Corvallis - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Spiced D'Anjou Pear Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This is a perfect way to show off your fall pears! It is a very moist and flavorful bread. I diced my pears to 1/2" cubes after coring and peeling them to insure even distribution in the bread. I then dredged them first in the combined dry ingredients before stirring into the wet ingredients mixture. I finished the recipe as directed. They took 60 minutes to cook and are a hit with our family and friends. With such a moist "plummy" bread, I chose to wrap it in foil and store in my refrigerator. I serve it cut into 2" slices topped with fresh whipped cream. You can choose to heat the slices in the microwave before topping with either vanilla ice cream or fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monte Rice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Oregon, USA

No Fail Pie Crust II

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
WOWSER! My pie crust used to be tough. I just never spent much time on them. I bugged my mother to make them for me instead, sigh... NEVERMORE! I just used this for homemade double crust chicken pot pie and the families that received them for dinner tonight are raving about them. I made one change. I used 1 c lard, chilled and 2/3 c non salted, sweet cream butter, cubed 1/2" and chilled for the fat component.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monte Rice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Oregon, USA

Italian Beef in a Bucket

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I started this 18 hour recipe the evening of our surprise Hurricane Charley in 2004--after the first 3 hours, we lost our power for two days! Of course, I had to throw it away--ready to buy all the ingredients again!! I rated 5 stars because I KNOW how yummy it will be!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

Absolutely the BEST Rich and Creamy Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This is an awesome recipe! I did use lemon juice for half of the vinegar amt, and fresh garlic. Thanks, Luckyme9, this is the recipe I was searching for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

Absolutely the BEST Rich and Creamy Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This is an awesome recipe! I did use lemon juice for half of the vinegar amt, and fresh garlic. Thanks, Luckyme9, this is the recipe I was searching for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

Absolutely the BEST Rich and Creamy Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This is an awesome recipe! I did use lemon juice for half of the vinegar amt, and fresh garlic. Thanks, Luckyme9, this is the recipe I was searching for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

Zucchini Brownies

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Excellent brownies, and love the frosting too! Thanks Marian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUEJACKSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Egg and Cheese Puffs

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Good stuff! Made it exactly as printed with addition of tabasco. Basically this is a crustless quiche and could be a vehicle for artichoke hearts with feta cheese or mushrooms and roasted red pepper with brie which I plan to try next. The sky is the limit with this basic recipe! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

Veggie Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Fabulous and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

Mom's Sticky Chicken From 1972

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This recipe is excellent! I knew from reading the ingredients that it would be a winner, and VERY happy with the wings! Instead of basting, I just turned the meat over every ten minutes--excited to make this again and again! Sauce DOES thicken as it bakes--I would not change a THING! Thanks for this one--I LOVE IT !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

Honey Cashew Green Beans

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I didn't have cashews, but had chopped pecans on hand so I used those. Excellent!!! Needed salt, but that was easy enought ot add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Mason

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab Stuffed Flounder

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This is really important: DO NOT USE ARROWTOOTH FLOUNDER. If you do, the entire dish will turn into a mushy paste. I recommend using sole. I've also tried the recipe with snapper and it worked well. The recipe "as is" is pretty tasty. I modified it slightly by using butter crackers instead of saltines. I also pan fried the fish before adding the crab layer on top and then baking the entire dish (but reducing the baking time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Trifle

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Great foundation recipe. Beautiful layering. I used pound cake instead of angel food. I used cheesecake pudding and folded in whipped cream for more of a mousse layer. Used fresh strawberries. Even used made a puree with some of the strawberries to soak the cake. I left out the bananas..........because I don't like bananas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Roasted Trout with Lemon Dill Stuffing

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Good stuff! To make the soft bread crumbs, I used fresh sourdough bread (with crusts trimmed) and pulsed it in the food processor until they were pea sized (& smaller). Added more garlic and more dill (3T) and 1T lemon juice. Next time will try caramelizing the onions as per another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

Yogurt Yeast Rolls

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
fast, easy, excellent taste and texture, LOVE IT! It's my new standby for sandwich rolls... shape thhem into 1" x 2" buns that rise to a perfect 1.5 x 3 size for sandwiches! Thanks for the recipe Carol!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUEJACKSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Almond-Topped Fish

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Rave reviews from my guests! Used sliced almonds, toasted first in a skillet and freshly caught sea bass. Yum! It needed at bit more lemon at the end, but that made for an even more beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Photo by kimberlynweston

Bird Rolls

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Not only were these adorable but also very delicious. I had no problems with the dough or anything and the turnout was great. Some of my birds came out a little weird but with practice they started looking better. My family absolutely loved them; I mean, who couldn't love these little chickies? Very creative and cute and a definite addition to my cookbook and list of Easter traditions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlynweston

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Queso Dip

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Yummy! Added quite a bit more salsa though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PORKBUN
Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Great recipe! Followed it to a tee and baked for 55 min. The corners were almost caramelized and absolutely delicious! We had some sour pitted cherries frozen back from last summer that when thawed had about 1/4 cup of juice. Poured that on after placing the cherries on the batter. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

Cincinnati Chili I

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Excellent. I added a little salt, pepper, and sugar to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States