Albany - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Candice

Real Pistachio Cupcakes

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I developed this recipe because my eldest grandson LOVES Pistachios and he asked me to make him some Pistachio Cupcakes... without using pudding mix. It's Grandson tasted and tested and won a whopping 5 Stars from him. It's now one of my favorite cupcakes with my afternoon coffee and DH says it's my Best Cupcake to date. And that is the best review I could ever get!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Beef and Guinness® Stew

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Absolutely delicious. I served it to my family with Irresistible Irish Soda Bread from this site and my toddler and husband gobbled it all up. Next time I make this, however, I will be sure to serve over potatoes or Colcannon as this only made enough for one meal for my 4 person family. Also, my 7-year-old turned her little nose up at it because of the intensity of flavor - which I think could have been dodged had I served it over mashed potatoes. We enjoyed it (except the 7 year old) but afterward decided that since it's such a very flavorful stew, almost like a gravy, some sort of mashed potato accompaniment really is a must. Another thought: I did use beef stock instead of chicken (beef is what I had on hand) and I wonder if using the chicken stock could have dialed down the strength of the stew. Going to go that way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kantola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I've tried several Soda Bread recipes and this one is by far my favorite. I always follow the advice of the reviewer who suggests to let the bread sit at room temp for 30 minutes before baking. My loaves are always light (for Soda Bread, of course) with a beautiful crust and crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kantola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Perfect Baked Potato

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Great basic recipe. I tossed my (scrubbed) medium-to-small-ish potatoes in a gallon sized ziplock bag with a couple tablespoons olive oil and passed on the salt (mostly because Hubby isn't a fan). I put the potatoes right on the oven rack with a large sheet of foil underneath to catch any wayward drops of oil. I did end up turning up the heat on my oven to 350 right about halfway through the cooking time - but they ended up perfect. The family gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kantola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Salad Dressing Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This chocolate cake reminds me of a cake my SIL used make years ago. It was good and chocolately. I used Wedding Cake Frosting and tinted Neon Green and Navy Blue, Seattle Seahawks colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by Candice

Beer Brats

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Made these for our Super Bowl Gathering and they were a huge hit! Simple and easy, they came out perfectly tender on the inside with a crispy outside... Just the way we like our Brats! I have to say that these are better sans the bell peppers most recipes call for which IMHO can sometimes overpower the delicate taste of a Brat Sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by Candice

Brown Sugar Smokies

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Made these for our Super Bowl Gathering. GO Seahawks! They were juicey, sweet and crispy! I served them on a bed of Baby Arugula with no dipping sauce. These are a great finger food and taste-wise stand on their own. The perfect football party food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Chocolate Oat Snack Cake Smoothie

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This drink is Fantastic! I made it exactly as written and I can promise you this, it will be my "hurry-up" breakfast drink from now on. I LOVE it Linda! It is yummy from my mouth to my tummy! Thank you for posting the link on Paula's Blog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by Christine-NICU RN

My Mama's Black Eyed Peas

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I really love this recipe. It is the closest to my Grandmothers. I made a few tweeks with time. I wanted the meat to be falling off the bone of the ham hocks, so I cooked them, by themselves, in the chicken stock for almost 2 hrs before I added the veggies and beans. I also found that the beans were not quite done at 1 hr, so I cooked them for 2hrs total and they turned out perfect. The ham hocks literally fell apart. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine-NICU RN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Roasted Hazelnut Chocolate Chip Shortbread Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
These little shortbread cookies just melt in your mouth!... As any GOOD shortbread cookie should. Even with the addition of hazelnuts and chocolate chips. With this basic recipe the add-in options are endless. Just keep the proportions the same. A family favorite and friend requested recipe that you're sure to find easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Herb & Garlic Encrusted Rack of Pork — Cooking During Stolen Moments

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This pork dish is AWESOME!!! I mean really Awesome.It came out perfect. I will make this again and again and again. Just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Golden Sweet Cornbread

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I didn't find this recipe as amazing as most. Fairly typical recipe, and although the flavor was fine, we didnt find it to be anything to brag about. we had a difficult time eating it as it crumbled easily. I will continue to seek out another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice

Roasted Vegetables with Spaghetti Squash

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This is a very labor intensive recipe for a mediocre result. We did like it mainly because we love veggies, especially squash, but it was just okay. Not enough seasoning or salt. Something was missing. I will make again, but I'll figure out an easier method and use different spices. I did use parmesan and not cheddar. Maybe that was it. It just didn't rock our world. Thank you for the recipe and the idea of mixing the different varieties of squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by Candice

Split Pea Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This recipe is delicious! We love legumes. Split Pea Soup is one of our favorites. This recipe has depth of flavor and is also very hearty. I followed the recipe exactly and the end result was spectacular. Thank you Bon Appetito for a great recipe that will be on my regular soup rotation list this winter. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Yam and Kale Wrap

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
We were surprised at how well these flavors worked together. We tried it to use up some kale in the fridge, but now we have it quite often. I generally forget to marinate the kale, so know that it tastes almost as good if you just saute with the marinade just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura W

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice

Ryan's Reverse Popper Dip

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
All I have to say is YUM! I made this for #1 Son's Birthday (keeping in the theme of favorite dishes of Sons) and it was completely wiped out in a very short time. I put in only 5 Jalapenos because the ones I purchased were big. However, next time I will put in 7 or 8 and work my way up to 10. It was so tasty and not hot at all. Just good! The bacon and onions and garlic only add to this super delicious dip. I already know I'll be making this again and again. Thank you Cathill for creating such a wonderful and EASY dish that will be on the DECKER menu from now on for our family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Meyer Lemon and Blueberry Cheese Tart

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This recipe is AMAZING! Oh, and it's very simple and quick to make too! Light and refreshing and very Blueberry-ee! I used Safeway Brand (Select) Meyer Lemon Cookie Thins in place of TJ's Tea Cookies. The bag was 5 ounces. The recipe calls for 4 1/2 ounces so I ate the other half ounce. Those little cookie thins are yummy! I didn't make my own Lemon Curd. I bought Safeway Select Lemon Curd in the jar. I picked the Blueberries the morning I made the Tart and they were just bursting with flavor. Made for my Book Club, the gals gobbled down every single bite and I had none left to bring home to hubby. I will be making this recipe many more times in the future. Thanks Dana for a real Blueberry keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Crunchy Cheesy Fish and Spinach Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Was looking for a recipe for pollock, found this one. Used lime juice instead of lemon because I didn't have a lemon. My husband and grandchildren loved it. The only way my granddaughter likes pollock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaseasmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA
Living In: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cat House Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Our DIL introduced us to this yummy salad and for about 6 months I couldn't get enough of it! Probably because it satisfies every single area of the mouth. Salty & sweet and crunchy & tangy! It literally goes with anything too. The name of recipe comes from the woman she got the recipes from. She had a HOUSEful of cats, thus the name "Cat House Salad."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by Candice

REALLY Real Strawberry Cupcakes

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
These have been a very big hit with everyone I've given to taste test for me. The single most common statement everyone makes is "These really taste like Strawberries, REAL strawberries." And that is what I want to hear. The final test was making for DD Christine-NICU RN's birthday. I made the CC's and frosted with Real Strawberry Frosting. Then I stuffed strawberries with RSF and froze for about 30 minutes before topping the CC's. They were the hit of the evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States