayo. Did NOT have apples, onions, grapes, pecans, or golden raisins. So umm... it's all interchangeable right?? Served this on popovers with spinach leaves. Was DELISH and would do it again. I have a similar recipe that uses apple cider vinegar and dried cranberries so just a thought of how creative with this recipe you can get! EnjoY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Colorful Corn Chowder

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Kids thought this was really good and hubby happily took it to work for lunch. I added celery to the veggies. I also used two cans of corn. Added extra water to make a little more. Next time I might sprinkle some crumbled sausage on top with the cheese! On a side note all I had was potato pearls and I went ahead with it anyway. There IS a difference and although I made it work I wasn't able to follow liquid recommendations as closely. I knew that would be the case. Wish I had flakes around my house but I don't! Oh well. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage and Dumplings

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I added carrots and red bell peppers to veggies. Also some crumbled Jimmie Dean sausage. Kids gobbled all of it! I liked it the way it was but some felt the need to add teriyaki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Easy ingredients but needs a bit more. We cooked in the oven (350/90 minutes). Layered a 13X9 greased pan with 3 layers. Potatoes, soup mix, cheese/repeat. Top 3rd layer reversed soup/cheese so that cheese was on top. Did not add ham but put a layer of bacon over the top. Added A LOT more cheese then called for. Just took bag of preshredded cheese and layered medium-heavy on each layer. Turned out superb. Bacon was an awesome addition & the taste permeated throughout the dish even though we only put it on the top. EASY Delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FitzMull Clan
Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Such a great recipe! I followed others suggestions though and I think that really made the difference in how it turned out. I used a rotisserie chicken and boiled it in half low sodium half regular chicken broth for 15 minutes with the carrots. While I was taking apart the chicken I added a chicken bouillon cube, noodles and the seasonings. I added Thyme (must have!)basil and oregano. I suggest adding the salt and pepper towards the end and to taste so that you don't end up over salting like so many others who have made this soup. My husband had 3 bowls so it will definitely be made over and over again in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I made this casserole this morning, based on what others have tried. It was perfect. I used 4 cups of thawed hash browns and mixed them with the butter, then baked at 375 for 40 minutes. While they baked I cooked the sausage, chopped onion, and chopped bell pepper together. I mixed the beaten eggs with the cottage cheese and cheddar cheese, then added the cooled (a bit) sausage mixture. I added the egg mixture over the potatoes and baked another 30 minutes at 375. Perfect! Thanks for all the help, guys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMIK124

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States