Hillsboro, Oregon - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Carrot Cake Steel Cut Oats

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I followed the recipe entirely. I did not like it. My family didn't either. It wasn't tasty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KikiMonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malad City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Batter Fruit Cobbler

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This was so amazingly easy and YUMMY! I usually serve cobblers with ice cream, I tried a little bite out of the pan, and OMG! This was great alone, awesome with a bit of vanilla bean ice cream! The only variance from the original recipe was about 1/2 cup more berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Yes, this recipe takes MUCH longer than "ready in 40 minutes" !!!!!!!!! I just made half a batch for the two of us, and it was very thick. I should have added more stock, but it was late in the evening and we needed to eat. I will adjust next time. I also made this in my cast iron, which I won't do again either. Very filling dinner with some fresh baked biscuits. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
The husband said to put it on the list to do again! These were tasty and easy to prepare. I only used about 1/8 tesp pepper flakes for our taste. A very good mid week dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Noodles Mexicana

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
nasty! I had to keep adding water, seasonings, salsa etc to get the noodles to soak up some moisture and cook. In the end, it was burning to the bottom of the pot and the noodles were pasty. What a waste! Thank goodness for cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Elbows and Ground Beef

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
It was kinda bland, even with me adding some extra ingredients. My family thought it was just like spaghetti and meat sauce...not thrilled with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Olsen Schaffer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I've gone to MANY potluck events and have always wanted the recipe to this salad...This is the one!!! I took it to a potluck, and had people asking me for the recipe...this really is the one! Thank you for sharing~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Shrimp Au Gratin

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
My son made this using the less expensive smaller-sized salad shrimp and brown rice and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This ole slaw is great. I have been searching forever for a coleslaw dressing. This is all I need now. The only change I made is adding celery seed. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KikiMonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malad City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Salmon I

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
We love this recipe. I never seem to have the lemon pepper so we just add Ginger and we never season the fish, we just put all ingredients into the ziplock and add the fish! This is so good! Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Top Sirloin Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
We enjoyed the flavor very much...and it was quick and easy to assemble. I didn't have any green pepper, so we just skipped that part. The left over broth went into the freezer for a beef soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I followed the recipe and directions as written except used a packet of onion soup mixed in 1 1/2 cups water in place of the beef broth. Corrine's suggestions sound good, but I didn't have time for that. My husband and I both loved the flavor and the stew gravy was just right. It cooked on low for 10 hours and on warm for another hour. I wished I had a good fresh, crusty bread to soak up the gravy! Next time I will~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

California Coleslaw

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This is a very nice change from the more traditional creamy cole slaw. Tasty and refreshing on a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Graham Cracker Crust

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
This was quick and easy to make. I was too lazy to measure crumbs, so simply followed another reviewer's suggestion to crush one sleeve of graham crackers. I crushed the crackers in a sealable plastic storage bag, added the sugar, then the butter and mushed it together. After shaping and chilling the crust for an hour, I filled it with this site's recipe for "Key Lime Pie VII". My guests could not stop talking about how wonderful it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Key Lime Pie VII

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Wow! This was absolutely fabulous! Just the right combination of sweet, tart, and creamy. Super easy to make, too. I'd give this 10 stars, if I could,, and am tossing all other key lime pie recipes, as there is absolutely no way to beat this. It was quick and easy to make because I used bottled Key Lime juice and two cans of store-brand sweetened condensed milk. (Here in the Pacific NW, I found the key lime juice at New Seasons Market). The only thing I did differently, was to make my own "graham cracker crust", using the recipe submitted to this site by Carole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Pasta Salad with Homemade Dressing

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Everyone liked this recipe. Changed a few veggie ingredients to what I had on hand, but this recipe is great to be able to make changes to particular tastes. I do think I'll double the dressing next time...but the dressing had great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Polish Sausage

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
We loved the flavor of this recipe. I followed DC in TX's suggestion and just put everything in the slow cooker after boiling the sausage for 10 minutes. An hour before eating, I mixed in about 2 tablespoons of cornstarch mixed with some water to thicken up the juice to serve it over rice. The only thing I would do different would be to saute the onions before adding them in; even after 8 hours, they were still crunchy, and we prefer a soft, cooked onion. Someone else mentioned pineapple juice and chunks...sounds like a nice idea too! Great versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
It was a very good "all in one" meal. Had to make some changes because of what I had on hand. I used four skinned leg quarters and put them in the bottom of the cooker. In a large bowl, I mixed all of the other ingredients (changes were: 2 lbs red potatoes, 1 cream of chicken, 1 cream of mushroom, 1 chicken bouillon cube, 1 teaspoon pepper). All of the other ingredients used were as listed. After 5 hours I added 1/3 bag of mixed veggies because that was all I had. It still turned out wonderful. I think using 2 cans of cream of chicken would be better than what I did. Love the quick convenience of the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I've made this two different ways; original as written which is awesome and easy!!! The second way was for a batch and a half. I added 1 lb Italian sausage, a can of black beans and the Pace Picante sauce I used was mild, so I added 1/8 tesp ground cayenne pepper. All other ingredients were the same with the amounts adjusted for 12 servings. RAVE reviews from everyone at the potluck that day and the pot was empty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Slow Cooker Meatloaf

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I have to give it a 5 star because I didn't follow the recipe...I used what I had on hand. Used 2 lbs ground beef and only one egg (everything else was the as the recipe listed. I put carrots on the bottom of the slow cooker and it cooked nicely keeping the meat out of the grease. I intend to try it with sausage, but I also think it needs onions and more than just ketchup for the topping. The way I made it, it was a bit dry. Easy, quick recipe to put together and nice after a day at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States