Oregon - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I'm notorious for under-cooker rice. I finally got a rice maker, but I still want to be able to make rice dishes as well. This dish is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Wilsonville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Beef Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I made these enchiladas for my family tonight. My husband is not much of a Mexican food person. He loved them. When I made them, I found I had no taco seasoning. I found a recipe for taco Seasoning by KATHYESG called "Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix". It gave the enchiladas great flavor. I give it a two thumbs up and will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gladstone, Oregon, USA

Curry Dip

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I made dip this for an office picnic potluck, with the suggested vegetables, and then used the leftover dip in a Curry Pasta Salad. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice

Popa's Pickled Eggs

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Made for the PNW Round Up, these eggs were a hit! I didn't think I'd like them as I don't generally like hot foods. However, there is just something about these pickled eggs that I can't stay away from. I ate 3 in row. Yum! They're easy to make and really has a gourmet payoff! My two sons devoured the remainder of them (5 out of 24) after the Get-Together. I'll be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Popa's Pickled Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Popa's Pickled Eggs are delicious! Making them into Deviled Eggs is just this side of Ingenious. No, I didn't think of it. But, I sure thought it was worth trying to develop a recipe. Wowzer! You don't need to do anything except add a little mayo and pickled egg juice. These are addicting! Good call PNW Round Up Peeps! Really good call!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Fudge Puddles

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
PB & chocolate perfection....the chewy and the creamy combined...Oh my. D-E-licious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I made this exactly as written and it was delicious! I will definitely make it again. The topping is more like a puffy, cake like topping not a traditional "crumble" but it's great as is. To peel the peaches, blanch them for a 10-20 seconds and the peel comes right off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kilikena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curry Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
July 2004 - A throw together dish at Priest Lake with Jean, Lindsey, and Leslie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Famous Queso Dip

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I am not a big fan of processed cheese but my aunt gave me some free and I had a work crew to feed one weekend on our roof project ... this was awesome, easy, and delicious. The guys (and gals) all loved it!! I made it per the recipe, no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pesto Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Very good! I was looking for a pesto recipe I liked and I saw this one and thought "walnuts? I have to try it" My family licked their plates clean! My 5 year old is SUPER picky and he loved it. Now he always asks for "green noodles" Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetAngellsKitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Amazing! I added some garlic powder and cubed ham. My kids LOVE it!!! A big hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetAngellsKitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

Healthier Classic Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Made with white shells, skipped the carrots and red pepper for a "white and green look" only. Substituted half or more greek yogurt for the mayonnaise and added 2 Tbl. dried tarragon. Tasty for our hungry work crew in hot weather ... complimented pulled pork sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moonkid

No Bake Cookies VII

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This recipe was great! My first thought when I read this recipe is that it was going to be sticky, so I gave it a shot and when I was rolling the batter with a cookie scooper I was thinking to myself wow I really like this recipe. Everyone in the house loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonkid

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Banana Oat Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
These muffins are crazy good! I took a chance and went ahead and made a double batch and I'm really glad I did. I did make a few small changes. I only ground half of the oats and the rest were straight old fashioned oats. I used half butter, half coconut oil. And I cut the sugar in half. So yummy! Next time I'm going to cut the butter/coconut oil down and sub in some applesauce and cut the sugar down even further. The bananas make them quite sweet to begin with. Great for snacks and breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARIANWEN1174

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moonkid

Caramel Cookie Pops

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This recipe was really good, when the cookies got out of the oven I put wooden sticks in them. When melting the caramel and dipping the cookie in the caramel the cookies slid of the stick, I had really bad difficulty getting the caramel on the cookies, rolling them in the pecans didn't work out so well. I managed to get them all done but it was not the easiest thing in the world, It definitely takes some patience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonkid

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by moonkid

No-Bake Cookie Dough Truffles

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I like this recipe. when I made the dough I found out the dough was to soft to put into 1 inch balls as the directions tells you so, my solution was to put the dough in a plastic container and put it in the fridge and let it sit over night. When I pulled it out this morning it was settled like I thought it would. I put the dough into 1 inch balls and put them in the freezer for about a half an hour. Melting the chocolate was easy but I ran into problems on the way, when I dipped the dough into the chocolate some of the dough fell off into the chocolate. the first few balls turned out beautifully the others not so much but they taste delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonkid

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by mis7up

Popa's Pickled Eggs

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I not only got to try these at the PNW AR Round-Up but I graciously got to meet the man himself that submitted these. OH man where they good. I couldn't wait to get home and make these for my hubby. So after I talked to bd_weld about his recipe and telling me I could easily do a dozen, I did a dozen and a half. I'm finding it hysterical on my part when making the recipe, I used the really hot yellow peppers with brine and a pickling mix offered from my store because it was way cheaper then buying the Morton's. Should have gone with that because, little did I realize how loaded with dried whole red Serranos and thought, ohh what the heck, HA!! on my hubby because he said they were fantastic but...WOOO!! what a kick. I ate the yoke out of several and hmm good, so I didn't get the intense heat from the egg whites themselves... he sure did. What a great addition to my household. Will look for the milder hot peppers with brine for the next time for my children. But they seemed to like them as well. TY Brian!! we love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Anise Cookies III

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I'm reviewing this but not photo-ing. My moonkid decided to take on a faceless recipe as I was doing my own. I saw her having difficulties with the recipe when she tried to follow the directions about rolling the batter out into logs the length of the pan. Can tell you it didn't work and became a mess for her. There is no directions stating needing to use flour. As I tried a little flour on the board and it absorbed right in. Using a piping bag was my only thought to make use of the log forms for baking on the cookie sheet. It worked out really well for her when I showed her what to do. BUT as they baked and I further read the directions and realized these should be more like biscotti cookies. So we followed through with the recipe. Flavor and texture were really good. I really loved the flavor. Both us decided that possibly if we took half the batch divided the batch onto 2 cookie sheets, it might work out better. And I agreed the cookies really should be made again because they taste darn good! However, there is a miss step in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by mis7up

Spam®, Cheese, and Spinach Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This recipe is totally forgiving. We really liked the thickness of the recipe. The basil was wonderful but felt you could leave it out with the SPAM in it, but totally have it in the recipe if you used a breakfast sausage. It's a keeper for sure. One note....don't use baking paper cups...found out really quick they stick....foil baking cups. LOVED THEM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by moonkid

Anise Cookies III

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
They turned out lovely, when the directions stating to roll the batter, the batter is thick and gooey and spreads. There was no way you could roll the batter, I used a piping bag to pipe it onto the cookie sheet, which worked out beautifully. however the cookies turned out small and inch and a half wide. Next time when I make these which will be a next time because the flavor and texture were wonderful but I will divide the batter in half and place half the batter on one cookie sheet to make wider cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonkid

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States