Albany - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Authentic Mexican Rice

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Good recipe. I made a few changes though. I use a quarter of a fresh onion chopped and a clove of fresh garlic instead of the seasonings. And for the water I used water flavored with 2 tsp caldo con sabor de pollo. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maria4020

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Written as is, I only can give this bread 3 stars, with my alterations, absolutely 5 stars! It was alarmingly sweet, and all that sugar is so unnecessary to make a good bread! To start, honey and sugar are a 1:1 ratio in baking, being said I usually use white sugar, but the measurements would be the same for honey. I cut the sugar(honey) down to ONLY 1/4 cup. I added it in at the first step with the yeast and followed the directions as is. After it proofed, I added in the wheat flour with the salt mixed in, (omitting the second 1/3 of honey completely) and replaced melted butter with olive oil. After it was baked I brushed it with the tiniest amount of butter, maybe 1/4ts per loaf, and was more than enough (this step is only for crust texture, we are not buttering the bread for flavor!) This is my new favorite bread, and I will be making over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Key Lime Cheesecake I

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
Really great cheesecake! You have to like lime and tart flavors to really enjoy this cheesecake, being said I love sour and upped the juice to 3/4 cup. I used regular limes because thats what I had, I added about a half a tablespoon flour to counteract the extra liquid, and I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese, but I kept everything else the same. edit: I just noticed the directions say to refrigerate the crust after making it, out of habit I baked it at 350 for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice

Chicken Zoodle Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
This soup is de-lish-shush! I mean it's really good! Easy to make chicken soup adding zoodled zucchini is a healthy way to get your veggies and like them too. I would not hesitate using this recipe to make Chicken Noodle Soup or Chicken Rice Soup or Chicken & Dumplings either. The taste is just down right comfort food. We loved it and I've made 3 batches already. Winner, winner...chicken dinner Brian. Thanks for a wonderful chicken soup recipe where we can eliminate the carbs and gluten and still have a fabulous and flavorful dish. Thank you Brian for a great (and I mean great) Chicken Zoodle Soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Herb & Garlic Encrusted Rack of Pork

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I have made this recipe now probably 6 or 7 times. It is fantastic! So easy to prepare and if you follow the directions, use a thermometer and let rest after removing from the oven, you'll have a moist and company worthy main dish that will make you look like a Rock Star Chef! I cannot thank you enough Marianne for posting this awesome Pork recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by Candice

Potato Chip Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Made according to directions using leftover smoked turkey DH made and homemade cream of turkey soup, again using leftover smoked turkey. For the rice I use Uncle Ben's Basmati Medley Savory Herb from the AR & Sponsor Share package. It really added a nice addition of flavors and texture. I bumped up the grated cheddar cheese to 2 cups per our personal taste. Rich, decadent and can absolutely be categorized as Comfort Food. Next time I make I'll add broccoli, asparagus or frozen peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Holy smokes this makes a MASSIVE batch of soup, I only made half the recipe and my pot was full to the brim! I've made this a bunch of times, never the same twice. I don't eat meat, so I use vegetable broth and add in vegetarian sausage for a little protein. I also swap out veggies for other veggies, I have a pot cooking away on the stove right now with double carrots and celery, 2 small zucchini, no green beans or bell pepper. I also added in garlic! Even though I made a half batch I add in the whole packet of onion soup mix. I will take longer than 45 minutes start to finish, maybe an hour and a halfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pan-Fried Falafel

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Made these tonight, and they turned out great! Flavor was fantastic, they weren't too dense or mushy, and fried up nice and crispy on the outside. They did fall apart a little while frying, but I think they just needed to be formed into tighter patties. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice

Braised Corned Beef Brisket

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I purchased at 4.65lb Brisket...that's the biggest one I could find. I thought it would plenty for just the two of us! WRONG! As Bdweld said, "buy two, because the first one will go fast." He was right. We ate it all, but about 1/8 of lb. No sammies for us tomorrow. This recipe for Corned Beef is the best we ever had. It was easy peasy too. I put it in the oven at 9:15am and took it out at 3:15pm. I didn't peek once, although it was really hard not to. It came out moist and falling apart tender. We didn't even make a sauce out of the pan drippings. I used it for my skillet fried cabbage. Now I need to go back to Safeway tomorrow and buy another one or two so we can have Corned Beef Sandwiches. Thank you Julie for a great AND easy recipe. We will for sure be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Vegan Curried Rice

