Bend - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Blueberry Strata

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
We loved this, to the point where my husband mentioned it for DAYS after the fact. I used frozen wild blueberries that I found at Fred Meyer, they were much smaller but more intense in flavor. I used just a little less cream cheese and didn't bother with the syrup but sprinkled sugar on top instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eandtheboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Soooo yummy and flavorful. This will be my go to recipe for brussels sprouts. My Fiance does not like them but he does now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crfty1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Glazed Lemon Bundt Cake

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This cake is very moist and fluffy. I added extra lemon juice from 2 small lemons to make it have a stronger lemon flavor. If I hadn't it would not have been lemony enough for us. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I will make this cake again. I gave this 4 stars as it was a little crumbly when cutting into it once it cooled off. But that could be due to something I did in the mixing process? I am a novice so not sure? In fact, this is the first cake I have baked since high school cooking class back in the 80's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crfty1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I used this recipe for my Fiance's birthday cake and everyone loved it. Probably the best frosting EVER. I added the juice of two small lemons to it as the cake was lemon also. And I did use all 5 cups of sugar. I did not think it was too sweet at all. Be sure to place the frosting in the refrigerator before you frost the cake. It is a good consistency that way. This will be my go to recipe for frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crfty1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pleasant Pork Chops

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
These were easy to make which is a plus. I enjoyed the sauce as the paprika added a slightly smoky flavor. I will try these again using chipolte instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKWRIGHT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boring, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
We have made this at least 6 times now and we always love it. First a sit-down dinner with mashed potatoes and veggies, then on sandwiches or on a salad. my kids like to shred it, add bbq sauce and put on a bun. The almost 6 pound chicken I took out at 3pm yesterday is almost gone:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Panzanella

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
sometimes we just eat this as a whole meal. The bread is just so amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Uncle Bill's Sweet and Sour Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Absolutely phenomenal!!!! A must have for any sweet and sour dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ret_Vets

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Turned out wonderfully. I was a little skeptical with the sugar but after the taste of them this is now my go to dinner rolls. No more store bought, it's homemade for now on. Thanks Donna for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ret_Vets

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Absolutely exceptional!!! I personally added another chicken breast just for a little more meat but is wonderful otherwise. I find that you could add a little cajun seasoning instead of taco seasoning and have a nice Cajun style soup as well. When we did the Cajun version we also added sausage and it tasted wonderful. One to try and keep as a backup plan for those days when you aren't exactly sure what you want. Thanks for sharing RaisinKane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ret_Vets

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Easy Key Lime Pie II

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Why is this called "key Lime Pie" when it is not specified in the recipe to use "Key Limes"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babyuggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plummer, Idaho, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Refried Beans Without the Refry

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Solid Basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup)

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Too much work for a rather normal flavor. Plus, nobody liked the work involved with the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Authentic Mexican Torta - Tortas Ahogadas

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Okay, Too spicy to really enjoy in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Spinach Salad with Almonds & Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Good choice of ingredients make this salad great. The only reason I gave this three instead of five stars is the expense of the ingredients and the fact that my grocery store doesn't carry shelled pistachios. With the expense and amount of work, I am not sure this recipe is a repeater for us. I also don't see much flavor/texture gained by coating the chicken (a more labor intensive approach) vs. just toasting and sprinkling with nuts afterwards. Also, if you don't flatten the chicken and/or fillet it, you'll burn the pistachios before the chicken is even close to done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Spinach Salad with Pistachio Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Good choice of ingredients make this salad great. The only reason I gave this three instead of five stars is the expense of the ingredients and the fact that my grocery store doesn't carry shelled pistachios. With the expense and amount of work, I am not sure this recipe is a repeater for us. I also don't see much flavor/texture gained by coating the chicken (a more labor intensive approach) vs. just toasting and sprinkling with nuts afterwards. Also, if you don't flatten the chicken and/or fillet it, you'll burn the pistachios before the chicken is even close to done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Fluffy French Toast

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Thumbs up from the whole family. I used a round sourdough loaf and sliced it pretty thick. It was just the right amount of moisture. Not soggy or dry. I think that you need to let each slice sit in the mixture a little bit to get it saturated on the inside too. This will now be my go to recipe for french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crfty1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hungarian Goulash II

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Very good! I used stew meat because I got a deal. lol! i think it would be better with the chuck roast. i'll look for a deal on that for next time. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Jambalaya I

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This is very good. I added smoked sausage and fresh minced garlic. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Great Easy Waffles

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I have the same recipe. I got it from a very old cookbook years ago. I wouldn't say these are easy. I thought maybe I would find an easier one. The one step I thought might be left out but is included, is whipping the egg whites. I guess this has to be done. These egg whites are what really make this recipe so special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Creston, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States