Bend - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sugar Cookies - America's Test Kitchen

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Stayed Chewy for days, but they still spread too much even after refrigerating the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Baked Fish with Shrimp

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Just made this, excellent!! Added 2T white wine, seasoning salt, garlic and dried onion to the sauce. Lightly cooked my shrimp in garlic butter first. (Had raw frozen jumbo shrimp, also cut them in half)Used fresh snapper. Placed on a bed of quinoa with some steamed green beans on the side. Will definately make this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Holualoa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Beans and Greens

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Hands down one of my favorite meals. I don't know what escarole is and can't get it at my regular grocery store, so I just use arugula. The kid get's her serving before the greens are added and she loves it too. Only problem. . .there is never enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Coquito

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Excellent, rave reviews. Everyone asked for seconds which I didn't have because I only made one recipe-worth. I used half a can of coconut milk and half a can of coconut cream in place of the entire can of coconut cream. I would say it was still a little too sweet. I would probably just use the coconut milk next time and add sugar or simple syrup as needed. I would imagine the brand of coconut cream makes a difference. Mine was sweetened with corn syrup, a sweetener that all too easily comes across over-sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Pork Tenderloin Diane

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeky4u

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Breakfast Quesadilla

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This recipe has plenty of potential, but following it by the book ended in a rather bland meal with more fat than should be necessary for the flavor offered. This poor opinion may stem from the fact that we kinda take our mexican food seriously and like to pull flavor from spices, care in preparation of meats, etc as opposed to cheeses, sour cream, canned salsa and prepared guacamole. Oh wow, now I feel like a snob. Sorry. All that to say, recipe is a good basic starting point but feels lacking in depth of flavors. If you are into american/mexican flavor, this is going to be right up your alley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Usually, I'll read the other reviews to see what is recommended to be altered, added or detracted. All I had to read on this recipe was that it was a well-loved recipe found in her Grandmother's recipe box and I figured it had to be amazing. Didn't change a thing, and the only thing I added was grade A, dark amber syrup I purchased in VT two days prior. Delicious and going into my RB as well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrixieJones

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbecued Turkey and Cheese Panini

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This is a quick easy recipe that my family loved when we tried it last summer. Side of fresh fruit and pretzels made it a great light dinner pool side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armygirl207

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fort Eustis, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Egg Noodles

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This was so yummy! Please believe me when I tell you my 5 year old is a picky eater! Last night I made these and he wanted 3rds. YES THIRDS!!! I did not change a thing and it turned out perfectly. Reminds me of the recipe my mom used to do when I was little except it used 5 eggs. Love only using 2 in this one. I think maybe next time I will add a little fresh chopped parsley to the dough before rolling it out and cutting it just for some color! EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ret_Vets

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Apple Cole Slaw

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
perfect with my smoked pulled pork sandwhich recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenCosta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Great chocolate cake recipe! I used mini chocolate chips and made cupcakes. I topped half the cupcakes with chocolate buttercream and the other half with peanutbutter buttercream. Both options were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Mushroom Herb Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This was good but the basil taste was very strong and overpowering the next day. Adjust to your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cathy's Banana Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Best banana bread ever! I did use butter (i don't like margarine) and I added walnuts. Dense beautiful texture and so beautiful in presentation. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This was a huge hit at our house. I am a novice and found it easy to make. As others suggested I upped the amount of lemon zest and added lemon extract to my cream cheese layer. I also put a top layer of sour cream mixed with confectioners sugar on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crfty1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Cole Slaw

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
perfect with my smoked pulled pork sandwhich recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenCosta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Apple Coleslaw

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
perfect with my smoked pulled pork sandwhich recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenCosta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peppermint Patties

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I truly am not sure what I am doing wrong here. I used peppermint extract and followed the recipe exactly. I found that the consistency was very watered down and thin. I thought hmmm, let me just put in more powdered sugar to make it thicker. I ended up putting another 2 cups in. Still feeling something wasn't right I still went with it. Taking the advice of others I placed in the freezer hoping that it would firm up. It did a little but was still soft to where you could put your finger impression in it. After looking at the bottle of extract I saw it had over 80% alcohol in it so it wasn't going to set up in the freezer. I did like the way it smelled up my house . Maybe with peppermint oil this time. Hmmm very dissapointed. Didn't even get to use my chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ret_Vets

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Tomato Cakes

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Wow, what flavor!! These cracker cakes are delicious and my family agrees. I would love to find a way skip the fryer and make these a little healthier, but as is they are scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danfox7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
OMG!!! This is absolutely fabulous. If I am making this for supper, our neighbors know! No seriously, the aromas literally can be smelled at my neighbors house! Absolutely one of the best lasagnas I have ever tasted! If I was to own my own restaurant, this would be my recipe of choice! This is probably one of the few recipes when I call supper time, the kids have their hands washed and have their butts parked at the table, before I can get it on the pot holders! Thank you John for a great recipe. It does take some work...but well worth the wait! My husband can never find his push away muscles at the table when its Lasagna night! He always gains a few extra pounds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ret_Vets

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Asian Pineapple Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I like Pineapple, but don't love it. My husband on the other hand HATES it with a capital H!! I made this and decided I was going to pour it over chicken and green beans. I thought it sounded great! Well I made it exactly as stated in the directions and it turned out beautifully. I did have to cook it longer than stated to get a nice syrup consistancy but other than that it was great. I poured it over my baked chicken and my green beans and MY HUSBAND LOVED IT!!! Y'all don't understand, that is huge in my book!! Great recipe and I will definately be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ret_Vets

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States