Oregon - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
FANTASTIC!!! Most likely the first recipe that I cooked just like the recipe said. If I was going to make it and serve it with rice or noodles I would double the sauce. Simple and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela J Hagen-French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
I needed a taco seasoning packet for a recipe I was making for Taco soup but didn't have any store bought. I tried this instead. I did not have onion powder so I added an onion flavor cube when making the soup. I also halved the paprika with smoked paprika ( I am addicted to it right now) otherwise I followed the recipe to the letter. It was delicious! I need never to buy pre-made store bought Taco Seasoning Packets again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikeal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
The current recipe is too salty. I dropped the salt, added 1 t Italian seasoning, dropped the cottage cheese, and added 2 C Monterey Jack cheese, then added 2 cans of mushrooms. The recipe also overcooked the pasta. Cook it for only 7 minutes, and it will finish cooking in the dish. Also, brown the beef by itself, and not with the onion. Cook the onion with a little garlic for 5 minutes, then assemble the dish, and cook for a total of 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polyhistor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
I found it to be in need of some help. First the recipe was too salty. I added a clove of minced garlic, substituted the water with beef broth, plus one teaspoon beef base, one can mushrooms, one teaspoon Herb de Provence, 1/4 cup Marsala wine, and used dry egg noodles. I cooked the beef in the broth for 2 hours on simmer, after browning. I then finished the recipe. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polyhistor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Semigourmet

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
This is really easy and Very tasty! I changed a couple of things for personal health reasons. First I doubled the recipe since I had 10 thighs. I used 1/2 cup low sodium soy sauce, and 1 1/2 cups water, 1/3 cup honey and 1/3 cup agave nectar. it was really good, and the chicken was falling apart it was so tender. Next time the only change I will make other than those listed here. Is to cut the basil back just a bit. It was a bit strong for me. Thank you for sharing your recipe it made a really nice EASY dinner for us tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semigourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
This is the easiest recipe on earth! Now, I made some small changes... I know, I know, I know... But, I found this other recipe online first and bacon sounded great. Same thing as this recipe, except I lined the bottom of my crockpot with raw bacon... about 5 pcs. I had an 8.5 lb roast and it took up the entire pot...not exaggerating! I salted the heck out of it with plain sea salt and then took whole peeled garlic cloves (you can buy these in a small tub at the grocery store!) and stabbed the roast all over with a paring knife and stuck one in each spot. Total of maybe 8 garlic cloves. I put it on high and cooked it for 8 or 9 hrs. I do want to try the liquid smoke, but I didn't have it on hand. But, it turned out AMAZING nonetheless. No water needed!! Do not add water!! It cooks in its own juices and my crockpot was FULL of the broth once it was finished cooking. If I had added juice it would have overflowed. After 8 hours it was falling apart. And my roast had a little bone in the middle. Then I took it all out and shredded it, couldn't find the garlic or bacon. It all just cooked together! Super simple. I served it with a jar of BBQ sauce for people to put on if they wanted, but it is sooooo much better as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Layered Eggplant Hamburger Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I used this recipe as a jumping off place and used the recommendations from several reviews to make the most INCREDIBLE eggplant dish. I used a pound of ground chicken and a pound of chicken sausage, cooked with thin chopped onions, fresh parsley, fresh garlic and spices. I had grilled red and yellow peppers, so I chopped and added them to the meat mixture along with a cup of fresh sliced mushrooms, a can of petite chopped tomatoes and a jar of marinara sauce. I chopped the eggplant into 1.5" to 2" squares. I used 2 cups of whole wheat bread crumbs and 1.5 cups of shredded mozzarella. I layered the meat sauce, eggplant, bread crumbs, mozzarella, another layer of meat sauce and topped with a good sprinkle of parmesan. I put it all together in an electric skillet set at 250 degrees, covered and simmered for 20 minutes. Everything blended perfectly and we were thrilled with the flavors and seasonings. It's definitely a recipe that will be used for company. It's healthy and tastes amazing. I'm proud to serve it along with a lovely green salad including crasins, walnuts, carrots, and sliced cucumbers with a Catalina dressing. We had a small bowl of sliced strawberries with a dollop of light whipped cream for dessert. Oh my, what a satisfying dinner. HURRAY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Oatmeal Craisin Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I used 1/2 cup honey and 1/2 cup brown sugar plus enogh flour to achieve the correct texture. I then added my homemade granola that included rolled oats, walnuts, raisins, sunflower seeds, flax meal, molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy lilja

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tasty Lentil Tacos

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Okay I am kicking myself for not trying this sooner. Everyone on the buzz was raving about it! It is so easy and makes just enough! And tastes GREAT! I was buying the "Tasty Bite" brand "Madras Lentils" These give those a run for the money! I followed the recipe as written only changing 2 things, aded extra garlic and onion "personal taste" We all loved it! Will definitely be making this again, and again! Thank you so much for this wonderful meatless Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semigourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

Olive and Chicken Curry Crepes

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
We love this dish. I make them up in advance and freeze them. They are great for a quick dinner. The only thing I changed was to substitute dried cranberries for the olives. Sweet and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Potato Salad with Ranch

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
We enjoyed this potato salad! Look at the list of ingredients, what's not to like? Just add a little more ranch dressing to this for the perfect mouth-watering flavor and consistency!! I definitely will make this again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

Ron's Grilled Shrimp

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
I fixed this for dinner tonight It was excellent. It was quick and easy to fix. Followed the recipe exactly except for the red pepper flakes. Served with Rice Pilaf and salad with raw veggies in it. Thought I was making enough for left overs but that didn't happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary DeMeyer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monroe, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Asparagus and Mushrooms

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
i made this recipe but i didn't have mushrooms or rosemary so i used some lemon pepper instead. usually I try to rate based on the original recipe. but as I was forced to improvised I figure the recipe was simple enough it didn't make to much of a difference. this was excellent and the asparagus didn't have the stringy affect. I will be making this again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasonslady
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Asparagus

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
Delicious and simple just as written! It will be fun to experiment with some of the other reviews ideas too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Italian Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
DH gave this a rare "5 stars" but I'm giving it 4 stars just because I think it could use about 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 cups of Italian dressing since the pasta tends to soak up the dressing. All in all a very good pasta salad and a great make ahead dinner and one that could easily be added to ... next time I'll add some grape tomatoes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwest Summer Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Very tasty, good for a light lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEWELS021064

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice

Chicken Zoodle Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
This soup is de-lish-shush! I mean it's really good! Easy to make chicken soup adding zoodled zucchini is a healthy way to get your veggies and like them too. I would not hesitate using this recipe to make Chicken Noodle Soup or Chicken Rice Soup or Chicken & Dumplings either. The taste is just down right comfort food. We loved it and I've made 3 batches already. Winner, winner...chicken dinner Brian. Thanks for a wonderful chicken soup recipe where we can eliminate the carbs and gluten and still have a fabulous and flavorful dish. Thank you Brian for a great (and I mean great) Chicken Zoodle Soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
I used the ingredients as listed but cooked in a slow cooker for 4 hours. It was enjoyed by all (including my 3, 6, and 8 year old).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

PHILADELPHIA Double-Chocolate Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Very Yummy and Easy! Office loved! looked beautiful! used a springform pan and made a few cupcakes too so i could sample it before taking to work. used chocolate chips and had a few left over so melted and drizzled over the top along with diced strawberries. Looked beautiful. Will make again! cooked for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Very Very good! didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States