Hillsboro, Oregon - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Summer Gazpacho

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Absolutely delicious, and SO CLEVER to use pasta sauce as the base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Mrs. Sigg's Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Turned out great! I added slightly more peanut butter since I didn't want to measure it out. Cooked perfectly for about 9 minutes in my oven. Nice and soft! Just the way we like! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carly's Salmon En Papillote (In Paper)

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I made this with a big handful of chopped fresh spinach under each piece of salmon, instead of using asparagus. For seasoning, I used Johnny's seasoning salt. I baked it at 350 degrees for 20 minutes, as directed and it turned out perfect. The lemon was really good with the salmon and spinach. For a side dish, I briefly sauteed spiralized zucchini, caramelized onions, sliced mushrooms, and Adobo seasoning. I also served fresh cantaloupe cubes. It was a quick and tasty company dinner with a minimum of fuss and practically no cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Pumpkin Cheesecake

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I'm sorry, but we really didn't care for this. It took forever to set up while baking, and just spreading on the sour cream mixture, with no additional baking resulted in... well, a topping the texture of sour cream; runny. Also, there seemed to be too much pumpkin in proportion to the other filling ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Loved the nutty flavor of the quinoa cooked in chicken broth. The mix of vegetables with dried cranberries was perfect. The only thing I might do differently next time is cut back, just a smidge, on the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Grilled Salmon I

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Reallly tasty, really easy. I skipped the salt, since the soy sauce was already salty. Might cut back a smidge on the brown sugar next time. I served this with the Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad recipe on this site, fresh fruit, and stir fried vegetables. Everyone really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Lime Chicken Soft Tacos

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
There are so many ways to fix this dish...from slow cooker to using up roasted chicken. It's the delicious mixture of seasonings that makes it so tasty!! It's easy to make any way you cook it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I followed the changes suggested by the top reviewer, K. Lynn, (more spices & vanilla; substituting brown sugar for a portion of the white sugar, and substituting oil for the butter in the muffins). They were quick and easy to make and turned out great. My bananas were fairly large, so I ended up with 12 muffins, rather than 10, a happy outcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
We enjoyed this dish, but we'll try cilantro in place of parsley next time. This was my first experience cooking with quinoa...and had to buy a double mesh strainer to accommodate those tiny little grains!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Made exactly as stated, except used 1/3 cup oil. We put some on steak, some on chicken. It was delicious! This recipe is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Wow! These were fabulous as is. I didn't have fresh berries, so I used frozen and they turned out AmazinG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Bread Spread

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Easy to make and tasty...I won't bake it as long next time as it seemed to dry the bread out too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Bread II

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
The flavor and texture is very good and easy to make too! But, my dough came out sticky and had to carefully work at getting it into one loaf (that was all I could do with it). Next time I will use a 3:1 flour to water ratio as another commenter suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken Taquitos

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Very easy to make. I cooked my own chicken though. They were a bit on the bland side. I will add some spices next time to kick it up a notch...but a great base recipe! Thank you~ 5/29/14 Update: After boning out a leftover roasted chicken, I had approx 4 cups chopped chicken. I added about 1/3 cup sour cream, 1 Tbls taco seasoning and increased the hot sauce and cheese accordingly. These were THE best! I froze the leftover taquitos for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Biscuits with Mayonnaise

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Used butter instead of oil. Tried not to handle the dough too much, but the still came out a bit hard. I'll try patting them out then doubling them over before cutting next time. Quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Spicy Grilled Shrimp

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
AH-MAY-SING, yup, I said "sing" cuz that's what these shrimp make me wanna do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Carcass Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
We had a turkey breast and made half of the soup recipe with it and it turned out excellent. I didn't get a lot of turkey flavor from just one hour of simmering, so I added one Knorr concentrated chicken soup stock, and that did the trick to bring up the flavor. Next time I would simmer the carcass longer. But, the husband loved it. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Yes, it's sort of a strange combination of mixes, but it works wonderfully!! I added quartered, peeled potatoes around the sides of the roast. Love the simplicity of the recipe for busy days. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Extreme Veggie Scrambled Eggs

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I often forget how well veggies go with scrambled eggs. Versatile with whatever you have on hand! Roll it up in a warm tortilla or with an English muffin...easy breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
As with most recipes on this site, it takes quite a bit longer to make...3 hours to be exact. But it was delicious, and the husband said it was a keeper. I used a whole chicken that had been smoked with apple pellets which gave it an interesting smoked flavor. This was my first attempt at making noodles, so I didn't know what to expect. I rolled them out on my pastry board and cut into strips with a pizza cutter...simple, but they were a bit sticky, and I had used at least 3 1/2 cups flour. I sprinkled flour over the noodles as I scrapped the strips off of the board and let them dry while I de-boned the chicken. The noodles probably could have been rolled out thinner, but it worked OK. The consistency was more like soup; I will thicken the left overs with cornstarch/water mixture. Will definitely make this again, but allow more time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States