Bend - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is definitely a special occasion meal. Having to buy a specialty bottle of wine to make the sauce is worth it, but hard on the budget for a weekday meal. I increased the recipe to 6 and had to use two pans, a bummer. This also seemed to increase the "carmelization" time of everything. The recipe took much longer than expected, but it came out perfect. Next time I will invest in higher end cuts of meat (I did not use tenderloin) and the texture will be perfect too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Double Chocolate Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Wow, very rich and very indulgent!! I placed my pies in the fridge for 4 hours and although they were good, I would probably just put them in the freezer and take out 15 minutes before serving next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ret_Vets

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Easy Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Made this for my daughter's 10th birthday party and the girls loved it! They said it tasted like Dairy Queen soft serve ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salad Nicoise

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Though we liked the flavor of this salad, I decided to give it 3 stars dut to the amount of prep (boil potatoes, eggs, blanch beans), as well as the specialty ingredients (olives/anchovies) remainders of which would sit in my fridge unusued - as these are not staples in other recipes we use. However, I do like the style of salad and will likely continue tweaking this recipe until I can fit it into our budget/time frames.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Jumbo Breakfast Cookies

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
A great use for extra cereal. Unfortunately we do not eat cereal, so I went out and purchased a box. Everyone loved the taste, I just can't make them very often due to the cost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Salmon Pasta Salad

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Just can't get my husband to love this one, though I sure do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Guilt-Free Snack Mix

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
We liked this recipe. I probably won't make it again due to the cost of the ingredients. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Albondigas Sinaloenses

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Such a family friendly comfort food. Unfortunately it was a little on the bland side for the adults . . . the kid loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Baileys Espresso Martini

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Was fairly good, but for the calories I think I had too high expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Pasta Bake

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I love this recipe (though I add a ton more herbs), but my husband is not a fan at all. I thought I had found a winner for us, oh well! Hope you all enjoy it as much as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Soft Garlic Breadsticks

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
This is a good basic recipe, but I will probably stick with some of my other "bread" bases to make sticks in the future. This is simply because these are only good fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Herb-Crusted Chuck Roast

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Super tough. Let's face it, it is the cut of meat . . . you can't make it be tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Blackened Chicken

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Easy and decent flavor. Smokes up the house pretty bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Carpet Shampoo – Alkaline (disinfectant)

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Removes some oil-set stains, otherwise cleans reasonably well and has a good odor from the fabric softener. Also leaves the carpet soft for a while which is a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Carpet Shampoo – Acid (deodorizing)

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Works great on odors, but doesn't do much for oil-set stains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Used Neil and Randy's homebrew IPA, let it marinate for almost 24 hours. Was spectacular! Tender, great depth of flavor from the IPA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Refreshing Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Easy side dish, expensive during the cucumber "offseason" here in Oregon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Cinnamon Roll Coffee Creamer

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Turned out slimy and way too cinnamony - tasted a bit more like bark. I think the maple syrup went to the bottom which led to an imbalance of sweet flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Photo by armygirl207

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
My family and I dont eat much meat and decided to try this recipe without meat first and we loved it. I did do a few small changes; I added a pinch of dried green onions, garlic salt and onion powder to the pan after all the other ingredients. I also added a little bit more salsa then let it all simmer on low for about 8-10 min instead of the 3 suggested. Because we dont fry anything I put the cheese and mixture on only half a tortilla shell then folded it in half and heated up on my George Forman using non stick spray (this cuts out all that need for butter). I served them with multi-grain corn chips, salsa, guacamole, and pico de gallo. Made a great summer dinner. Next time I might try adding the chicken like suggested but dont think it needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armygirl207

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fort Eustis, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Potato Candy

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Little sugar balls, the cinnamon makes them. I tried with cocoa on the outside and still good but not as striking for sure. I also made some with the cocoa and mint extract, but the mint flavor wasn't strong enough, maybe next time I'll just mince the mint and make "potatoes with chives" candies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eandtheboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States