Bend - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
My whole family loves this!! The only thing I do different is not add the walnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GraceAngel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
This is now my go to cookie recipe! For the longest time I struggled to find a cookie recipe that would stay chewy once it cooled down. This is one of the best cookies I've ever had (including ones from bakeries). The only changes that I make are to use salted butter because it's all I ever have on hand and I only use 1 cup of chocolate chips instead of two (don't worry, it's still plenty). I like that it makes big cookies. If you like small cookies this is not the recipe for you. They spread out and become very big no matter what you do. Personally, I like it that way but not everyone does, it's really just a matter of personal opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinade for Chicken

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I made the recipe in the measurements stated, but had to make a few substitutions, Balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar, prepared mustard instead of dry mustard, and thyme instead of parsley (gave it a little more savory flavor). I also added chopped garlic, 2 tsp. I ended up letting it marinate for 3 days, due to change in dinner plans, and boy, was this ever good!!! I cooked it on the grill for approximately 12 minutes, total, using skin on chicken thighs. It was heavenly to smell while it cooked, I couldn't wait to try it! This is now my standard marinade for grilling chicken, although I'm sure it would be wonderful cooked on the stove or baked. I am finishing the leftover piece today, as I write... This is a "Must Try" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roquefort Pear Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
My favorite salad! This is a major crowd pleaser. I've taken it to lots of group functions and everyone enjoys it just as much as I do. I think the mustard dressing is a great compliment and it is something I never would have thought of myself. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Award Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I loved this recipe so much I have officially put it in my family cookbook!! The thing I love the most about these cookies is the fact that they don't run out and go flat. They hold their fluffy shape and bake upwards instead of out. I have tried this recipe with so many different combinations of instant puddings and I do believe my favorite one to use is the French Vanilla pudding. Cheesecake is a very close second. Such a great recipe and my son will be using this recipe this year for his 4H drop cookies when he enters them into the fair. I will let you know how he does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ret_Vets

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Spicy Chipotle Black-Eyed Peas

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
We love we had this tonight and it was great! I made some additions of jalapeno instead of Adobe because I didn't have any. I also added spinach, roasted diced tomatoes, kale, potato. It was soon good along with homemade cheese bread. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcavalli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Extreme Banana Nut Bread 'EBNB'

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
My secret banana bread that no one can resist! Of course I tweak a few things. - I split the sugar between white and brown, add 1tsp vanilla, 1tsp pumpkin spice, extra banana (I use 5)and sub pecans. Also only cook for 55 minutes... PERFECT. BTW, best cold keeps for weeks, and a great dessert warm topped with ice cream. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I think of recipes as great beginnings - I followed this recipe mind you, I just embellished. I added a rind of Parmesan reggiano and 1 tbls of balsalmic vinegar..It was so amazing! It was great before mind you; but, I love the hints of balsalmic and the saltiness of the cheese rind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcavalli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough + Cupcake = The BEST Cupcake. Ever.

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I made these for a 4H meeting and I didn't go home with any. I can not put into words how delicious these were. Seriously heaven sent!! I used a spice cake mixture as it was in the fall when I made them. I put chocolate icing on some and cream cheese on the others. Hands down without a doubt the BEST cupcake EVER!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ret_Vets

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Photo by eandtheboys

Pear Bread II

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
We've enjoyed this so far, I did as another suggested and used all the batter to fill a bundt pan. Baked it for 70 minutes and it was perfect. The pears I used were fresh, but still pretty hard, so they stayed together well. I did add about a 1/2 t ground ginger, think next time I'll try fresh. I replaced half of the oil with applesauce, mostly because I had an almost empty jar taking up room in the fridge. Last thing I did was to use about one third whole wheat instead of the all-purpose. I think next time I'd like to try adding some cardamom too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eandtheboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This was great! My boys, 8 and 6 didn't complain during dinner, which is success in our house. I did have to make a few changes since I didn't have any mushrooms. I increased the celery and added half a grated carrot, as well as a little chicken soup base while sauteing the veggies. Will certainly make again with mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eandtheboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Light Wheat Rolls

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
These were great! The whole family loved them. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eandtheboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
DELICIOUS!!! I used the other's recommendations for grinding up the oatmeal first. Then, I realized my strawberries weren't frozen! To thicken it up, I used a half cup of KALE and to make it colder, I threw in a few ice cubes. I love putting (sneaking) either kale or spinach into our smoothies. The big guy never notices and I love keeping us healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrixieJones

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Mine fell apart a bit, should have read the comments first. However, with the partial falling apart, the flavor was outstanding. I added jalapeno to the green pepper which added another depth of flavor. My husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcavalli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chia Seed Pudding

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Very versatile!! I made this using one 8oz carton chocolate soy milk and 1/4 cup chia seeds. I also made it with 8oz of sugar-free orange drink (store brand Tang) and 1/4 cup chia seeds. The orange version reminds me of Tapioca Fruit Juice Dessert my mom used to make us as kids. Next I am going to try with Apple juice and cinnamon. AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Holualoa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Refried Beans Without the Refry

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Wonderful and easy! I waited till the end before I added the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eandtheboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I am making this for the third time in two months it is so tasty! I use my mortar and pestle to grind up the herbs. I also prefer hickory chips when I smoke the meet after searing it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eandtheboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
The marinade on the chicken is very good and this is now what I use when I make chicken gyros. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Syrup

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
love this recipe!!! i put this in my coffee and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babyjayde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Quick Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was an okay recipe, but I found it really lacked in lemon taste. Maybe I'm just a lemon-holic, but I would suggest using at least a few more tablespoons of lemon juice to give it that real lemon taste. Also, I added a lemon glaze directly after removing the muffins from the oven, which was pretty decadent on the sugar side of things, but it was very pretty and added even more lemon, which I love! Anyway, the glaze is really simple- 1/4 cup milk, 3 cups confectioner's sugar, and about 2 tablespoons of whatever lemon you have (lemon extract use a little less). Also, you should know that the texture on these are great! They bake fantastically too, seeing as, unlike most lemon poppyseed recipes that use yogurt, the bater wasn't too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by How to Cook a Wolfe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States