Eugene - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Buttermilk Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
OK, well this was interesting. I read a LOT of the reviews and although I did add less sugar, I pre-baked the crust for a few minutes and baked the pie at 400F for 15 min. and then 350F for about 40 minutes. The texture was not as creamy as I would have thought. I had never made a pie like this before or tasted one. I think the family was being kind but didn't really like it. No big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Light Lemon Pesto Pasta

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Love the addition of the lemon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Diane's Scotch-Irish Potato Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Great recipe - and easy enough to add what you like and leave OUT the ingredients you don't care for - to customize the potato salad for your family/gathering's tastes. Made a 1/2 batch and my husband and I ate on it for 4 days! Would be great for a potluck-sized gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Lyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kemmerer, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Divine Hard-Boiled Eggs

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Followed instructions exactly. Had great eggs. Not much else to say here :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Lyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kemmerer, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Like other reviewers, my bread came out kind of dry, kind of bland- not much zucchini flavor. It was "okay". I tried one loaf in a metal pan and the other in glass to see if that made a difference - both were done after 60 minutes, not 80. I also put chocolate chips in 1 and left it out of the other after some reviewers said the taste "didn't meld" well. I thought the chocolate chips added a little flavor, so I'd keep 'em. Not a terrible recipe, but okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Lyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kemmerer, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fudge Puddles

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
PB & chocolate perfection....the chewy and the creamy combined...Oh my. D-E-licious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Garlic

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I wish I had more than 2 cloves of garlic when I did this. It was so good I used one head just on garlic bread & stored the other for later. I used the tent method, cut the ends off & drizzled with olive oil. 400 degrees & about 50 minutes later & the garlic had a nice roasted golden color. Next time I'll make enough to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8BUG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

Spinach Basil Pesto

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is so good! The lemon zest & juice add a nice freshness to the pesto. I subbed walnuts for the pine nuts. I made this to use as the pesto for AR Tenna's Spicy Pesto Chicken recipe. It looked & smelled so good, I could not wait. I use a piece of french bread to clean out the food processor. This would be great on pizza, as a dip mixed with some goat cheese or ricotta & of course over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8BUG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
YUM!!! This was really good and SOOOOOOO EASY!!!! I really didn't change anything besides only using a 1/2 cup a water, but i only did that cause I had dumped in my whole (16oz) Jar of Pace chunky salsa. Also i just used cheddar cheese, i'm sure pepper jack would be great too for a little spice! Husband said it was "Awesome"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

Sweet Potato Bread I

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Pretty good. Lightly spiced and similar to banana bread. Subbing some of the sugar with brown sugar does improve the flavor. If you use Splenda for the sugar and are making muffins with paper cups, spray the paper cup with cooking spray before adding the batter. This will help with any sticking issues (I loose a bit to the paper if I don't). I used the walnuts I had on hand. Fill the tins mostly full with batter for a full muffin size. Bake for 45 minutes. Makes 6 big muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxy Felix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

The Real Mojito

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Very Yummy and refreshing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Photo by Jade W

Cauliflower Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
very yummy! just cooked the cauliflower in a skillet with a splash of water. covered and cooked till tender. let cool in freezer then used cheese cloth and squeezed out the the water. Turned out great! Husband really liked! This actually turned out better then some flour crusts I've made :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

Chicken with Lemon Artichoke Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I made this using what I had - I only had light cream which made the sauce too thin, plus it curdled. If you are going to make this, I highly recommend using only whipping/heavy cream. It makes a nice, thick sauce which doesn't break. The flavour was good, will probably make again using the proper ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Candied Pecans

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Sweet, salty & crunchy, a perfect recipe. I did not have pecans so I used walnuts & lined the cookie sheet with parchment paper. A pound of nuts equals about 4 cups. Today I am using almonds & gifting these tasty treats to a lucky friend. Also chopped a few to use in a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8BUG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
This was delicious. I used what I had - mayo, butter, lemon juice, Old Bay Seasoning, pepper, and I added a few tablespoons of bread crumbs (and a little water to loosen it up after that!). Broiled fish for 2 minutes, put topping on, broiled again. Hubby and I loved this. Tilapia is such a beautiful fish and this topping complemented it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Lentils and Kale

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Nummy! Added more lentils for a thicker consistency. Made my own salsa to add. Liked as toppings: Feta cheese, sour cream and/or Greek yogurt. Makes a lot! Suggestions for leftovers are: stuff an omelet with it; enchiladas; stuffed pitas; breakfast burrito; stuffed bell peppers. Goes well with so many things. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxy Felix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
These are to die for! They are so delicious! I did add a little vanilla extract like other reviewers suggested and I used brown sugar instead of white for the crumble used for the top of he muffins. These are the best muffins I've ever baked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CVD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

Fabulous Oatmeal-Bran Cake

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I needed a whole grain muffin recipe in which I could embellish. I used 5 grain rolled flakes for the rolled oats, Hodgson Mills Oat bran hot cereal and added apple pieces and frozen blackberries to the batter. Also increased the cinnamon, added allspice and vanilla to taste. Subbed Splenda for the white sugar (less 1/4 cup from recipe). Baked at 350 for 25 minutes. Nummy! Makes 12 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxy Felix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

Unbelievably Yummy Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Well, I have to say... this WAS unbelievably yummy! The family loved it. HOWEVER, I did NOT add the whipped topping (no way was I doing that, sorry!), nor did I use processed American cheese. I used fresh grated mozzarella and cheddar combined. I also cooked the chicken pieces with some diced onion before putting everything into a casserole dish. With my changes, I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon-Lime Cheesecake

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I made this recipe for Easter dinner. If I made it again I would go with a completely edible garnish like a yellow or green jelly bean on each slice. Most people enjoyed it. To help avoid an unsightly crack, I placed a dish of boiling water in the oven next to the cheesecake, and I didn't overbake it - this did help. I used a lot more zest and juice than the recipe called for - I think you have to - very bland otherwise. Also, I would add a drop or two of yellow food colouring. It did not come out as yellow as the picture shows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States