Hillsboro, Oregon - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Addictive Sesame Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This was way too sweet. Followed the recipe to a T. It was horrible, we threw it away and went to taco bell which in this case was sadly better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Chicken Rolls with Chutney Curry Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I am the submitter of this recipe. Since the original submission, I shared it with a friend who had the wonderful idea of serving the chicken filling in pre-made phyllo cups, topped with the mango-curry sauce and a sprinkling of parsley or cilantro. It really adds to the presentation and ensures everyone tries both the filling and the sauce together. Over time, I have also adjusted the recipe and now use the following ingredients to make 50 won tons or phyllo cups: • Chicken Roll Ingredients: • 1 package won ton wrappers or phyllo cups (about 50) • 8 oz. Neufchatel cream cheese, room temperature • 2 - 4 Tablespoons light or non-fat sour cream, if desired • ¼ - 1/2 c. milk (as needed to thin filling) (I used Silk unsweetened almond milk) • 1 teaspoon garlic salt • 1 teaspoon curry powder • 16 oz. package frozen chopped spinach, cooked, squeezed dry • 1 standard-size can ripe olives, thinly sliced • 3 - 4 cups diced cooked chicken • Olive oil spray • • Curry-Chutney Sauce ingredients: • 1 cup plain low-fat or non-fat sour cream • 8 teaspoons mango chutney (chop any large pieces) • 1 to 2 teaspoon curry powder (to taste)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
We enjoyed this dish...made it the day before Thanksgiving, took it out of the fridge to bring to room temp before putting into the oven. What I won't do next time is double the topping for a single batch as some comments had suggested...way too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Libby's® Famous Pumpkin Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Year after year, this is always my fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made these the day before Thanksgiving and put them in my slow cooker on low for about 4 hours before the dinner. They were thick and goopy...very disappointed. Sorry, but I can't waste my money on this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Delicious on a cold winter evening using simple ingredients that I always have on hand! Made as directed w/two changes: used 1 tub of Knorr concentrated chicken stock instead of bouillon and reduced pepper to 1/2 tesp for our taste. I left the soup simmering on the stove waiting for the husband to get home, and it broke down the potatoes and made the soup thicker...just the way we like it! Thanks for sharing~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Tasty! I put the seeds in a bowl of water and soaked them overnight. Then I rinsed them off in a colander...cleaned up perfectly. Spread them out on a cookie sheet to dry overnight. I only had 1 cup of seeds and the butter was a bit too much but was fine anyway. I used a combo of garlic salt and seasoned salt. I think any kind of salt to your liking will work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ground Beef Curly Noodle

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Wow. I read this recipe a few weeks ago. So simple. I didn't think my husband would go for it. Tonight I asked him if I could try this recipe I saw. He said sure. It is a keeper. I didn't follow it exactly. I didn't have canned tomatoes, so I used medium picante salsa. That gave it a great kick. I will definitely make this again. Going to share it with my bachelor sons as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KikiMonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malad City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ground Beef Curly Noodle

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Wow. I read this recipe a few weeks ago. So simple. I didn't think my husband would go for it. Tonight I asked him if I could try this recipe I saw. He said sure. It is a keeper. I didn't follow it exactly. I didn't have canned tomatoes, so I used medium picante salsa. That gave it a great kick. I will definitely make this again. Going to share it with my bachelor sons as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KikiMonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malad City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zuppa Toscana

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
My family enjoyed this meal. Even my kid who doesn't like soup said he could eat it, just isn't his favorite. However, that is better than refusing to eat it!!! I didn't use heavy cream to save on calories. We added a dollop of sour cream to make it seem creamier. Also used mild Italian sausage with gave it so much flavor. We will be making this again. I also cooked the sausage, onions, bacon ahead of time and added the rest of the ingredients to the slow cooker. Then added the bacon,sausage mix to the slow cooker and cooked on high for 3 hrs. I love my slow cooker for busy days!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Davies

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken II

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
My family loved this meal. It was quick and easy and perfect for a work night. We enjoyed it with spaghetti squashed making this a healthy option for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Davies

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

Sexy Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
My family and friends enjoyed this recipe. It was perfect for the first rainy day in the PNW. I loved that it took 10 minutes to prepare and then when I returned home from work it was ready to serve. We added a dollop of sour cream, cilantro, and cheese to the top. Another great meal #AroundTheTable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Davies

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

White Chili I

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
My family and friends enjoyed this recipe. It was perfect for the first rainy day in the PNW. I loved that it took 10 minutes to prepare and then when I returned home from work it was ready to serve. We added a dollop of sour cream, cilantro, and cheese to the top. Another great meal #AroundTheTable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Davies

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

Quinoa Stuffed Bell Peppers

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This meal was healthy and filling. You do not need to serve it with anything. Everything is packed into one bell pepper. If you are like me and like to eat a little healthy but still enjoy a ton of flavor then this is a great dish for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Davies

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Wonderfully simple and tasty!! Lovin' the leftovers too! I'll definitely do this recipe again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jamie's Minestrone

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I like to make a new recipe as it's written the first time I try it and change things the next time to make it better. I will not change a thing and will definitely make again!! Thanks for a great recipe....loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAUJRA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

Easy Summer Gazpacho

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Absolutely delicious, and SO CLEVER to use pasta sauce as the base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Carly's Salmon En Papillote (In Paper)

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I made this with a big handful of chopped fresh spinach under each piece of salmon, instead of using asparagus. For seasoning, I used Johnny's seasoning salt. I baked it at 350 degrees for 20 minutes, as directed and it turned out perfect. The lemon was really good with the salmon and spinach. For a side dish, I briefly sauteed spiralized zucchini, caramelized onions, sliced mushrooms, and Adobo seasoning. I also served fresh cantaloupe cubes. It was a quick and tasty company dinner with a minimum of fuss and practically no cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Pumpkin Cheesecake

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I'm sorry, but we really didn't care for this. It took forever to set up while baking, and just spreading on the sour cream mixture, with no additional baking resulted in... well, a topping the texture of sour cream; runny. Also, there seemed to be too much pumpkin in proportion to the other filling ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Loved the nutty flavor of the quinoa cooked in chicken broth. The mix of vegetables with dried cranberries was perfect. The only thing I might do differently next time is cut back, just a smidge, on the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States