Bend - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Salmon Pasta Salad

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Just can't get my husband to love this one, though I sure do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Guilt-Free Snack Mix

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
We liked this recipe. I probably won't make it again due to the cost of the ingredients. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Albondigas Sinaloenses

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Such a family friendly comfort food. Unfortunately it was a little on the bland side for the adults . . . the kid loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Baileys Espresso Martini

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Was fairly good, but for the calories I think I had too high expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Pasta Bake

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I love this recipe (though I add a ton more herbs), but my husband is not a fan at all. I thought I had found a winner for us, oh well! Hope you all enjoy it as much as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Soft Garlic Breadsticks

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This is a good basic recipe, but I will probably stick with some of my other "bread" bases to make sticks in the future. This is simply because these are only good fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Herb-Crusted Chuck Roast

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Super tough. Let's face it, it is the cut of meat . . . you can't make it be tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Blackened Chicken

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Easy and decent flavor. Smokes up the house pretty bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Carpet Shampoo – Alkaline (disinfectant)

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Removes some oil-set stains, otherwise cleans reasonably well and has a good odor from the fabric softener. Also leaves the carpet soft for a while which is a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Carpet Shampoo – Acid (deodorizing)

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Works great on odors, but doesn't do much for oil-set stains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Used Neil and Randy's homebrew IPA, let it marinate for almost 24 hours. Was spectacular! Tender, great depth of flavor from the IPA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Refreshing Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Easy side dish, expensive during the cucumber "offseason" here in Oregon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Cinnamon Roll Coffee Creamer

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Turned out slimy and way too cinnamony - tasted a bit more like bark. I think the maple syrup went to the bottom which led to an imbalance of sweet flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Photo by armygirl207

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
My family and I dont eat much meat and decided to try this recipe without meat first and we loved it. I did do a few small changes; I added a pinch of dried green onions, garlic salt and onion powder to the pan after all the other ingredients. I also added a little bit more salsa then let it all simmer on low for about 8-10 min instead of the 3 suggested. Because we dont fry anything I put the cheese and mixture on only half a tortilla shell then folded it in half and heated up on my George Forman using non stick spray (this cuts out all that need for butter). I served them with multi-grain corn chips, salsa, guacamole, and pico de gallo. Made a great summer dinner. Next time I might try adding the chicken like suggested but dont think it needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armygirl207

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fort Eustis, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Potato Candy

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Little sugar balls, the cinnamon makes them. I tried with cocoa on the outside and still good but not as striking for sure. I also made some with the cocoa and mint extract, but the mint flavor wasn't strong enough, maybe next time I'll just mince the mint and make "potatoes with chives" candies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eandtheboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Strata

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
We loved this, to the point where my husband mentioned it for DAYS after the fact. I used frozen wild blueberries that I found at Fred Meyer, they were much smaller but more intense in flavor. I used just a little less cream cheese and didn't bother with the syrup but sprinkled sugar on top instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eandtheboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Soooo yummy and flavorful. This will be my go to recipe for brussels sprouts. My Fiance does not like them but he does now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crfty1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Glazed Lemon Bundt Cake

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This cake is very moist and fluffy. I added extra lemon juice from 2 small lemons to make it have a stronger lemon flavor. If I hadn't it would not have been lemony enough for us. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I will make this cake again. I gave this 4 stars as it was a little crumbly when cutting into it once it cooled off. But that could be due to something I did in the mixing process? I am a novice so not sure? In fact, this is the first cake I have baked since high school cooking class back in the 80's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crfty1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I used this recipe for my Fiance's birthday cake and everyone loved it. Probably the best frosting EVER. I added the juice of two small lemons to it as the cake was lemon also. And I did use all 5 cups of sugar. I did not think it was too sweet at all. Be sure to place the frosting in the refrigerator before you frost the cake. It is a good consistency that way. This will be my go to recipe for frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crfty1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pleasant Pork Chops

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
These were easy to make which is a plus. I enjoyed the sauce as the paprika added a slightly smoky flavor. I will try these again using chipolte instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKWRIGHT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boring, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States