Bend - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
The marinade on the chicken is very good and this is now what I use when I make chicken gyros. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Syrup

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
love this recipe!!! i put this in my coffee and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babyjayde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Quick Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was an okay recipe, but I found it really lacked in lemon taste. Maybe I'm just a lemon-holic, but I would suggest using at least a few more tablespoons of lemon juice to give it that real lemon taste. Also, I added a lemon glaze directly after removing the muffins from the oven, which was pretty decadent on the sugar side of things, but it was very pretty and added even more lemon, which I love! Anyway, the glaze is really simple- 1/4 cup milk, 3 cups confectioner's sugar, and about 2 tablespoons of whatever lemon you have (lemon extract use a little less). Also, you should know that the texture on these are great! They bake fantastically too, seeing as, unlike most lemon poppyseed recipes that use yogurt, the bater wasn't too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by How to Cook a Wolfe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I have made this for a few years now. I follow it as written except I always use fresh basil and my own canned tomatoes. I love it and it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This was a great recipe, and I would suggest it to anybody who hasn't cooked an apple crisp before. However, if you're feeling a bit adventurous, I would suggest using half the amount of flour suggested (the amount of flour put into this recipe makes it rather cake-like instead of crisp-like. Make up for the loss of volume by adding about 1/2 cup more oats), throw in about a teaspoon of salt (it enhances the sweet flavor, believe me), and mix the cinnamon and sugar into the apple slices rather than sprinkle (you get more of that delicious flavor into more of the slice), along with upping the cinnamon (for the cinnamon lovers like myself) by about three teaspoons to the cinnamon and sugar mixture , the outcome is golden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by How to Cook a Wolfe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Princess Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Lovely cookie. The first time I baked these cookies, I followed the recipe exactly and came out with more of a sugar cookie than a lemon cookie, which was a bit disappointing. My second go, I added just about 3 more tbs and was very pleased with the outcome --it was still light and butter, but had a little more tanginess. Served with powdered sugar. Delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by How to Cook a Wolfe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crixxie's Ranch Chicken Nuggets

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Thanks for sharing the idea of blending egg and dressing. It made a great coating. I used frsh parm. How about Blue Cheese with hot sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach and Tortellini Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Perhaps it was the quality of the tortellini I purchased. . . but sorry, the flavor/cost just wasn't worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Pumpkin Seed Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Blah flavor labor intensive and expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Roasted Pork Tacos

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Pork wasn't near ready to shred. Requires too many random ingredients, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Slow Cooker Lemon Pepper Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This was good, better for us had I not overcooked it which happened because I used two Cornish hens, not a whole chicken. I cooked on high for an hour then on low for 4 hours or so. I also added 1/4 cup white wine to the hens at the beginning. I will try this again, but with a chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eandtheboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramel Popcorn

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
One tip is that after you pop the corn, shake the bowl to help settle the few unpopped kernels. Then carefully using your hands scoop up the popped corn into another bowl, trying not to disturb what has settled to the bottom. I trash the uppopped and small hard popped corn along with the husks that have fallen to the bottom of the bowl. I pop into an 8qt bowl then scoop into a 5qt, once that's filled I then pour it all back into the 8qt for mixing. Also you can reuse the parchment paper several times. I have been using this recipe for several years to rave reviews. I have co-workers trying to convince me to package and sell it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eandtheboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Grain Waffles

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
These were wonderful! I had to make a few subs since I didn't have some things on hand, banana for the applesauce, oat bran for the wheat germ and olive for the canola. Served with homemade blueberry sauce and fresh blackberries, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eandtheboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sour Cream Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I like to read reviews before I make anything so with that being said I did what many other suggested buy upping the seasoning. I added the extra seasoning to the sour cream where I felt like I had more control than in the flour. I used beef broth because I didn't have any chicken. Last I added about 2 oz cream cheese with the sour cream, others suggested cream of mushroom but I didn't have any of that either! Served with steamed fresh broccoli and pasta, my family gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eandtheboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Real Mojito

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is the only recipe we use when making mojitos. I have mint in my backyard in the summer so this is one of our favorite drinks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crfty1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jewish Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Rav reviews from the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crfty1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dutch Babies II

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This was a huge hit with my kids and easier to make than all those little pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crfty1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Ever Classic Jewish Noodle Kugel

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I brought this to a work potluck and everyone raved about it. Had to share the recipe with several co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crfty1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
AMAZING! I don't know how anyone could not love this recipe? I have been making cookies for 20+years and this is the best tasting chocolate chip recipe I have come across! I used coarse sea salt, which I highly recommend! Such a great flavor to an already great recipe! I also used milk chocolate chips as I prefer the texture and flavor over semisweet. Also left out the nuts and added 1/2 tsp cream of tarter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork & Pablano Stew

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Easy, flavorful, healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States