Ashland - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Creamy Tomato-Basil Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Made it in the winter so no fresh tomatoes or basil. Instead used canned crushed tomatoes and a couple of tablespoons of basil pesto and added a couple of cloves of chopped garlic. Also used Better than Bullion chicken broth since I was out of homemade. Even with these not so fresh ingredients, the soup was outstanding! The immersion blender made the soup so smooth there was no need for straining. Served with parmesan-topped crostini and it made a delicious lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Venetians

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I've been making this yummy cookie for well over 30 years. My son doesn't think it's Christmas if it's missing and it's his very favorite. Just a couple of tips: wax paper just smokes and smells up the kitchen. Use parchment. And warming the apricot jam (I use preserves) helps to spread them easily. Don't be afraid of all the steps -- it's much easier than it appears. You'll be glad you baked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zuzuspetals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Ashland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Puffs

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Easy, quick, and tasty. Worked for me first time. Make sure you use a big, heaping spoonful when dropping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SevanC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I ate half of this coffee cake before the night was over. The next day I gave the other half away because I couldn't have it the house out of fear I'd eat the rest. It was moist, delicious, and simply too good to keep. I thought my girlfriend was going to kill me when she got home and asked me where it was cause she had tasted it before going to work and loved it.haha! Luckily for me I'd set a piece aside for her before giving it away. She was relieved:) You can modify this recipe all you want. I didn't think it made enough dough and too much streusel yet when I told my girlfriend she said it was perfect and too much streusel was a good thing? Each to his own I guess:) FIVE STARS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zachary Pierce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
This is your classic, perfect, holiday Sugar Cookie:) Enough said:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zachary Pierce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Halibut Steaks

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I stuck the recipe given and it was amazing! There is no need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellylachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Enchiladas I

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
What a great dish! I used green tomato sauce and added chopped chilis and rooster sauce on top! Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellylachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cocoa Banana Bars

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I make this recipe into muffins because when I made it into bars the bars were too thin. I pour them half and half like one of the pictures you see in the recipe album. They're very delicious. My girlfriend says out of all the muffins I make that these are the best. I always give these away too so we don't eat the whole batch. FIVE STARS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zachary Pierce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Leek and Ham Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
It is somewhat lacking in flavor, but definitely a good start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellylachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cashew Crusted Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
The sauce burned very easily, and the amount of dijon mustard is too overpowering. My bf liked it though, so I think next time I'll just add the sauce after the chicken has cooked a bit and half the amount of dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellylachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Alfredo

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Perfect! Didn't change a thing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellylachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Party Cucumber Sandwiches

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This was a really simply, healthy, and quick snack. We loved them, but we think that a little fillet of salmon would really make this. Will try again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellylachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tantalizingly Tangy Meatloaf

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
So moist, so flavorful! This is my first time making meatloaf and I must say I'm pretty proud of myself right now! :) I made it as it except I had to double the ingredients so get about 5 servings. No way does the recipe feed 8 as listed. I will definitely be repeating this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellylachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Denise's Peanut Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Excellent dish! I did as other reviewers suggested and added broccoli and peanut butter. I left out cilantro because I'm not a fan. Served with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellylachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tuna Noodle Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
My boyfriend and I adored this recipe. I used spiral pasta because it was what I had, and I omitted the pimientos and added a lot more salt (1/2 tsp is not nearly enough). It was easily one of my boyfriend's favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellylachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Quite good, but I preferred it with a good batch of mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellylachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Very good! I also added a little soy sauce and garlic. Next time I think I'll add more dijon mustard. The brown sugar overpowered it. Other than that, a big winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellylachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chickpea and Chicken Curry

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I really enjoyed the mix of flavors and how easy it was to make. I made it exactly according to the recipe and served it with brown rice. Too bad my boyfriend didn't approve. Oh well, more for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellylachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Artichoke and Shrimp Linguine

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
As is, this was okay, but it lacked flavor. I ended up adding broccoli, tomatoes, and a splash of soy sauce to make it better. I may try it again with a few more spices or a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellylachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Artichoke Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Best chicken ever! I served it with a mixture of garlic spinach, egg noodles, cream and cream cheese. Delicious! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellylachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 24) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States