Corvallis - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Corn Dog Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Thought this was a good, basic recipe. Tasted Just like corn dogs when eaten with ketchup and mustard, but I also served chili and extra cheese along side in case someone wasn't feeling the corn dog flavor. Thought it tasted great both ways, just depends on what you're feeling more. Like many other reviewers I omitted the celery, green onions, sage and pepper, but I added in 1 can whole kernel corn (drained) and 1/2 cup sour cream per the suggestion of another reviewer. This is a keeper recipe for when I'm looking for something easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mississippi Mud Brownies

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This recipe was good. Left out the nuts due to allergies. I did omit 1 cup powdered sugar from the frosting. It would've been way to sweet otherwise. Not my favorite brownie recipe, but my father-in-law said that these were the best brownies he has had in a long time and he is the king of sweets here, so he would know. I'll be keeping this recipe just for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This turned out great! Left out the nuts because of allergies. The cake was nice and moist. I didn't use the frosting recipe as I already have a cream cheese frosting recipe that I use for cakes Definitely a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Roche

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Nothing really spectacular with this one. Pretty simple and quick and easy to make, but not a staple in our kitchen. Could taste better if I had used fresh tomatoes, fresh green beans and maybe some white wine?? That would maybe eliminate some of the canned taste the dish had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Waffles I

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
These were fantastic!! Light and fluffy. Had just a couple for leftovers and they didn't last longer than the next meal. The only thing I did differently was per some of the reviews I added some cinnamon to the batter. Next time I will double the recipe because there will definitely be a next time! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cider Vinegar Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I'm gonna give this recipe 5 stars, mostly because of it's simplicity, how few ingredients there are, and how fabulously tender the chicken comes out. I was only making 1 serving, so I just put my chicken in a small dish, sprinkled it with garlic, salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper (as suggested by other reviewers), then covered it with 1/2 cup of apple cider vinegar mixed with 1/2 cup water and a little bit of honey (again, suggested by other reviewers). I'm not usually a huge fan of vinegar, but I thought this came out wonderfully! Ate it over roasted cauliflower, asparagus and yam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clairvis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Great and quick way to do flavorful chicken! Served along with some rice and green salad. A wonderful quick meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salted Peanut Bars

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Amazing and decadent treat! Made it with large marshmallows (what I had at the time) and the peanut caramel pooled around the marshmallows giving it a kind of 'rocky road' looking appearance with some of the marshmallows peeking out from the topping. Great both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUEJACKSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Soup Base

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Thank you SO MUCH for this! I was ready to make PoppySeed Chicken and realized I was out of cream soup! I remembered seeing this recipe long ago--searched, and THERE IT WAS! I will never BUY cream soup again--this is SO MUCH BETTER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

Gingerbread Boys

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
So delicious. It really helps to only have the dough out right before rolling and cutting and to keep it in the fridge for as long as possible in between. It really helps to keep the dough moldable and keep its structure while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlynweston

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Layer Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very creamy and moist, but didn't hold together very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlynweston

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts, Sage, and Romano

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very refreshing and delicious. Plain spaghetti squash is delicious as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlynweston

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttermilk Syrup

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I am happy that I read the reviews concerning a BIG pan! Started out in a 2 qt. pan and QUICKLY changed to the big PASTA PAN !! Excited to try it on some ice cream when it cools off! FUN TO MAKE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

BBQ Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
My friends and I cooked this for a group of teenagers and it got mixed reviews. I thought it had good flavor and liked it, but others weren't crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Mexican Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This is excellent! I cooked it as written and served it to a group of teenagers. Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This is a delicious breakfast casserole. I followed the recipe exactly as written and served it to a group of teenagers. Everyone seemed to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheddar Ranch Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
The only change I made to this was using real bacon crumbles. It was very good with Wheat Thins and my coworkers enjoyed it as well. I think it would also be good as a veggie dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pretzel Turtles

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
These are exceptional! I used square pretzels, Dove caramel chocolates, and toasted my pecans for about 5 minutes by themselves before using them. I was afraid the caramel centers in the Dove chocolates might not do well since it is a softer caramel than Rolos, which a lot of reviewers used. If you use Dove, don't leave them in the oven more than 3 minutes, and press the pecans into the chocolate just slightly so the caramel doesn't ooze out. Mine firmed up nicely and packaged well. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Twice Baked Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
These weren't the greatest twice baked potatoes my husband and I have had, but they were tasty. Even after I was full I went back for just one more potato. I loved how easy they were. If I were to do something different next time, I would mix the bacon in the potatoes, instead of adding on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
So much fun and super tasty!! Warning: Do Not put these in the freezer to "save" for giving to others for the holiday. They are FANTASTIC straight out of the freezer and will not last long. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Cohrene
Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States