Hillsboro, Oregon - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This is definitely not your Grandma's bean soup...what a nice change! I couldn't stay home for the day, so I used my largest slow cooker...and I knew that everything would not fit. I cooked the beans on the stove for 2 hours, drained and put into the pot. I cut back on the carrots and the ham (my ham bone was very meaty anyhow) and the broth. I filled the pot with all of the spices, celery, onion, tomato, etc. just as listed and filled it to the top with chicken broth and let is cook on low for 10 hours. I took out the bone and added in about 2 cups of water and let it cook on high for about an hour. I used my submersible blender and whipped up some of the beans, but left it so it was still chunky and was just how we like it as far as thickness. EXCELLENT flavor!! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham and Cheese Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
We liked this pretty well. I didn't have cornflakes, so subed w/French onions...good flavor. For our taste, a little less bread, more egg and not so much butter. I definitely liked making it the night before! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hearty Ham Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
We loved the flavor of this dish. I sauteed two sliced celery ribs (substituted for parsley) and 1/4 cup onion in the butter, then added the flour, but mistakenly used 2 cups milk. I also used shredded cheddar because that is what I had. The end result was a bit runny (my error with the milk), but the flavor was very good, and the husband said to keep this recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Rice

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This is a great recipe! Very creamy! I didn't change a thing and it thickened up just right. My husband said it wasn't sweet enough and added more sugar but I love it as is. As for those who say they loved this recipe but changed ingredients, you do realize don't you, that if you change an ingredient, add an ingredient or delete an ingredient then it is no longer this recipe. Just one of my petpeeves about many of the reviews on this site. But, enjoy this recipe as is or with alterations. bg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seal Rock, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ranch Dressing II

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Used 1/2 cup each of buttermilk, mayo, and sour cream. No dill weed. Chilled overnight. Not bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seven Layer Tortilla Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I have to give this 5 stars even though I made some changes. I think following the recipe as written would be perfect too! We had left over Carnitas (pork)so, I added a layer of the meat in the middle. Also used two cans of Rosarita refried beans in stead of mashing pinto beans and a can of Rotel tomatoes instead of fresh tomatoes. There's enough of both mixtures left over to make another small tortilla pie!!! The tortillas were heated on a dry skillet before using. I baked it in a spring-form pan, but won't do that again...a terrible mess as the first tortilla stuck to the bottom and all the juices burnt into the pan. I should have known to grease the pan! I also think the next size up for the tortillas would be a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab and Swiss Melts

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
These were so very good! The kids argued over who got the last few melts, right down to splitting the last one in half. Some people said there was too much cream cheese for the amount of crab, so I just added more until I thought it was a good ratio (used fake crab). Also added green onions as others suggested. Didn't have Swiss, so used a pre-shredded pizza mix of cheeses and that was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINCHRISSY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

Spring Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This was SO GOOD!!!! Even my teen son who detests broccoli voluntarily went back for a second big helping. No better testament than that! Used cider vinegar since I didn't have white wine and it worked wonderfully. Used all red grapes since I didn't have green, and I think that worked well for color against all the other green veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINCHRISSY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

Slow Cooker Carnitas

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I used a bone-in roast because that is what I had on hand, and it worked perfectly. I used the ingredients as listed (except for coriander that I didn't have). Cooked on high for two hours and low for another 6 hours; turning it over mid way through. Excellent flavor and perfectly done. I do believe that doubling the spices except for the cinnamon would be a good idea. We have lots of left over for two or three more meals as there are just two of us! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corned Beef and Cabbage

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
We liked the flavor of this recipe though I think the vinegar could be cut in half. I used my large cooker and had no problem fitting everything in and should have put in more potatoes (used red potatoes and left skins on). I didn't want the cabbage to be too mushy, so I intended to put it in the last two hours of cooking...and then totally forgot and had to cook the cabbage in the microwave. All came out well enough and it was a great dinner. UPDATE: 3/15/14 I put all the root vegetables on the bottom and sides around the meat. I used 4 cups water, and it still did not cover the meat. So, I peeled a couple of leaves off the cabbage and laid them over the top of the meat to hold in moisture. Then the remaining cabbage was added 1 1/2 hours before the done time of 10 hours. The meat was fairly tender, but not quite as moist as I would like it to be. I'm deciding that corned beef just needs to be on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I've been making a similar soup as this one for years. This recipe interested me because it had the tomato sauce as an ingredient that my other recipe doesn't call for. I made as directed with only two changes: substituted black beans for the kidney beans and added a packet of Ranch Dressing. We loved the flavor, but I prefer a thicker soup. Next time I will drain the liquid off of the corn and use tomato paste instead of tomato sauce. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flan III

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Creamy and light. I had printed this out over a year ago and finally made it yesterday. I loved that it has heavy cream and half & half in it, this made it much creamier than most other flans. It is very good but a bit too eggy. I'll make this again but tweak it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seal Rock, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I have used this recipe for years. I found it when I got my first computer and discovered this web site. I'm not sure why it is better because other recipes are so simular. I've had a lot of banana bread from other people and they never quite compare. Thank you, Shelley!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seal Rock, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Home Rice

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Made this as written except for the amount of ketchup...just put the bottle on the table and we added to taste. It was a quick, tasty breakfast! I can see that by adding chicken it could be a nice, quick dinner also! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Split Pea Soup with Bacon and Hash Browns

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Great recipe! Followed to a T except used broth from boiled beef tongue instead of chicken broth...awesome flavor! Cooked on low for about 12 hours...split peas were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

VanVoorst Ham Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
We really liked this recipe. I only had 1/2 cup Mozzarella cheese, so I used Parmesan for the topping cheese and it worked out great. I also had to use dried parsley. I was cautious about the amount of mustard, so I only used 1 tablespoon, but I think the full amount would have been fine. Caution on the "salt to taste." When taste testing prior to baking, I added salt because it seemed to need it, then after baking and all the flavors had melded, it was too salty. It's a great way to use up left over ham and I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage and Noodles

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This is a simple, quick and easy comfort food all in one meal. I used left over ham in place of bacon and it was perfect. I save bacon grease for cooking so was able to get the great bacon flavor and just added a tablespoon here and there when it needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Lemon Pepper Linguini

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Delicious! I did double the sauce though. I put half the pepper in and told my husband to add more pepper on his serving. I only had cooked shrimp on hand, so I added these at the very last to warm them. I would have liked to use fresh herbs too, but had to go with dried. It was still wonderful and will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
for all the extra time this took, it wasn't worth it...and this is missing onion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I've got to give this 5* even though it turned out way too salty. After reading other reviews, I realized my teriyaki sauce was salty enough and didn't need the garlic salt. So, next time more garlic and no garlic salt. I will probably reduce the amounts of oil and butter since there was a lot left over in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States