Hillsboro, Oregon - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Green Cabbage Caldo Verde

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Even though I didn't have quite the right ingredients, it came out very tasty! Used regular paprika, smoked Polish sausage (slightly browned in a cast iron skillet), and added carrots with the potatoes. I used about 3 tsp salt. My submersible blender work wonderfully to puree the soup. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nutmeg Feather Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I made these as cupcakes, and followed the recipe almost exactly as stated except that I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of all-purpose. They take about 20 minutes instead of 40 as cupcakes. These were for my son's 2nd Birthday party. They were a hit! From my 94 year old grandma to my 15 year old nephew (who had 2 or 3!) The flavor was a nice change from the usual, too-sweet cupcake and they tasted scratch baked, rather than from-the-box. I topped with cream cheese frosting that was store bought because I didn't have time to make any. A really nice recipe: back to basics, nothing flashy or exotic, just plain yummy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Maple Dill Carrots

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I made these exactly as instructed, and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
For our personal taste, 1/2 pound of sausage would have been enough. I cooked about 1/4 cup chopped onion with the sausage. Go light on the salt! Increase the egg by one and use one more slice of bread. Cooked in a 7" x 12" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Bean Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This definitely makes a lot of dip; a medium bowl doesn't cut it! I used a whole packet of taco mix, added a small can of diced chilies and put most of the shredded cheese into the dip leaving a 1/2 cup or so for the top which I put on for the last 10 minutes of heating. LEFTOVERS!! Let me count the ways: enough for another party, then stuffing for enchiladas, then stuffing for breakfast burritos with an egg...This was good, but next time I will only make HALF a batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
We liked this recipe over another similar recipe on this site. Love how easy this is...and the convenience to have the potatoes done ahead of time on Thanksgiving. I failed to take heed and forgot to stir occasionally...that's a must to keep them from sticking to the cooker. The butter wasn't needed since we were putting gravy on the potatoes. Also, the left over liquid was wonderful for turkey soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bill's Sausage Gravy

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
We liked it, and the maple flavor is nice for a change, but I wouldn't use this recipe for every biscuit 'n gravy breakfast. Next time, I'll try it with regular breakfast sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Biscuits

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Really simple, quick and easy...taste was good. They're plain, but are perfect for biscuits and gravy or butter and jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Easy and tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Excellent flavor...much better than the packets from the store. Just need to make big batches to have it on hand. 2 tablespoons seasoning mix mixed with 1/2 tablespoon flour sprinkled over the browned meat and some onion...add 2/3 cup water...stir well and let simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Carrot Cake Steel Cut Oats

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I followed the recipe entirely. I did not like it. My family didn't either. It wasn't tasty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KikiMonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malad City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Batter Fruit Cobbler

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
This was so amazingly easy and YUMMY! I usually serve cobblers with ice cream, I tried a little bite out of the pan, and OMG! This was great alone, awesome with a bit of vanilla bean ice cream! The only variance from the original recipe was about 1/2 cup more berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Yes, this recipe takes MUCH longer than "ready in 40 minutes" !!!!!!!!! I just made half a batch for the two of us, and it was very thick. I should have added more stock, but it was late in the evening and we needed to eat. I will adjust next time. I also made this in my cast iron, which I won't do again either. Very filling dinner with some fresh baked biscuits. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
The husband said to put it on the list to do again! These were tasty and easy to prepare. I only used about 1/8 tesp pepper flakes for our taste. A very good mid week dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Noodles Mexicana

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
nasty! I had to keep adding water, seasonings, salsa etc to get the noodles to soak up some moisture and cook. In the end, it was burning to the bottom of the pot and the noodles were pasty. What a waste! Thank goodness for cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Elbows and Ground Beef

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
It was kinda bland, even with me adding some extra ingredients. My family thought it was just like spaghetti and meat sauce...not thrilled with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Olsen Schaffer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I've gone to MANY potluck events and have always wanted the recipe to this salad...This is the one!!! I took it to a potluck, and had people asking me for the recipe...this really is the one! Thank you for sharing~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Shrimp Au Gratin

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
My son made this using the less expensive smaller-sized salad shrimp and brown rice and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This ole slaw is great. I have been searching forever for a coleslaw dressing. This is all I need now. The only change I made is adding celery seed. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KikiMonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malad City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Salmon I

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
We love this recipe. I never seem to have the lemon pepper so we just add Ginger and we never season the fish, we just put all ingredients into the ziplock and add the fish! This is so good! Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States