Medford, Oregon - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Orange and Fennel Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Thank you so much! My husband and I both gobbled this up. I sprinkled some pepitos on top for extra crunch. Next time I will make this with an arugula salad blend and add more Kalamata olives. This is a gorgeous blend of sweet, sour, and salty flavors and crunchy and soft textures. So fun to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Idena Suzanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange and Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Whoah, Nellie, this soup was much better than I expected! I used coconut oil, since I had the Costco vat of it, instead of butter. I then used a large sweet onion and I skipped the celery, because I am a kitchen mucker who just peruses my current food supply and takes off on a nightly dinner adventure, and I am sans celery. I didn't puree the soup. I prefer the bit of chunkiness of carrots and onion bits, and it was soft, tasty, and pure comfort. It didn't even need salt to be perfectly delicious. Thank you for my new lentil recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Idena Suzanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Yummy biscuits, and we paired them with a cheddar bacon gravy. DE-LISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kai's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: White City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Time Kentucky Bacon Milk Gravy for Biscuits

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Awesome gravy! We added a bit of shredded cheddar to it for a little twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kai's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: White City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I have made these cookies several times and my whole family loves them! But, the past two times I've made them, the cookies are coming out flat and chewy instead of the regular size (as pictured) and soft!! What is going on??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I used this as a base but didn't have all on hand which is why the four stars. So added pears, sunflower seeds, poppy seeds, lemon juice, celery, raisins, turmeric, and mayo. Did NOT have apples, onions, grapes, pecans, or golden raisins. So umm... it's all interchangeable right?? Served this on popovers with spinach leaves. Was DELISH and would do it again. I have a similar recipe that uses apple cider vinegar and dried cranberries so just a thought of how creative with this recipe you can get! EnjoY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Colorful Corn Chowder

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Kids thought this was really good and hubby happily took it to work for lunch. I added celery to the veggies. I also used two cans of corn. Added extra water to make a little more. Next time I might sprinkle some crumbled sausage on top with the cheese! On a side note all I had was potato pearls and I went ahead with it anyway. There IS a difference and although I made it work I wasn't able to follow liquid recommendations as closely. I knew that would be the case. Wish I had flakes around my house but I don't! Oh well. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage and Dumplings

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I added carrots and red bell peppers to veggies. Also some crumbled Jimmie Dean sausage. Kids gobbled all of it! I liked it the way it was but some felt the need to add teriyaki sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Easy ingredients but needs a bit more. We cooked in the oven (350/90 minutes). Layered a 13X9 greased pan with 3 layers. Potatoes, soup mix, cheese/repeat. Top 3rd layer reversed soup/cheese so that cheese was on top. Did not add ham but put a layer of bacon over the top. Added A LOT more cheese then called for. Just took bag of preshredded cheese and layered medium-heavy on each layer. Turned out superb. Bacon was an awesome addition & the taste permeated throughout the dish even though we only put it on the top. EASY Delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FitzMull Clan
Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Such a great recipe! I followed others suggestions though and I think that really made the difference in how it turned out. I used a rotisserie chicken and boiled it in half low sodium half regular chicken broth for 15 minutes with the carrots. While I was taking apart the chicken I added a chicken bouillon cube, noodles and the seasonings. I added Thyme (must have!)basil and oregano. I suggest adding the salt and pepper towards the end and to taste so that you don't end up over salting like so many others who have made this soup. My husband had 3 bowls so it will definitely be made over and over again in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I made this casserole this morning, based on what others have tried. It was perfect. I used 4 cups of thawed hash browns and mixed them with the butter, then baked at 375 for 40 minutes. While they baked I cooked the sausage, chopped onion, and chopped bell pepper together. I mixed the beaten eggs with the cottage cheese and cheddar cheese, then added the cooled (a bit) sausage mixture. I added the egg mixture over the potatoes and baked another 30 minutes at 375. Perfect! Thanks for all the help, guys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMIK124

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I made this casserole this morning, based on what others have tried. It was perfect. I used 4 cups of thawed hash browns and mixed them with the butter, then baked at 375 for 40 minutes. While they baked I cooked the sausage, chopped onion, and chopped bell pepper together. I mixed the beaten eggs with the cottage cheese and cheddar cheese, then added the cooled (a bit) sausage mixture. I added the egg mixture over the potatoes and baked another 30 minutes at 375. Perfect! Thanks for all the help, guys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMIK124

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Round Steak Sauerbraten

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
An easy to put together main dish. I subbed diced onion for the onion powder and made my own gravy, preferring that over a mix. Even with those changes, preparation was fast. The meat turned out fall apart tender and was delicious over buttered noodles. I also think this would make a wonderful open-faced sandwich served over toasted sourdough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prospect, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie

Bartlett Pear Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I make this pie with coconut oil instead of butter to make it dairy-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Mom's Sticky Chicken From 1972

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This recipe was very sweet. We're not big fans of sweet with our meat and were not expecting that at all. If I were a fan of Chinese takeout then this would far exceed that which is why I gave it the 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Batter Fruit Cobbler

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Easy, yes, but too sweet and too buttery for me. I even reduced the sugar to 1 cup, for a double batch, which was 1/3 less than called for. I made this with 8 cups of frozen peaches (remember... double batch) and I added cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice (didn't measure, just shook it in). Even so, this dish lacked a complexity that my palate would have favored. Perhaps oats in the batter, more spices, a bit of vanilla, maybe a pinch of lavender would have made it more interesting. I did use 1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt and reduced the milk to 1 cup, which turned out fine. The batter and the method were successful, other than my preference for something less sugary/buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Idena Suzanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MountainGirl4

Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I liked this recipe with a few changes of my own - I used a mixture of unbleached AP, oat and whole wheat flour; added chopped pecans; used brown sugar instead of white. Please keep an eye on the cooking time, I had to reduce mine. These turned out moist and fragrant with the aromas that tell us the holidays are upon us. They are great with morning coffee or as a snack with hot tea. Hubby loved them, so I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prospect, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Beans with Bacon

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
For those of you without a pressure cooker or who didn't soak their beans for a day. Fear Not! Use canned black beans, fry down the bacon, drain and then cook the onions, garlic and carrots until tender. Add everything else in and heat til warm. I served this with Enchilada Suizas. My wife took the leftovers to work. Had to beat off the co-workers. I've since gotten stict orders to make enough for her to bring leftovers for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ethan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Harvey, Louisiana, USA

Peanut Butter and Maple Oatmeal

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
This was a nice comforting breakfast. Kids liked it. Will make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Soup III

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This was good, will make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States