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I already had 3 cups of (uncooked) basmati rice going in the rice cooker when I found this recipe. Since I am a bit shy about really spicy foods, I left everything the same, knowing I was going to add about 4 cups of cooked rice to the seasonings. Once it got to the point of adding the extra water that was meant to cook the rice, I added 3 ribs of diced celery, 2 thick slices of diced red onion, and 1 large grated carrot. It only took 3 minutes or so to cook them to the desired texture, then I stirred in 4 cups of cooked rice. It was still a tiny bit too spice for me, but I just added some of the leftover plain rice into my bowl, and I loved it. My husband said it was delicious as is; but he wouldn't mind a little more curry. Done my way, I used about half the spices the recipe called for, for the amount of rice I added!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by orangezest

Easy Garlic Kale

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This benchmarking recipe in all its simplicity is a very tasty and healthy side dish or salad. I will be making it often. I think it would pair very well with a pork or chicken main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by orangezest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by Candice

Chef John's Chocolate Decadence

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This reipe lives up to it's name. It is totally chocolate and toally decadent! A chocolate lover's dream cake! We absolutely LOVED it! It was easy to bake and didn't require a water bath. Followed the directions to the T. I served with just a bit more decadence; heavy whipping cream. (I used liquid coffee mate on mine as it is Lactose-free) If I could, I would give this a 10 Star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by Candice

NO YOLKS® Beef Goulash

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This recipe has potential. As written it is grossly UNDER seasoned. I do think I'll make again. However, next time, I'll season the flour mixture with seasoned salt and garlic powder, use onions instead of leeks (they weren't strong enough) add garlic and celery and saute' all with the carrots before adding to the soup to add depth of flavor. The liquid amount was perfect and we did enjoy it over the perfectly cooked noodles. I love NO YOLKS Noodles. They don't break up or disintegrate after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by Candice

NO YOLKS® Luscious Kugel

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This is basically a "Noodle" bread pudding that is surprisingly good. I have admit I thought it a little ironic to use eggs in a recipe calling for a No Yolks product. It was easy to make and tasted rich and creamy. I don't think the corn flakes added anything to the taste of this recipe though and I wouldn't add them next time. I would however, top with a chocolate sauce to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Cranberry Orange Bread

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
We didn't care much for this recipe. The consistency of this recipe was too dense, almost chewy, and the flavor was like orange-cranberry cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kantola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Tasty Collard Greens

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This recipe interested me as my New Year's meal was pretty "pork heavy" with a brown sugar ham and black-eyed peas with a ham hock. I thought the turkey addition would be really nice - and it was. I used 4 bunches of collared greens instead of 5 and a smoked turkey leg (brined for 11 hours with kosher salt, brown sugar, water, and liquid smoke and then *loosely* smoked on our grill). After greens had cooked down, I removed turkey leg and diced a bit of the meat and tossed that back in. Also added a scant tablespoon of sugar and a few splashes of white vinegar. I didn't cook for as long as it said as my greens were getting to a nice consistency and I didn't want 'em mushy. Really, really good. I would like to try this next year with a proper smoked turkey leg (couldn't find one this year) - I bet that would make it great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kantola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I made this as gifts for Christmas, and I was told "You make THE BEST peanut brittle EVER!!!" It is time consuming to make, a lot of stirring, but is totally worth it. I don't use a candy thermometer, just the cold water test and all 4 batches came out beautifully. The only thing I changed was an extra half cup of peanuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice

Chocolate-Dipped Pistachio Biscotti

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This was my first time making Biscotti. I wish I had known how easy Biscotti is to make because now I'm hooked. You just need to remember to factor in and plan for the baking, cooling, slicing and re baking time . I really liked the end result and will make again. Next time I will use cranberries instead of the apricots; although the apricots were good. A great recipe and wonderful use of Reynolds Cookies Baking parchment paper sheets. It truly made cleanup a snap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Best No-Bake Cheesecake

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I'm not a fan of cheesecake and had never made one myself. I was nervous to try the baked type since it was for my 18yr old's birthday, so I went with this recipe. I used a round cake pan since I didn't have a spring form pan, and only ended up using about 3/4 of the graham cracker crust. For the filling, I added 2/3 c sugar per comments, and rather than whipping cream I folded in a container of cool whip after the cream cheese, sugar, and lemon juice were incorporated. At the last minute I decided to fold half a can of cherry pie filling into the cream cheese mixture and let it set up like that, serving the rest on the side for those who wanted more cherries on top. It was still pretty soft when I served it but we put it in the freezer and will probably just take it out 10 minutes before serving the next time. The boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tofu Parmigiana

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I pressed my tofu and dipped in scrambled egg/water mixture prior to the bread crumbs(i left out the Parmesan). I also used leftover canned pasta sauce, and added all the the Parmesan and mozzarella to the top. It was quite tasty! I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States