Hillsboro, Oregon - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Fajita Seasoning

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Great flavor, not too spicy. Saute'd peppers and onions, added 3/4 c water and the seasioning as written. Cooked for 5 minutes covered. Then added thinly sliced left over bbq'd steak and cooked until steak was warmed. Served in warmed flour tortillas and rice on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Green Cabbage Caldo Verde

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Even though I didn't have quite the right ingredients, it came out very tasty! Used regular paprika, smoked Polish sausage (slightly browned in a cast iron skillet), and added carrots with the potatoes. I used about 3 tsp salt. My submersible blender work wonderfully to puree the soup. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nutmeg Feather Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I made these as cupcakes, and followed the recipe almost exactly as stated except that I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of all-purpose. They take about 20 minutes instead of 40 as cupcakes. These were for my son's 2nd Birthday party. They were a hit! From my 94 year old grandma to my 15 year old nephew (who had 2 or 3!) The flavor was a nice change from the usual, too-sweet cupcake and they tasted scratch baked, rather than from-the-box. I topped with cream cheese frosting that was store bought because I didn't have time to make any. A really nice recipe: back to basics, nothing flashy or exotic, just plain yummy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
For our personal taste, 1/2 pound of sausage would have been enough. I cooked about 1/4 cup chopped onion with the sausage. Go light on the salt! Increase the egg by one and use one more slice of bread. Cooked in a 7" x 12" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Bean Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This definitely makes a lot of dip; a medium bowl doesn't cut it! I used a whole packet of taco mix, added a small can of diced chilies and put most of the shredded cheese into the dip leaving a 1/2 cup or so for the top which I put on for the last 10 minutes of heating. LEFTOVERS!! Let me count the ways: enough for another party, then stuffing for enchiladas, then stuffing for breakfast burritos with an egg...This was good, but next time I will only make HALF a batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
We liked this recipe over another similar recipe on this site. Love how easy this is...and the convenience to have the potatoes done ahead of time on Thanksgiving. I failed to take heed and forgot to stir occasionally...that's a must to keep them from sticking to the cooker. The butter wasn't needed since we were putting gravy on the potatoes. Also, the left over liquid was wonderful for turkey soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bill's Sausage Gravy

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
We liked it, and the maple flavor is nice for a change, but I wouldn't use this recipe for every biscuit 'n gravy breakfast. Next time, I'll try it with regular breakfast sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Biscuits

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Really simple, quick and easy...taste was good. They're plain, but are perfect for biscuits and gravy or butter and jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Easy and tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Excellent flavor...much better than the packets from the store. Just need to make big batches to have it on hand. 2 tablespoons seasoning mix mixed with 1/2 tablespoon flour sprinkled over the browned meat and some onion...add 2/3 cup water...stir well and let simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Carrot Cake Steel Cut Oats

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I followed the recipe entirely. I did not like it. My family didn't either. It wasn't tasty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KikiMonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malad City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Yes, this recipe takes MUCH longer than "ready in 40 minutes" !!!!!!!!! I just made half a batch for the two of us, and it was very thick. I should have added more stock, but it was late in the evening and we needed to eat. I will adjust next time. I also made this in my cast iron, which I won't do again either. Very filling dinner with some fresh baked biscuits. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
The husband said to put it on the list to do again! These were tasty and easy to prepare. I only used about 1/8 tesp pepper flakes for our taste. A very good mid week dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Noodles Mexicana

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
nasty! I had to keep adding water, seasonings, salsa etc to get the noodles to soak up some moisture and cook. In the end, it was burning to the bottom of the pot and the noodles were pasty. What a waste! Thank goodness for cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I've gone to MANY potluck events and have always wanted the recipe to this salad...This is the one!!! I took it to a potluck, and had people asking me for the recipe...this really is the one! Thank you for sharing~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This ole slaw is great. I have been searching forever for a coleslaw dressing. This is all I need now. The only change I made is adding celery seed. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KikiMonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malad City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Salmon I

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
We love this recipe. I never seem to have the lemon pepper so we just add Ginger and we never season the fish, we just put all ingredients into the ziplock and add the fish! This is so good! Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Top Sirloin Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
We enjoyed the flavor very much...and it was quick and easy to assemble. I didn't have any green pepper, so we just skipped that part. The left over broth went into the freezer for a beef soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I followed the recipe and directions as written except used a packet of onion soup mixed in 1 1/2 cups water in place of the beef broth. Corrine's suggestions sound good, but I didn't have time for that. My husband and I both loved the flavor and the stew gravy was just right. It cooked on low for 10 hours and on warm for another hour. I wished I had a good fresh, crusty bread to soak up the gravy! Next time I will~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

California Cole Slaw

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This is a very nice change from the more traditional creamy cole slaw. Tasty and refreshing on a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States