Oregon - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Semigourmet

Breaded Parmesan Ranch Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Very Nice! I only changed 3 things. One I used real grated Parmigiano Reggiano cheese, (because that is what I had and it is lower in sodium) I also used my own buttermilk ranch dressing mix. and only baked for 30 minutes. other than that I followed the directions. They were really good, and very tasty. But a bit greasy because of the butter and cheese. Next time I might use a mixture of Dijon mustard and milk in place of the butter. it's a really good recipe though, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semigourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
These are actually delicious! Stayed together great I was so surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
What a wonderful way to cook my garden beans! The only change I made was to use a handful of bacon bits in some olive oil, as I didn't have fresh bacon on hand. Otherwise followed Chef John's video exactly. Hubby says this is the only green bean recipe we need from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oregon Snowbird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini and Pork Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
an absolutely wonderful soup! I do not like cooked zucchini and I even ended up loving this. thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

All-Day Apple Butter

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This turned out well, with a few adjustments. I added only 2 cups of sugar instead of 4, and once the lid came off it took more like 6 hours to finally thicken enough. maybe straining it would get the same affect, I might try that if I make it again. Overall a good recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar-n-spice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA
Photo by mis7up

New England Crab Cakes

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
really easy to put together, a little too much Old Bay for my liking but however, my oldest and my husband ate all but the one I hade. I used a large ice cream size scooper and it made a total of 7 1/2, I ate the half during the morning when I was forming them as a test run. ;-) I could see using less Old Bay and some fresh dill, green onions and pimentos in it the next time. But I can see making these again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
YUM! I really loved this recipe! made a couple small changes - first off, I cooked it in a bundt cake pan and it worked out really well (it wasn't as "deep" as it probably is in the bread pan but it worked). I also added about a teaspoon of cinnamon to the actual cake mixture, too, to give it a wee cinnamon boost, since I love cinnamon. I also added a teaspoon of Kosher Salt to bring out the flavors, and I used Soy Milk instead of regular milk (we just prefer it), and cooked it at 350 for about 45 minutes - everything else I did exactly as the recipe suggested and it turned out moist & DEEELICIOUS! my family could have mowed down the entire thing in one sitting - I'm saving this to my recipe box and will definitely make it again (might add a tiny bit more apple next time, too ;-)) - thanks for the great recipe, Jinglebells!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This was so quick and easy! Used leftovers in a store bought pie crust for a second easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GramCracker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up

Porcupine Meatballs in Tomato Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
The end result in my house as it was delish. I found that you need to use good judgment on the size of the onion. Use too much chopped onion results in a not so formed or held together meatball. That's just a heads up with some advice. If you have to much, just throw it in the tomato sauce and let it cook with it. However, recipe simple, easy and fast to whip together. I was worried about no spice or proper seasoning in the beginning but when it was all said and done, reminded me of the filling to cabbage rolls without the cabbage. I served over cheesy garlic mashed potatoes and called it a day. Will make again as my family said it was worthy as a repeat offender. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Buttermilk Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
OK, well this was interesting. I read a LOT of the reviews and although I did add less sugar, I pre-baked the crust for a few minutes and baked the pie at 400F for 15 min. and then 350F for about 40 minutes. The texture was not as creamy as I would have thought. I had never made a pie like this before or tasted one. I think the family was being kind but didn't really like it. No big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up

Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
While this recipe was the 2nd time to be a repeat offender in my house. I waited to see results. Both times this recipe was made, I liked, but I didn't like the over abundance of the vanilla. 2 teaspoons is way to much, you can taste it above the chocolate flavor and just under the peanut butter chips. However, the 1st time they were made as a cookie and were thick and fluffy and were more like a cakey cookie. I suggested that we try on the next go around to place in a mini cupcake/muffin pan and see what they do. And to my thinking, they did exactly as predicted...they were more a muffin style recipe verses a cookie. This recipe was good like I said but should be renamed as a muffin recipe, not a cookie recipe. And as a muffin recipe, they were perfect little morsels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken II

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I made this for dinner last night and it was a hit! There were many moans and groans from the family while eating it, and they've all requested I make it often. I used my own chicken broth, and didn't have any parsley on hand, but other than that, I followed the recipe completely. I served it over rice, which was delicious. Try this recipe, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelltang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Onion Soup Mix

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
So easy and very tasty! I used beef bouillon granules since I prefer those. I also have this mini food processor which I added everything in and pulsed a few seconds to make it finer. This recipe equals 1 envelope of the dry onion soup mix you buy at the store. I know it wasn't mentioned on the instructions so I thought I'd mention it. You can use onion soup mix in a lot of things! Roasted potatoes won out this time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This was very simple and very good! My family really enjoyed this! Thanks for sharing Jody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Photo by Candice

Chicken with Pear Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This is a great recipe if you're cooking for a Gluten Intolerant person and want gravey or need a bland main dish. We didn't dislike it, but there's something missing. We liked it somewhat, but both hubs and I keep saying it needs something. I may make this again with tweeks! We'll eat it for lunch tomorrow. Maybe sitting overnight in the Pear Sauce will make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Jamie's Minestrone

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I like to make a new recipe as it's written the first time I try it and change things the next time to make it better. I will not change a thing and will definitely make again!! Thanks for a great recipe....loved it! \
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAUJRA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

Campbell's Kitchen Easy Beef Enchiladas

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I made this recipe for my husband & followed directions as written.These were wonderful! the taste was perfect and vey fast & easy to make.Also I do not like enchiladas but these i will be making & eating alot.Very very good recipe-thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I usually eat Brussels Sprouts with bacon, but wanted something different and thought I would give this a try. Didn't have any balsamic vinegar, so I subbed apple cider vinegar & sugar- and omitted the butter. Couldn't have been more pleased! Thanks for an awesome and healthier recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REf
Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moonkid

Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I loved this recipe, the dough was thick. When I tried one it was like a cake brownie cookie. I absolutely loved it. This is a great recipe for a nice soft cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonkid

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by pomplemousse

Lazy Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Not bad, but after trying this compared to other traditional baked mac and cheese dishes, I think we prefer the more traditional ones. This isn't as macaroni dense as a regular macaroni and cheese would be. Other reviewers comments about this being like a custard are spot on. It's good, just not the mac and cheese hubs likes the best. I'm not the biggest fan of mac and cheese in general, but I prefer traditional as well. That being said, this is uber easy to pop in the oven and let bake, so I'm a huge fan of the method. I did decide to add some protein to make it more of a meal so fried up a couple of Boca burgers with onions, garlic, and Montreal steak seasoning then chopped to make more like hamburger. Tossed it in with everything and baked it. Since I had to preheat the oven anyway, I tossed the greased baking dish with the margarine in the oven while it was preheating then pulled it out when the margarine had melted and mixed in the pasta. As others have commented, it was easier to mix everything together in another bowl, so I did that. Topped with American cheese slices, baked covered for 45, uncovered for 15 minutes and it was completely cooked and not runny with that adjustment. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States