Hillsboro, Oregon - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Amazing Spicy Grilled Shrimp

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
AH-MAY-SING, yup, I said "sing" cuz that's what these shrimp make me wanna do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Carcass Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
We had a turkey breast and made half of the soup recipe with it and it turned out excellent. I didn't get a lot of turkey flavor from just one hour of simmering, so I added one Knorr concentrated chicken soup stock, and that did the trick to bring up the flavor. Next time I would simmer the carcass longer. But, the husband loved it. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Yes, it's sort of a strange combination of mixes, but it works wonderfully!! I added quartered, peeled potatoes around the sides of the roast. Love the simplicity of the recipe for busy days. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Extreme Veggie Scrambled Eggs

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I often forget how well veggies go with scrambled eggs. Versatile with whatever you have on hand! Roll it up in a warm tortilla or with an English muffin...easy breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
As with most recipes on this site, it takes quite a bit longer to make...3 hours to be exact. But it was delicious, and the husband said it was a keeper. I used a whole chicken that had been smoked with apple pellets which gave it an interesting smoked flavor. This was my first attempt at making noodles, so I didn't know what to expect. I rolled them out on my pastry board and cut into strips with a pizza cutter...simple, but they were a bit sticky, and I had used at least 3 1/2 cups flour. I sprinkled flour over the noodles as I scrapped the strips off of the board and let them dry while I de-boned the chicken. The noodles probably could have been rolled out thinner, but it worked OK. The consistency was more like soup; I will thicken the left overs with cornstarch/water mixture. Will definitely make this again, but allow more time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

4H Banana Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I made this using the variations that my son suggested, and it was EXCELLENT. The changes were to substitute half of the sugar with brown sugar, add a teaspoon of vanilla, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, and 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg. I was out of milk, so I used fat free half and half. This will be my new go-to banana bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Browned Butter Vegetables with Almonds

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This was easy and delicious...and any combination of your fav veggies will work! I used what I had on hand: celery, cabbage, onion, yellow and green peppers...and I probably used half of the butter the recipe calls for. Will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Baked Chicken Teriyaki

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Don't do what I did which was to use regular strength soy sauce! Low-sodium is a MUST! Despite my screw up, the flavor was delicious. I substituted rice wine vinegar with 1/2 tesp sugar for the mirin wine and had to use ground ginger instead of fresh. I will do this again with all the correct ingredients next time...it was an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Corn Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Excellent!! Easy to follow recipe and we really enjoyed it with some home made soup. It came out of the pan nicely without falling apart...very moist. I want to try baking it in a cast iron skillet next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Snert (Split Pea Soup)

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
UPDATE 4/2/ 2015: Had almost all the ingredients this time (minus the leek)...and it was awesome!! I did not soak the peas overnight. I fried the bacon until crisp and tore into pieces, and I sauteed the onion. Put a very meaty ham bone, bacon, peas, sauteed onion, chicken stock and water into the crock on high for the first hour; then turned to low. After 5 hours, I took out the ham bone, removed the meat and added meat back in...also put in the potatoes, carrots, garlic and celery at this time. After another two hours, I added all of the spices, sausage slices and 1 cup water. It was perfectly done in a total of 10 hours cooking. Lots of left overs for the freezer with only two of us...but the husband wants it for dinner again tomorrow night! ORIGINAL: This soup had a very pleasant flavor...even though I didn't have all the right ingredients. I had a VERY meaty ham bone in place of the ham hock, no bacon, no leek and no sausage. But I followed the recipe with everything else. The peas were soaked overnight prior to putting them into the slow cooker. The ham bone was cooked for the first 6 hours after which time I took it out and let it cool to remove the meat...adding the meat back into the cooker. At the very end, I used my immersible blender and gave it a few swirls to thicken the soup up a bit. I never had to add any additional liquid. Served with home made corn bread, and it made a delicious winter meal. I hope to have sausage on hand next time! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tangy Cucumber and Avocado Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
So simple and very tasty...made as directed, but used bottled lime and lemon juice because that's what I had on hand. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Pizza Sauce III

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Excellent and cost effective! Made changes the same as Cindy18Lou. Used 1/3 for a large pizza and froze the remaining 2/3 in equal divided containers. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Burrito Pie

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I made just half recipe for the two of us; froze the half cans of tomato and chilies for another batch! It was very easy to make, but takes longer than an hour to put it on the table. Seems to be a good idea to make a full batch and freeze half for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Chicken Spaghetti

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Very good, and very easy to make. I kept it to one pan by cooking and draining the spaghetti, then browning veggies in the same pan. Lastly, I combined the rest of the ingredients into the pan and baked it. I didn't bother with the panko crust topping, and only used 2 T. of butter to saute the veggies. That, along with using low fat cream of mushroom soup and low fat sour cream made it healthier. I could have cut the fat even more, if I'd had low-fat shredded cheese. I used bow-tie pasta and that worked well. This is definitely something I'd make again and would be great for covered-dish potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Idahoan Mexican Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I give it 5 for flavor, but it sure didn't stand up like the photo...mine was VERY soft and smooshy. Maybe needs some cornstarch in the mix. Will play with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bake Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I rated this 4 stars the day I made it, but revised to 5 stars after they had sat overnight. Very easy to make, and as others said, a flexible recipe. Good one to make with children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Fajita Seasoning

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Great flavor, not too spicy. Saute'd peppers and onions, added 3/4 c water and the seasioning as written. Cooked for 5 minutes covered. Then added thinly sliced left over bbq'd steak and cooked until steak was warmed. Served in warmed flour tortillas and rice on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This was really good. I used the Bill Echols seasoning mix that the submitter supplied in her review. I also used chicken broth instead of beer. My only criticism is that it called for way too much chicken. Next time, I'll only use 2 or 3 breast HALVES. The suggested toppings of avacado, sour cream, cheddar cheese and corn chips were good. I served this with Grandma's Buttermilk Corn Bread, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Green Cabbage Caldo Verde

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Even though I didn't have quite the right ingredients, it came out very tasty! Used regular paprika, smoked Polish sausage (slightly browned in a cast iron skillet), and added carrots with the potatoes. I used about 3 tsp salt. My submersible blender work wonderfully to puree the soup. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nutmeg Feather Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I made these as cupcakes, and followed the recipe almost exactly as stated except that I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of all-purpose. They take about 20 minutes instead of 40 as cupcakes. These were for my son's 2nd Birthday party. They were a hit! From my 94 year old grandma to my 15 year old nephew (who had 2 or 3!) The flavor was a nice change from the usual, too-sweet cupcake and they tasted scratch baked, rather than from-the-box. I topped with cream cheese frosting that was store bought because I didn't have time to make any. A really nice recipe: back to basics, nothing flashy or exotic, just plain yummy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States