Corvallis - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Saucy Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
This is my VERY favorite Stuffed Peppers recipe! I have been making this , not often enough, ever since I joined Allrecipes, which is YEARS ago! I DO ADD oregano and garlic. This is the BEST RECIPE for STUFFED PEPPERS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

Refrigerator Lemon Margarita Pie

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This pie is amazingly easy and amazingly delicious! I made it for our RiverHouse Cheeseburger in Paradise Party today, and it will be a huge HIT along with the Live Music of Donnie playing his amazing guitar!! People will be dancing in the pool while others are nibbling on this PIE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Great recipe! I didn't use the vanilla beans but it still turned out perfect. I did add a half-teaspoon of anise extract which adds an interesting flavor to the cookies. I found you can use a stand mixer to mix the flour, sugar and nuts to the perfect consistency, no hand mixing required. Another note, there is no need to space these cookies when baking as they are a shortbread and contain no baking soda or powder & won't spread a bit, only puff up slightly. Also, I find letting them cool for a minute is hardly necessary, as the sugar melts into the cookie quite perfectly fresh out of the oven. To the reviewer who complained about the sugar melting into the cookies-this is the intended effect with this kind of cookies as it adds flavor. And if you use a large enough container and a spoon to roll in powdered sugar you can coat several cookies at once. Mine were also dipped/drizzled in chocolate which is a bit tricky with the powdered sugar but looks & tastes fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Peterson
Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Dijon Salmon

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This was delicious! It was the perfect combinations of salty and sweet and flakey and crunchy. I left out the nuts and used Italian-flavored bread crumbs. Even my picky toddler and husband who won't eat something unless it's drowned in Sriracha ate it all as prepared. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CelinasMommy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baba Ghanoush

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Very delicious recipe, though if I make it next time I might use two eggplants instead of one or maybe use slightly less garlic! Didn't have the sesame seeds but it turned out just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Peterson
Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Aussie Omelet

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Delicious! I only used two eggs--single serving--and made ALL the filling with extra shrimp and a handful of fresh spinach, then refrigerated half the filling so I can enjoy for lunch with some pasta or rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I found this recipe to be way too sweet. And I love plain sweet potatoes! I think that this recipe is just missing the salt and spice making it taste a little bland. So the next night I added some cooked Spanish rice into the leftover mix and they tasted great after that. It definitely needs a little oomph. I haven't made it since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CelinasMommy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Cornbread Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I have Celiace Disease so subbed out the all purpose flour for Masa harina flour, and subbed out the milk and butter with almond milk and almond butter. I love this recipe so does my whole family, it is truly lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Grau-Fay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Banana Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Absolutely the best Banana Bread recipe, and I have tried many! Moist, flavorful and my hubby's favorite snack bread. I omit the nuts and chocolate as I can't have either, but it is still awesome. I make this often. Nummy, nummy, nummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monte Rice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Oregon, USA
Photo by cassarugh

Oatmeal-Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Very good recipe. I love sweets but this may have been a little too sweet for me. Next time I will try cutting the sugar back by a 1/4 cup. I used a cookie scoop to place them on the pan and they ended up spreading nicely to the perfect thickness. I had a problem with subsequent pans and the cookies cooking too quickly so I turned the temp down to 325 degrees but I was using convection oven and that's new to me so perhaps that is needed in convection ovens regardless. These were chewy the following day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
This recipe ROCKS - I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SRB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Guacamole

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
So easy and SO DELICIOUS!! I did snip a little fresh cilantro into it, but it was perfect and authentic without the cilantro...I just happened to have some on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

Quick Black Forest Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I read the reviews AFTER I put it in the pan, but decided to go with the original recipe anyway. I am so GLAD I DID! I did NOT add oil and water--maybe why it was dry to some was that it was overbaked. I checked it in about 30 minutes and it was puffy and done. I just used a regular devils food cake mix (no pudding) and served it with whipped topping--it was delicious!! I will be making this cake often! Its a WINNER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

Hot Italian Giardiniera

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I made it for the second time today--I am HOOKED on this recipe!! GREAT as a side dish OR on sandwiches--I especially like the cauliflower, and doubled up on it this time! I had to double up on the olive oil and vinegar to cover it... the vinegar and oil also makes an incredible salad dressing! Originally found this looking for a muffaletta recipe, and haven't even made that incredible sandwich yet! This is one fantastic recipe!! THANKS, PHONETECK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

Mandarin Orange Cake River House

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Mix up the topping ahead of time to allow the pudding to marry with the rest. About a half hour or more. Be sure to let cake cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

E-Z Drop Biscuits

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Great Biscuit recipe! I use this as my biscuit mix for making cheddar garlic biscuits and they turn out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Peterson
Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
So delicious ans so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

Curried Vegetables

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Loved it! just the right amount of spice. My daughter had it with Pad Thai noodles. Twas a great side along with The Indian-style shrimp with yogurt sauce on the Cooking Light web-site. Both recipes call for cilantro, but I suppose you could use parsley. Won't have as much kick. Try to leave "as is." You will miss the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Granny's Swiss Steak

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This was delicous! Simmered it on stovetop and didn't have a green pepper or onion sop mix, o left those out. Added a little Flavor Boost packet at the end! YUMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

Sour Cream Pound Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This is delicious-dense and moist. My only change was to add the juice and zest of one lemon and some vanilla extract. I did not have a problem with it being dry as some reviewers noted, but I watched the time in the oven carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassarugh
Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States