McMinnville - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Stuffing

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This is the exact same recipe that is in my little recipe book that came with my crockpot back in 1983 (I still have both pot & book). The only difference is mine calls for 2 - 2 1/2 c broth & 4oz less mushrooms. I guess each ingredient would be a personal preference. I have used this recipe many times over the years and have only received positive feedback so it's worked for me thus far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Black Bean Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This was so good. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Cabbage Kimchi

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I love this recipe. For me it was a great starting point. I agreed with the to salty issue so I made some changes myself. I make my KimChi bye the 5 Gallon bucket. I use a 1/4 cup of pickling salt dissolved in water and put it into a spray bottle. as I load my bucket with the layers of vegetables I mist the layer with the salty water mixture. I then let it sit 4-5 days because of the diluted salt mixture then pour off the excess liquid, rinse the cabbage really well and then add the rest of my vegetables. The cabbage and the otger vegetables will still release water because of the remaining salt. As I said, I use the recipe as my guide. I Also add Carrots (6), but I use my vegetable peeler and have long thin strips of carrots instead of chunks. I will also add thin slices of green, red, orange, and yellow peppers. I also found that a small ginger root shredded, 3 to 5 jalapeno's peppers sliced thin, regular and red cabbage in addition to the recipe's Napa cabbage. Also, I love Garlic. I will add approximately 3 lbs of thin sliced garlic to the mix. that's pretty much it for the vegetables and prep.. the rest of the recipe is spice or flavor to your liking. once I have the spices and all the vegetables mixed together I let it sit for a week in the coolest part of the house or garage depending on the time of the year. once it sits for the week, its perking is on it's way. I pour off the excess liquid, put the remaining in sealed glass jars into the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Berry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Prineville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I love this recipe but the prep takes far too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops with Apples, Onions, and Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I tried this recipe as it's written. I however thought it was too sweet. So I tried it again without the sugar and found that it was delicious with just the natural sweetness from the ingredients. Especially if you use walla walla sweet onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KillaMommaBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Pumpkin Roll

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Great!!! love making these for family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ninilchik, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef and Irish Stout Stew

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Loved it! I used the Recipe as a base. I added 1 can of corn, 2 cans of diced tomatoes, a heaped teaspoon of Beef "better than bullion', 8oz of sliced mushrooms, and a shot of Worcestershire
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Berry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Prineville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Coconut Eggnog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Good but needed extra rum to thin out. Don't forget nutmeg on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea McEvoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hash Brown Casserole II

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Used 2 one pound packages of hash browns that were already seasoned with seasoned salt so didn't add additional salt. I am not sure what happened with those who say the recipe is "bland" unless they are diluting the soup before adding. Good flavor - way too much fat so we won't be making too often but we really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea McEvoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Poor Man's Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I substitute smoke flavoring for soy sauce. Been making this a couple years now, and I would have said 4, but my husband requests it so much and can't get enough, so I have to give it a five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yamhill, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Fudge II

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was great. So easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blue Cheese Dip II

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Loved this dip!! Definitely use the best blue cheese (not the precrumbled stuff) you can find and make it a day in advance to let the flavor develop. Everyone at the party wanted this recipe, including the men!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenleaf, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamed Cabbage

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This is, without doubt, the best cooked cabbage recipe I've ever tried. I made it exactly as written. The few leftovers went into some home fries the next morning and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenleaf, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blackberry Cobbler II

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I'll increase the cobbler part next time, there wasn't very much dough, and there were tons of berries and syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yamhill, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

West Indian Curried Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
all the other reviewers must have been tweaking the recipe. Too much curry, too much salt. This is nothing like what I was craving when I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yamhill, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sophie's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Very moist and luxurious! More like a cake than a bread. I would add a cup of raisins next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QurlyQs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

Grandma's Gingersnap Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Perfect just the way it is! But I do enjoy adding a dash of ground cloves for extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QurlyQs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

Beef Fajitas

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
It turned out to lemony so added more garlic, red pepper & cumin. It helped a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Beans with Hazelnuts and Lemon

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This is amazing. Everytime I make it, my family eats all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

cheesy keilbasa potato casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodeliciousCraig'sWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States