Beaverton - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Delicious. Not so rich or overpowering that you can't bear more than a couple bites, but decadent enough that you finish your [second...or third] slice completely satisfied and delighted with your decision to indulge. Replaced vegetable oil with coconut oil (regular choice on my part). Though my taste buds were completely satisfied with the original recipe, I knew my decadent-dessert-loving husband would like even more money in this cake. So the second time I made it, right before I poured the batter in the pan I lightly swirled in some peanut butter, dark chocolate shavings, and brown sugar. Just enough to add a little extra boost of richness. The peanut butter swirls looked pretty before I iced it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pork Chops and Stuffing

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Instead of using the canned apple pie filling, I sliced 2 peeled granny smith apples and 1 onion, sauteed them after browning the pork chops. I also added 1 mince clove of garlic, fresh rosemary, thyme and just a hint of cinnamon. I seasoned the pork chops with salt, pepper and garlic powder. I used Savory Herb Stovetop Stuffing and it was excellent! The fresh apples with the onion made it very flavorful without it being too sweet. My husband loved it. By using fresh ingredients instead of the canned apple pie filling, it was a very elegant dish. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Muffuletta Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This is excellent! I made this for Fat Tuesday last night and I can't say enough good things about this. I followed the recipe to a 'T' and was a little concerned it might be too salty, but it is so delicious and not at all too salty. Very savory and cheesy--yum! My husband loved it and said it was one of the best things I have ever made. Absolutely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Sooo good! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Menard
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Refried Beans Without the Refry

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
These retried beans are great, will never buy canned retried beans again. Followed recipe and only omitted the jalapeños so the kids would eat them and they ended up having two servings each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Menard
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bakes

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
A little too sweet for my tastes. I would cut back on the sugar for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pan Fried Daikon Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I made this a lot healthier by baking the cakes on a cookie sheet lightly sprayed with a cooking spray. 10 - 12 minutes per side, in a pre-heated 425 degree oven resulted in crispy, nicely browned cakes. I also used Egg Beaters, instead of eggs to further reduce calories. My 4 star rating is based on the seasonings... I think they could be improved. Next time, I plan to try Old Bay seasoning, with plain bread crumbs (Panko), instead of the Italian seasoned bread crumbs. Overall, I really enjoyed these and will definitely try them again. Perhaps, I'll someday try adding diced Chinese sausage, as with the more traditional recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Allison's Cold Crab Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
We made this for our buffet table on Christmas Day and I made it exactly as written. (I used creamed horseradish instead of ground.) However, when I tasted it, I could barely detect the horseradish at all, and my husband couldn't either. We added more horseradish to taste and more milk to spread the horseradish more evenly. Then the dip was excellent and we devoured it! I will use this recipe again for sure and just remember to add my changes. The blended red and green from the crab and onion was quite festive, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOKBOKBAGOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs Cat

Easy Sausage Strata

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This is a really good recipe! I DID make a few changes, though, LOLz! Instead of cubing the bread, I left the slices whole. I also substituted cinnamon for the salt and nutmeg for the dried mustard. I also left out the cheese and sausage, because I didn't have any on hand. Finally, instead of baking it in the oven, I just dipped each piece of bread in the egg mixture and individually cooked each slice of bread in a skillet. I thought it tasted a lot like french toast. My fam. TOTALLY loved it! I give this recipe five stars with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Photo by Michelle

Jam Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Just made these and finished eating one of them. YUM!! I took some peoples advice. I used applesauce in place of the oil. Added 1/4 cup extra sugar and a tablespoon of vanilla extract. Put the jam in the middle of the muffin. They were plenty sweet without being too sweet. I was afraid of using too much jam and they definitely could have used more. I put walnuts on top of every other one. I liked those the best. I will be making these again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Crispy Chicken Rolls with Chutney Curry Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I am the submitter of this recipe. Since the original submission, I shared it with a friend who had the wonderful idea of serving the chicken filling in pre-made phyllo cups, topped with the mango-curry sauce and a sprinkling of parsley or cilantro. It really adds to the presentation and ensures everyone tries both the filling and the sauce together. Over time, I have also adjusted the recipe and now use the following ingredients to make 50 won tons or phyllo cups: • Chicken Roll Ingredients: • 1 package won ton wrappers or phyllo cups (about 50) • 8 oz. Neufchatel cream cheese, room temperature • 2 - 4 Tablespoons light or non-fat sour cream, if desired • ¼ - 1/2 c. milk (as needed to thin filling) (I used Silk unsweetened almond milk) • 1 teaspoon garlic salt • 1 teaspoon curry powder • 16 oz. package frozen chopped spinach, cooked, squeezed dry • 1 standard-size can ripe olives, thinly sliced • 3 - 4 cups diced cooked chicken • Olive oil spray • • Curry-Chutney Sauce ingredients: • 1 cup plain low-fat or non-fat sour cream • 8 teaspoons mango chutney (chop any large pieces) • 1 to 2 teaspoon curry powder (to taste)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I hate cranberry anything--especially canned cranberry sauce. Yuck! But this is the second year that I have made this recipe and it is so yummy. I used a 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar and added a splash of water to the orange juice. I cooked it for about 15 minutes and it thickened up perfectly. For a person who has never liked cranberry sauce--I love this. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hawaiian Pineapple Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I wish I took a picture of this. I made it before I knew it was on this site. I got the recipe from the Hillshire Farm site. I made it about a month ago and just recently got the stuff to make it again. It's such a simple recipe and very yummy meal. I served it over basmati rice. I used a mixture of colored bell peppers which made it very eye appealing as well. It will be a staple in my house. You could sub Ham or Chicken for the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Best Ziti Ever

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Just OK. It tasted good, but it wasn't anything overly special that I would keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Ziti with Sausage

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Eh, nothing that really stands out in this recipe. Very time consuming too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Artichoke Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This is excellent! I took the advice of other reviewers and used 1/2 mayo, 1/2 sour cream and used marinated artichoke hearts. I also added about 1 cup thawed/squeezed dry spinach to the mixture and it was so yummy! I sprinkled a little paprika on top for color and it turned out perfect--just like the main picture on the recipe. My husband loved this. It's totally a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer

Quinoa Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
These cookies reminded me a bit of Banana Bread. Very pleasant, soft and moist, cake like. They will be great for school lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Uglies

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
4.5 stars. Easy and pretty yummy. It's a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Easy Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Very tasty and super easy. Next time I will add peas and celery. I also want to try serving the 'soup' on top of already cooked biscuits, instead of making dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States