Bend - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Bohemian Pork Roast

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
We really enjoyed this. I only used about 1T of the caraway seeds, I didn't have more, but I partially crushed them to help spread their essence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eandtheboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
The best carrot cake I have ever tasted. Gave this recipe to our daughter in Hawaii to bake for her husband's birthday. I not only give it five stars, but two thumbs up as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I followed directions on this recipe but used buttermilk like another recommended and added vanilla. It was so thick I had to add more liquid. very bland will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple and Brown Sugar Corned Beef

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I used this recipe for a St. Patrick's Day feast at our church, and everyone loved it! Our Pastor is Irish, and he gave a two thumbs up! Said it was absolutely delicious, which it is. I will never fix Corned Beef any other way. All the veggies were very tasty as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thick Chocolate Shake

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Just made this for my boys for an after school treat, and they both loved it! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eandtheboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

100% Whole Wheat Pancakes

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Just made these this morning, delicious! I used milk w/lemon juice for buttermilk and brown sugar in place of white and coconut oil for vegetable oil, then added a tablespoon of chia seeds for added nutrition. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Holualoa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Farmalicious

Twice Baked Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Sooooooo good!! I usually don't follow recipes and add my own twist to it. First time I attempted the twice baked and our dinner turned out amazing along with the bacon wrapped pork loin recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Farmalicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Sweet Potato Casserole I

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
We love this dish and come back to it year after year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal Loverin
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving 2013 and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crfty1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seahawk Salmon Mousse

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I used 1.5 8oz pkgs. of cream cheese, used about 8 oz. of our alaska salmon that my husband smoked and did not add salt. Really loved this recipe. Quick and easy. I will make this again for sure. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crfty1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
My whole family loves this!! The only thing I do different is not add the walnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GraceAngel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
This is now my go to cookie recipe! For the longest time I struggled to find a cookie recipe that would stay chewy once it cooled down. This is one of the best cookies I've ever had (including ones from bakeries). The only changes that I make are to use salted butter because it's all I ever have on hand and I only use 1 cup of chocolate chips instead of two (don't worry, it's still plenty). I like that it makes big cookies. If you like small cookies this is not the recipe for you. They spread out and become very big no matter what you do. Personally, I like it that way but not everyone does, it's really just a matter of personal opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinade for Chicken

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I made the recipe in the measurements stated, but had to make a few substitutions, Balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar, prepared mustard instead of dry mustard, and thyme instead of parsley (gave it a little more savory flavor). I also added chopped garlic, 2 tsp. I ended up letting it marinate for 3 days, due to change in dinner plans, and boy, was this ever good!!! I cooked it on the grill for approximately 12 minutes, total, using skin on chicken thighs. It was heavenly to smell while it cooked, I couldn't wait to try it! This is now my standard marinade for grilling chicken, although I'm sure it would be wonderful cooked on the stove or baked. I am finishing the leftover piece today, as I write... This is a "Must Try" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roquefort Pear Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
My favorite salad! This is a major crowd pleaser. I've taken it to lots of group functions and everyone enjoys it just as much as I do. I think the mustard dressing is a great compliment and it is something I never would have thought of myself. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Award Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I loved this recipe so much I have officially put it in my family cookbook!! The thing I love the most about these cookies is the fact that they don't run out and go flat. They hold their fluffy shape and bake upwards instead of out. I have tried this recipe with so many different combinations of instant puddings and I do believe my favorite one to use is the French Vanilla pudding. Cheesecake is a very close second. Such a great recipe and my son will be using this recipe this year for his 4H drop cookies when he enters them into the fair. I will let you know how he does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ret_Vets

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

Spicy Chipotle Black-Eyed Peas

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
We love we had this tonight and it was great! I made some additions of jalapeno instead of Adobe because I didn't have any. I also added spinach, roasted diced tomatoes, kale, potato. It was soon good along with homemade cheese bread. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcavalli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Extreme Banana Nut Bread 'EBNB'

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
My secret banana bread that no one can resist! Of course I tweak a few things. - I split the sugar between white and brown, add 1tsp vanilla, 1tsp pumpkin spice, extra banana (I use 5)and sub pecans. Also only cook for 55 minutes... PERFECT. BTW, best cold keeps for weeks, and a great dessert warm topped with ice cream. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I think of recipes as great beginnings - I followed this recipe mind you, I just embellished. I added a rind of Parmesan reggiano and 1 tbls of balsalmic vinegar..It was so amazing! It was great before mind you; but, I love the hints of balsalmic and the saltiness of the cheese rind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcavalli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough + Cupcake = The BEST Cupcake. Ever.

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I made these for a 4H meeting and I didn't go home with any. I can not put into words how delicious these were. Seriously heaven sent!! I used a spice cake mixture as it was in the fall when I made them. I put chocolate icing on some and cream cheese on the others. Hands down without a doubt the BEST cupcake EVER!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ret_Vets

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Photo by eandtheboys

Pear Bread II

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
We've enjoyed this so far, I did as another suggested and used all the batter to fill a bundt pan. Baked it for 70 minutes and it was perfect. The pears I used were fresh, but still pretty hard, so they stayed together well. I did add about a 1/2 t ground ginger, think next time I'll try fresh. I replaced half of the oil with applesauce, mostly because I had an almost empty jar taking up room in the fridge. Last thing I did was to use about one third whole wheat instead of the all-purpose. I think next time I'd like to try adding some cardamom too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eandtheboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States